We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character plus excellent facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Armitage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Armitage to your Saves list
Hotel Armitage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Willow St. ( Cnr. Willow And Park Streets), Tauranga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Randwick, Australia
1 review
“Full of character plus excellent facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights; the hotel was full of character, beautiful interior and excellent facilities. The rooms where large and clean and beds where very comfortable. The combination of the deep pool, relaxing hot tub and the very friendly and helpful staff made our stay very memorable. Ohh not to mention meeting some current an old All Black players also staying at the hotel. Best in Tauranga

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased you had such a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    56
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
30
49
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst traveling - arrived late and left early.

Rooms are a very good size as were the bathrooms. The bathroom includes a shower/bath with inbuilt jacuzzi function.
The hotel style is more classic than modern but is very welcoming. Staff are very friendly.
Lots of options for breakfast are available, with free tea/coffee. The pancakes were lovely.

Noticed that there was a swimming pool and hot tub outside, but unfortunately didn't have the time to use them.

Overall a lovely hotel to stay in for the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your review. We pride ourselves on providing a home away from home, and we are so glad that you found our hotel and staff to be so friendly and welcoming. We hope to welcome you back again soon, maybe for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I could hear everything around me especially in the morning....i woke up because someone was slamming doors, could hear housekeeping all the time..the conditions of bathroom were quite bad, they were holes on the wall, was too dark and shower was changing pressure all the time

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your review. We were extremely busy over the New Year period which would have resulted in extra possible noise. We are sorry that this has impacted on your stay with us. We have looked into ways to minimise disruptions to our guests over this busy time. With regards to the bathroom, our maintenance team have looked into the issues and rectified the problems. Once again, we are sorry that your stay with us was not all it could have been, and we thank you for bringing our attention to these issues in order for us to improve. We look forward to getting the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in Tauranga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Armitage after recent Tripadvisor reviews. This place is a gem with large rooms and refurbished bathrooms, cheery and very helpful staff and you get free internet (at last). Yes, it is comfortable and a little 70's but thats what I like. The Dinner/Breakfast deal was just great. A short walk to the CBD to enjoy the delights of Tauranga. Loved the old leather lounges, The Clipper Lounge and the beaut old stairwells.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Willow street (even number rooms) give a little view over Tauranga. Not too much road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our refurbishment and the classic decor of the reception and Clipper Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Armitage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Featherston, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

On a recent visit to Tauranga we stayed at the Armitage Hotel. It has lovely spacious rooms and public areas. The room was clean and spotless. Enjoyed the quality meals which were good value. Best of all the Manager and staff were friendly and helpful. Just a short walking distance from the CBD.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review. We strive to keep our housekeeping standards high, and are continuing to improve our restaurant offering. We are glad that our staff made you feel so at home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

OLD FASHIONED COMFORT AND CARE.
The welcome starts when you ring up to confirm arrangements. It continues at the desk on arrival, with pleasant hospitable staff who seem genuinely pleased to see you. Entry into the room shows a 70s design with a large bathroom on the left, a desk and table down the right hand wall, and ranch sliders straight ahead leading to a small balcony. The bed is to the left, with bedside drawers to complement the wardrobe. Or rather, half a wardrobe, because half is used for the refrigerator and electric jug . There is a large and comfortable sofa where you can sit to watch television. The bathroom is large and spotlessly clean. There is a shower over bath arrangement with a mixer valve. Be cautious getting in and out of the (spa) bath because the tap spout sticks out to poke you in the ribs, and there is no handrail. The main room impresses with its size, but the design leaves little room for modern décor and lighting. In fact, you have to go to the bathroom to read at night because even the bed side lamps are inadequate. Another lack is Sky television, free to air being the only source of programmes in the room. The minibar is reasonably priced, milk is supplied on arrival, and daily after that, and there seemed to be an endless supply of tea bags and coffee. There is no lack of lounge space on the ground floor. Leather couches provide comfort and style. Nearby are two guest use computers. On the other hand…. sadly the old architecture isn't particularly sound absorbing. Doors bang and voices carry in the small hours. Choose the east rooms away from the car park if staying over the weekend; there is street noise but most people wouldn't be alarmed by it. At the end of the day, the room rate is very reasonable, the staff couldn't be more helpful, and the rooms are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad tht you enjoyed your time with us, and could enjoy the comforts of our newly refurbished Clipper Lounge, and comfortable bedrooms. We are pleased that our staff looked after you well and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Pros
70s decor with large comfortable chairs etc. Large rooms with balcony.Rooms dated but clean but the ensuite had been newly modernised with spar bath & 2 handbasins which was very nice.
Large carpark handy to your rooms & close to to town that you could walk. The heating was good & very comfortable.
Cons
No sky TV in room. I would have never booked had I been aware of this.So be aware if that is important to you. There is Sky in a large lounge downstairs but not good enough for us that are used to this in our homes.
Spa not operating for some reason.
Lift stopped working but in saying that it was repaired the following day. The stairs to the next floors are easy & wide.
Outside in need of a general tidy clean & paint Which would lift the appearance of the pool area.
We did not eat in the hotel so can not comment on the food. Staff service was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and for highlighting the areas that we need to focus on, to continue to improve the hotel's product and services. We hope to be able to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Armitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armitage

Address: 9 Willow St. ( Cnr. Willow And Park Streets), Tauranga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Armitage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Armitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armitage Hotel Tauranga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Armitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.