We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scallop Lover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nautilus Restaurant

Nautilus Restaurant
50b Cross Road | Sulphur Point, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
(+64) 07 577 1937
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 236 Restaurants in Tauranga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nautilus Restaurant is a quality restaurant, cafe and wedding venue situated right on the edge of Tauranga Harbour, with views overlooking the iconic Mount Maunganui.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Scallop Lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Maurice is always a charming host and an even better chef.Lovely venue with plenty to watch on the water.The food is usually very good particularly the scallop crepe.The only grumble is that the wait staff have no idea about coeliac disease and the gluten free options on the menu.Always check with Maurice if you want a gluten free meal(sorry the scallop crepe isn't an option at this stage).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    15
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Yes.. finding it, if you are new, is an experience, but does makes it a "destination". The location is quiet and interesting with all the boats stacked about. Yes.. the owner is a bit of a drama queen and reminds us of Basil Fawlty. The staff must be long suffering to deal with him but are very polite to the customers. The grab one deal was disappointing in choices but quite edible. We were seated next to the wine rack but hadnto problems with waiters having to get a bottle. The seating arrangements could be improved somehow as feel the diners are "packed in" at times. With little soft furnishings, the place can be noisy and echoey. The mains are pricey but twice we have used grab one vouchers - the first offer had a way better deal than the second, and dined without a voucher once originally. We did notice the owner seems to be less motivated, less friendly, and less welcoming now and more of a cross-patch since our first visit two years ago. Yes.. hospitality is not the easiest of vocation choices, but folk pay very good money for the food here, and will expect return on their investment. Probably will not return here now after three visits and a noticable change in atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dont "Grab One" for this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went along with our grab one voucher, the menu was very limited to a choice of two dishes per course. My partners main of beef in pastry looked good while my chicken wrapped apricot was a huge disapointment. There was about 75g of chicken. The desert was a shocker, the menu said banoffee with icecream which turned our to be deep fried over-ripe banana and some ice cream with a non descript suce on the plate. Completely inedible! The meals of those selecting from the usual menu looked good and just added to my own disapointment!
Not much atmosphere here, i dont like the way the tables are set out inside, it would have been nicer to sit outside where the view of the mount is fabulous but you always run the risk of being able to smell the neighbouring sewage works if the wind is in the wrong direction! I will go back again but not using a voucher.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
475 reviews 475 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal, would definitely recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I ate here again recently with close friends. This is the second time we have eaten here while on holiday at Mt Maunganui. Once again great meal and very friendly staff. As last year we were using a "Grab one voucher". This year limited choice on this menu, but it was still great. And very filling, we struggled to finish the 3 courses. I would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a grab one food was great and the service too. Without Grabone i
it is more for a special occasion definitely worth it. Very good email service too. Thanks Maurice for being so nice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nautilus Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Nautilus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautilus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.