We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waimarino Adventure Park & Kayak Tours

Waimarino Adventure Park & Kayak Tours
36 Taniwha Place | Bethlehem, Tauranga 3172 , New Zealand
64 7 576 4233
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waimarino Adventure Park is situated on the banks of the Wairoa River just 10 minutes from Tauranga city. This tranquil paradise is based around the sport of kayaking and over the past 35 years, Waimarino has become Tauranga’s premier kayaking & recreation location. Waimarino Adventure Park has New Zealand's only kayak slide, The Blob, kayaks, rock climbing, diving boards, Italian Pedallos and plenty more. Grab your swimwear and visit us for a great day of action & fun.Waimarino Kayak Tours offer a great range of kayak tours in Tauranga & Rotorua region including magical glow-worm experiences, fantastic scenery, lake-edge thermal hot pools, catering and transport.Enjoy light refreshments & NZ wine on the edge of Lake McLaren at sunset, surrounded by the ducks &swans. Glide across the calm waters at twilight, before entering our enchanting glow-worm canyon. Our glow-worm kayak tour is truly unique, and a fantastic ‘must do’ experience while in NZ. This glow-worm kayak tour experience is not available in any other location globally. ONLY in Tauranga!Enjoy our kayak tour on scenic Lake Rotoiti, paddle past pohutakawas, (NZ’s Christmas tree) cascading native bush& abundant birdlife along the lake edge. Classic kiwi holiday homes nestle amongst the cliffs & coves. Enjoy the myths and legends of the Maori people linked to Lake Rototiti, before entering the glow-worm cave. Cross the lake to the Manupirua natural thermal hot-pools to relax and reflect on your exhilarating experiences.Please see our website for more information about our park and kayak tour options.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

From the beginning of the tour when we pulled up at the park and enjoyed some cheese and wine by sunset to the glow worm cave itself and then kayaking up to the bank at the end of the tour, it was all amazing! Our guide Drew was very knowledgeable and enjoyable to be with. Would definitely recommend this experience to everyone!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    34
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington Point
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a great experience for new & experienced kayakers as Lake Rotoiti has a lot to offer. There were 3 of us (plus the guide) so we had 2 doubles which made paddling easy. It felt pretty special going into the little cave with the glow worms. And soaking in the hot pools was a great way to break the journey. We were staying at Rotorua so our meeting point to meet our guide was about 15 minutes from town at a nice cafe. We then followed him to the lake and got going from there. The guide will pace the paddle to suit your experience and vigor. Great fun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I really enjoyed the scenery and knowledge of the day. If you haven't kayaked before here is what you can expect: it is EASY to do and the guys are really helpful BUT you will get sore arms, you will feel like just taking a break, and you might wish for it to be easier. It is a unique and enjoyable way to see this part of New Zealand without the crazy stench of Rotorua - just a little stinky.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Family Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a fantastic family day! One of the kids described it as the best day of his life and with the encouragement of us all (peer pressure!) he did things he never thought he would ever do! The staff were awesome and by the end of day knew all our names. We went via an online deal which was excellent value and will definitely be going back and bring more friends and family....thanks so much for a great day Waimarino!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Alabama
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Amazing kayak opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Absolutely loved the kayak excursion on Lake Rotoiti and stop to see the glow worms in the cave, led by this company. Very well organized tour with clean gear and kayaks in good condition. Interesting and well trained guides led our cruise ship shore excursion group. Glow worms were amazing, but the 6 km kayak trip was really awesome. Enjoyed the thermal baths/pools and lunch stop alongside the lake. My guide Bob was very personable and fun to be with. This little excursion was one of the highlights of my recent trip to Australia and New Zealand.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waimarino Adventure Park & Kayak Tours also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Waimarino Adventure Park & Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waimarino Adventure Park & Kayak Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.