We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a business trip to Tauranga” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour City Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour City Motor Inn to your Saves list
Harbour City Motor Inn
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   50 Wharf Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for a business trip to Tauranga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here for a work event with some VIP guests in Tauranga. It was a short walk to the CBD. Bookings were changed a numberof times and they were very accommodating. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and stay here again.Great spa bath if you get some time. All work and no play....

Room Tip: Ask for one with the spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We tried the best we can to make everybody stays the best possible. Every problem has a solution and we always put our guests first. We look forward to see you for a leisure trip next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
31
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was my second visit and was just as good as tge first one. Had a wonderful weekend with my partner. Room was well sourced and cleab. Great service, close to eateries and hospitality was so lovely and kind from Pascal :-) Will recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. It was a pleasure to have you again. Look out also for our Winter Special - a studio and a meal at Amphora Restaurant combined - Great savings and a relaxing weekend too to fight the winter blues...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Harbour City Motor Inn. Pascale was very welcoming and friendly. The location, in the central city, while being close to good restaurants etc, is still quiet. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to your next visit to sunny Tauranga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This little Hotel is right in centre of town but not noisy and a short stroll to all the eateries in town and the local shops. It was a pleasure to stay, everything near new and we travelled with our 2 grandchildren who had their own room. Very friendly helpful Managers who gave us a great deal and we will be back next time we are in NZ.

Room Tip: i think all the rooms are good. Ground level and 1 level up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. To further the comfort of our guests, all our unit windows closest to the road have recently been acoustic double glazed. We hope you and your family had a great trip in NZ, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohaupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed at Harbour City Motor Inn for the first time on the weekend of 25April 2014. Wow !!! We were greeted by Pascale, she is just fabulous, warm and welcoming greeting, actually took us to our room,and explained what was what with everything. The rooms are very very clean and most inviting For me having nice china crockery, nice glass wear and knives that actually cut,was lovely Their attention to detail shows . A nice short stroll to some of Tauranga's lovely restaurants etc. Great central location.We really loved our stay there,Pascale really goes the Extra MILE to ensure her guest 's stay is "Simply The Best." Definitely our choice of motel when we visit Tauranga next.Most definitely recommended. !!!! Ann D.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you Ann for taking the time to write about us.We work as a team and always striving to make sure our guests are well looked after. It has been a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have stayed at the Harbour City Motor Inn many times. Pascale is a fabulous host and certainly goes the extra mile to ensure my stay is comforable and enjoyable. The rooms are very clean and inviting. It is only a short distance to a variety of beautiful restaurants and if you wish to stay in, there is a delivery service with charge back - fantastic if you've had a long day!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with others - let Pascale know as she will provide a "family" room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. It's always a pleasure to have you Raewyn. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Good location to walk to restaurants on the harbour. We even found an Indian restaurant that surprised my husband with birthday candles in his naan bread. The owner is on-site. The pride of ownership shows in the cleanliness and attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. At Harbour City, we do work as a team with all our staff to ensure our guests have a most enjoyable experience. We hope you enjoyed your trip in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour City Motor Inn

Address: 50 Wharf Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour City Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star plus upmarket motel in CBD. Opposite Baycourt Theatre. Close to Cafes & Restaurants. FREE wi-fi. 20 air-con units with spa baths, cooking facilities, LCD TVs, Electric Blankets, SKY TV, latest magazines . Complimentary Car parking. 14 studio rooms, 2 access rooms & 4 1 bedroom units. Conference Facilities on site. Management on site. Fluent French speaking host. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour City Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.