We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour City Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour City Motor Inn to your Saves list
Harbour City Motor Inn
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   50 Wharf Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

It was great and our host Pascale did everything possible to enhance our stay. She even drove us to the medical clinic to have a wound on my wife's foot treated thus making it possible for us to complete the Tongariro Alpine Crossing a week later.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you did the Tongariro walk, one of the most beautiful hike in NZ. All the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
39
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was my second stay and it was just as good as my first. It amazes me how the staff can be around when you need them, but when you just want to sit and enjoy your room they leave you to it and go about their business. There business is obviously making quests feel welcome and to help them enjoy the environment. The rooms are modern and have excellent facilities and are always very clean. Even though they're right in the heart of the city there is very little road noise as it's a quiet road and no trucks come down it. I'll no doubt be back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. Our team will be pleased to hear your comments as everybody always strives to go the "extra mile" to ensure Harbour City guests have the best stay possible. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

After reading other reviews I felt confident to book this motel. And I was not disappointed. Lovely Hosts, Lovely Rooms. Host were very helpful! Such a central location to stroll down to The Strand for dinner or lunch.

Rooms one of the best that I have stayed in. Clean, well presented. We only needed the studio but they were all booked out, so they upgraded us to the one bedroom for no extra charge. Loved the layout of the room with the single beds in the bedroom and main bed in the lounge area. Loved the spa bath. Loved the magazines on the coffee table.

We are now looking at returning in the new year with our children...

Thanks for a great weekend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment. We will be delighted to see you again as a family. Tauranga has a lot to offer over the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

It's always a joy to discover people who really care about what they are doing AND who are good at it. As other reviewers have so correctly pointed out, our hosts were tops. Welcoming, helpful, happy to offer dining and sightseeing tips... They went above and beyond general hospitality standards.

The rooms and amenities were much better than something you would pay a higher price for in Auckland/Wellington. Chic and spacious with paintwork/furniture/carpets in great condition and with great little touches in the amenities. Ladies - there was MAKEUP REMOVER PADS in the bathroom. How many times do you find those in a typical hotel/motel? I'll tell you when - never, except in 5 star places.

Go on, stay there. You'll love it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank to take the time to write your review. It's a great reward when our guests enjoy their stay as we and our team always strive to even better our services. Happy travel....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Pascale was fabulous... Loved that the room had the two single beds in the bedroom rather than the lounge so that our daughter could go to sleep and we could still watch tv. Pascale suggested we watch the Little red riding hood show (dance school performance) and my daughter still raves about it today.
Room was fabulous and spacious
I would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Baycourt is just across the road and has some fabulous shows. There is now an awesome interactive playground as well, not even a minute away, where the kids, big and small, can have a great time.... See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

First off I must say Pascale is a true gem. I stayed at Harbour City for one night for work. I was happily greeted by Pascale who showed me dinner options (including easy charge back delivery to the propriety), how to use the amenities in the room and directions where to go for various facilities. Simple you say, yes it is but Pascale did it with real care and attention. The room was clean, tidy and spacious. Loved the spa bath!

The only thing to be aware of is the bus stop is across the road and they sit there for long periods with their engines going starting very early in the morning. Can be very loud if you're a light sleeper like me.

Looking forward to my next stay, along with the additional amenity of possible access to a gym!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We do strive to give the best to our guests and we are lucky to have a team who cares. We are hoping to get the gym sorted very soon and are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The motel is centrally located, close to the waterfront. A plus are the spas in the rooms.

Our family unit was very clean and comfortable and had Sky TV. There is plenty of parking. The furniture is nice. They could install curtains to darken the rooms better. No water views.

Overall: a good, not cheap, convenient, friendly motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We always look at how to improve our service, and we will look into what can be done to darken the room. We hope you enjoyed the beautiful new interactive playground on the waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour City Motor Inn

Address: 50 Wharf Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour City Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star plus upmarket motel in CBD. Opposite Baycourt Theatre. Close to Cafes & Restaurants. FREE wi-fi. 20 air-con units with spa baths, cooking facilities, LCD TVs, Electric Blankets, SKY TV, latest magazines . Complimentary Car parking. 14 studio rooms, 2 access rooms & 4 1 bedroom units. Conference Facilities on site. Management on site. Fluent French speaking host. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Harbour City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour City Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.