We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You MUST stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ASURE Macy's Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ASURE Macy's Motor Inn to your Saves list
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   96 Edgecumbe Road | cnr 11th Avenue, Tauranga 3144, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Lite Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You MUST stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place is Awesome. The hosts are lovely people who make you very welcome and ensure that all your needs are met. The complex is spotless as are the rooms. The beds are comfortable and the rooms spacious and warm with the biggest spa bath in the world. I thoroughly enjoyed lazing back in the bath while watching TV. I could rave on and on but it's best if you just go and see for yourself.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hi Karen D, Thanks so much for your positive 5 out of 5 review and for you8r positive comments on your stay with us. The studio unit you stayed in ?, they are the most popular units with our repeat guests. We will pass on your comments on the clean room to our dedicated housekeeping staff who do their best everyday to make sure you have spotless rooms when checking in. We hope to have enjoyed Tauranga equally as well and that we will get the chance to host you again soon. Lunch or dinner at Mills Reef Winery is a must, a walk up Mount Maunganui is another and then you can finish off the day by languishing in the thermal mineral pools of the Fernland spa which is just minutes from the motel. :-) We hope to host you again soon. kind regards, Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    43
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
76
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Athol and Lorraine were the most helpful and friendly hosts we had on our trip. They shared their expert knowledge of New Zealand and even helped us book other places to stay. How is THAT for Customer Service ! Macy's was the cleanest we have ever seen! The area was very convenient for everything, different places to eat, banks, touring, or just walking around. I write very few reviews, but I could not recommend this place enough. Go here and leave any concerns behind !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Tommy, Thank you so much for your most encouraging words. So glad that you enjoyed your trip to New Zealand. (We hope that means you will be back again). As for helping book ahead, we were happy to help, that's the advantage of being a member of a national association of motels, plus you get the chance to save some money (that's a bonus). I will tell our housekeeping staff today that you found Macy's "the cleanest you have ever seen." They are very proud of what they do and committed to their role at the motel and know that they are an important part of the total customer experience, It is so rewarding for us as hosts to get this recognition. We do hope we have the privilege of hosting you again at some future date, kind regards, Athol & Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were warmly greeted at reception and had a very comfortable room on the second floor.
Our hosts were friendly and very helpful.

The room was extremely well serviced daily and whilst not in a scenic location was central to all amenities.

We would stay here again and do not hesitate to recommend to others.

U & S

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol P, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review and your kind words to receiving "excellent service" from us. We do appreciate that recognition from you and will pass on your message to all the staff responsible, for greeting you, servicing and preparing your room each day.

We do hope we get that chance to host you again when you are next in Tauranga,
kind regards, Lorraine and Athol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Only stayed one night but Athol and Lorraine could not be more helpful, including helping me with my onward journey. the apartment was also excellent with plenty of space, extremely clean and with everything I needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol P, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hi Mike, Thanks for staying with us and for your positive comments about your experience at Macy's. Glad you found the room comfortable, that it had everything you needed and that it was extremely clean - I will mention this to our housekeeping staff as it just re-inforces what we know already, guests love clean rooms. We try to have realistic prices, clean rooms and be friendly with all our visitors. This simple formula seems to bring us lots of repeat guests so we hope to be able to host you again at some future stage. Tauranga is a great spot to stay and treat as a base to explore the Bay of Plenty region. Tauranga's main beach at Mount Maunganui just got voted New Zealands best beach by International visitors on Trip Advisor. Ciao for now. kind regards, Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Home away from home. Athol and Lorraine were amazing. We booked 4 nights in a studio unit and without having to ask we were upgraded at no extra cost to a much bigger apartment which made our holiday. The unit was absolutely spotless and having a kitchen was great as we could prepare the odd dinner if we didn't feel like eating out every night. Our hosts were happy to suggest various day trips for us, which was great, being our first trip to the area. Would be very happy to recommend this place to anyone visiting Tauranga. Thanks again guys, from Gideon and Myra.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol P, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi Gideon & Myra, So glad you enjoyed your stay in Tauranga and at Macy's Motor Inn. Will pass on your comments to the very dedicated housekeeping team about the spotless rooms. We do appreciate the staff and it is great when guests recognize the efforts they go to, to ensure they leave every room as clean as it can possibly be. Glad you enjoyed the upgrade, when we are not so full as we were that night it is a pleasure to do for guests, not always possible though. Glad you enjoyed the restaurants and bundle of activities that Tauranga has to offer with it's beaches, hot pools, walks and restaurants it makes a great hub from which to explore the region. We hope to see you back again sometime, kind regards, Athol & Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I've been fortunate enough to stay here on a regular basis, and find the rooms and atmosphere just spot on. Large comfortable beds, excellent facilities in the rooms should I need to rustle up a feast or kick back and relax in the spa bath. Athol & Lorraine are welcoming and gracious hosts, and no request has been an issue. Still my pick of accomodation in Tauranga.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol P, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi Howard, Thanks for your positive comments about your stay(s) at our motel. The studio units do remain the most popular rooms. Like you I think the other repeat guests love the in-room spa baths. We do appreciate your input and the acknowledgement that we go the extra mile to ensure you have a good stay. We are passionate about Tauranga and the Bay of Plenty and do our best to ensure that you have the best stay when you are with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon, kind regards, Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Two of us were travelling. We had a spa and a separate shower in the room. Also a small kitchenette, with everything you need, is there. Everything was very clean. We felt almost like home straight away, since we got such a warm welcome. I would recommend the place for couples visiting Tauranga.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol P, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi Eveline, Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the in-room spa bath. Glad you found the rooms clean and that it felt like home for you. It is always appreciated when customers recognize the extra effort our staff put in to make sure the rooms are spotless. We hope to host you again in Tauranga sometime in the near future.
kind regards, Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ASURE Macy's Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Macy's Motor Inn

Address: 96 Edgecumbe Road | cnr 11th Avenue, Tauranga 3144, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Macy's Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 comfortable units in total, 10 Studio units, 9 x One bedroom units, 2 spacious two bedroom units, 2 Access units. All units have 32" hi-res LCD TV, SKY (9 channels, Freeview, DVD's avail. Double or single spa baths in all units. Limited Free wi-fi available. Swimming pool and BBQ facilities. less than 10 minutes drive to natural thermal hot pools,NZ's best beach(Trip Advisor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ASURE Macy's Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.