We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ASURE Macy's Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ASURE Macy's Motor Inn to your Saves list
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   96 Edgecumbe Road | cnr 11th Avenue, Tauranga 3144, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Owner very friendly and helpful with suggestions for our booked tour and phoned them to say we were on our way to the tour. Room comfortable and clean. Great you can park just outside the room. Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi Kebabster, Thanks so much for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your time in Tauranga. Will pass on your comments to our housekeeping staff who are very diligent and take pride in "their" clean rooms that they provide daily for guests. Hope you really enjoyed your tour and we do hope to welcome you back to the Bay of Plenty at some future date, maybe to come and swim with dolphins next time, paddle boarding or just to enjoy our summer beaches. If you are music lovers we host the National Jazz Festival which takes place every Easter weekend in Tauranga. Four days of music in all genre's of Jazz -- Thank's for staying with us, kind regards Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    47
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
80
11
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is my second stay at Macy's and I have received nothing but excellent hospitality from Athol and Lorraine both times. The motel room has been spotless, has all the necessary amenities for a businesswoman and I have found no fault. As a frequent traveller they have signed me up for their loyalty programme and I have changed my accomodation provider to the ASURE Group so that my employer can reap the benefit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi there,
Thanks for your kind words on your experience and stay at Macy's Motor Inn. We are passionate about hosting guests and making sure that they have a positive stay with us. Glad you have found the rooms spotless - we do have a team of dedicated housekeepers who take pride in their work so I will pass on your comments to them. As a hosting team they know we all share equal responsibility to ensure that guests have a quality stay with us. Thanks for the privilege of hosting you at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn. We look forward to the privilege of hosting you again soon.
kind regards, Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent and very friendly. Got extra help with the maps and things. Enjoyed our family stay for a night. thanks.
The spa in the room was awesome. Good value for money, highly recommended. I will definitely stay here again if I visit tauranga in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Stkhan, Thanks so much for your positive comments on your stay with us. Glad you found your welcome to be friendly and helpful. We love the Bay of Plenty and Tauranga is a great hub to explore the region. Local input on where to go and what to do when you get to a new place is always helpful when we travel so we like to do the same for visitors, That is, to tell you about some of our favourite spots in and around Tauranga. The studio unit's with the in-room double spa is by far the most popular for couples and the one bedroom units also have the single spa baths in the bathrooms (these are actually a little deeper). We do hope if you are ever back in this east coast area of North Island that we get the chance to host you again. regards, Lorraine & Athol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The company I work for often hosts courses at this venue.
I cannot recommend them enough
Athol and Lorraine go out of their way to provide an outstanding service.
It seems that nothing is too much trouble for them.
Their catering and their helpfulness is outstanding .
Many thanks for making this an easy place to teach and make our clients feel at home

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi Jan,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We have had such great support from your company over these last three years, we appreciate your on-going support. The upstairs Skyview Conference Room and the smaller downstairs Pool Terrace Conference room are both popular venues. Glad you have enjoyed the catering and organising was up to your expectations. We look forward to hosting one of your training workshops again soon, kind regards, Athol & Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A great place to stay for a short trip. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with a spa included in the corner just for that little bit of extra ambience. I will definitely stay here again next time I have to come to Tauranga for work (or leisure).

Room Tip: The rooms with the spa are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi LeeannandSean,
Thank you for your positive response. We are glad you enjoyed you stay in one of our studio units. We have three of the nine studio units have super-king beds and the other six have queen beds. The in-room spa baths are popular with most guests and by far are the most popular rooms whether it's the corporate or holiday traveller. Glad you found the room spacious and comfortable. We hope to host you in Tauranga again at some future date - kind regards, Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband & I stayed recently at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn Tauranga & immediately felt like we were royalty. The accommodation was more than we expected, due to our experience elsewhere & so were pleasantly surprised at what we had received. The Queen Spa Studio was warm, comfortable, spacious & noise free therefore our relaxing getaway was just that. Macy's is situated a close drive to what we needed & easy to find. Whenever returning to Tauranga to will be staying there again & would recommend that you do try this motor inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Bella, Thank you for your kind words. Glad you found the room warm, spacious, comfortable and noise free. When you come again we trust you will again feel like royalty - it is so rewarding for us when guests appreciate a friendly welcome. The truth is without you and all the other guests we would'nt have a business so we look forward to hosting you again when you are back in Tauranga. kind regards, Lorraine and Athol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here towards the end of May 2013 for just one night. The host kindly upgraded us from the Compact Mini Studio to a bigger studio room. Host was extremely friendly and helpful in offering suggestion of places to visit and activities. One thing I particularly loved was the super comfortable bed. The studio was clean and comfortable. The smile and service was an added bonus!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Judith, Thanks for your positive response and for staying with Macy's Motor Inn. Glad you found us friendly and helpful, we do try to ensure that visitors know that they are appreciated and more importantly that they will be glad to come back for another stay. I will pass on your comment about the clean room to our staff who are a dedicated team of housekeepers that are proud of the work they do. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to Tauranga, kind regards, Athol & Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ASURE Macy's Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Macy's Motor Inn

Address: 96 Edgecumbe Road | cnr 11th Avenue, Tauranga 3144, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Macy's Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 comfortable units in total, 10 Studio units, 9 x One bedroom units, 2 spacious two bedroom units, 2 Access units. All units have 32" hi-res LCD TV, SKY (9 channels, Freeview, DVD's avail. Double or single spa baths in all units. Limited Free wi-fi available. Swimming pool and BBQ facilities. less than 10 minutes drive to natural thermal hot pools,NZ's best beach(Trip Advisor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your ASURE Macy's Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.