We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ASURE Macy's Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ASURE Macy's Motor Inn to your Saves list
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   96 Edgecumbe Road | cnr 11th Avenue, Tauranga 3144, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Stay here recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms were spacious and beautifully clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I left some earrings behind and they went the extra mile in discovering and returning these to me. So many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi Lynette, Thanks for staying at Macy's Motor Inn. So nice to know you enjoyed your stay in Tauranga and that you found our rooms clean, spacious and the staff friendly. We would love to host you again so that's why we look after you so well. Glad you got your earings back. We will try to organize another summer like the last "endless one" we have just had. We look forward to hosting you again soon and I will pass on your postive comments to our dedicated housekeepers and frontline staff regards Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    47
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
80
11
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trafalgar, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This motel has very good facilities including free WiFi and kitchenette. Towels to use at the beach are also provided - all you have to do is ask. Speaking of which, the best beach is at Mt Manganui, only about a 10 minute trip. The staff were extremely helpful. The only hint is that 11th Avenue can get noisy (we were there on a Friday and Saturday night (the latter noisier than the former), although I slept through it - my wife who is a light sleeper didn't. This motel is highly recommended and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room off 11th Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hi mjb, Thank you for staying at Macy's and that you found the staff helpful. I will pass on your comments to the team. We provide the swimming towels for our pool and they are available for use to the beach and yes you are right the best beaches are just across the harbour in Mou8nt Maungaui but it does stretch all the way to Papamoa Beach with numerous swimming spots in between. For light sleepers we do recommend rooms away from the road and the roadside rooms do have double glazing as a noise buffer. While sometimes there can be traffic noise there will however some nights it will be as peaceful as anything. If you are are ever back in Tauranga we look forward to hosting you again, kind regards Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our host Athol was very welcoming, helpful, and courteous. We arrived in Tauranga rather late, so we were anxious to get to our accommodations, stay out of our vehicle, and enjoy a relaxing evening. Although Athol suggested a tempting tapas bar across town, we chose to walk to a fast-food joint for a quick meal, then relax in our quite adequate room to check emails and the news of the day with the free wi-fi. Our accommodations were clean, beds were very comfortable and the space perfectly adequate for our one-night stay. We Americans (at least these 2 Americans from Boise, Idaho) love free wi-fi and are especially thankful for the coffee fixins' and milk and the beautiful hydrangeas outside our back door!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hi Boise Idaho,
thanks so much for your postive response to your stay at Macy's. I have passed on your compliments in terms of our clean rooms to our staff - they are passionate about doing quality rooms for guests. I am so glad you had a great stay in Tauranga and the Bay of Plenty. If you are ever coming back to visit paradise then we would love to host you. kind regards,
Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

When you think of Motor Inns on the edge of town you don't really expect too much. However our stay (6th February) exceeded our expectations. Firstly the service was warm and welcoming. The owner gave us lots of tips regarding getting the best out of the local area before he provided us with maps and guide books. Having been given an upgrade at check in, our room was spacious, clean and fitted with all mod cons including a large (double) spa tub. The bed was very comfortable and the whole unit (with kitchen area and shower room) was very well kept. There were lots of channels to chose from on the TV and there was even a DVD player. Fresh Milk and complementary WiFi access was also provided. We were worried about noise as our room was on the ground floor beside the car parking area, but to be honest the double glazed doors helped us to enjoy an undisturbed nights sleep. We stayed in a number of motor inns on our trip and this was bay far the best. If we return to Tauranga, I am sure we would book again. A slight misunderstanding on check out (we thought we had been charged at check-in) was quickly resolved in a happy exchange and a friendly smile.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Matt, Thanks for your positive comments on your stay at Macy's. We do try to make your stay friendly on arrival, helpful with tips of the area for restaurants and activities. The unit you stayed in was a queen studio with the double spa bath. These are our most popular rooms. Will pass your comments on the clean room to our dedicated cleaning staff who do go the extra mile to make sure the rooms are spotless. Their passion for clean rooms is what brings us many repeat guests to Macy's and they are committed to the team culture we have built up at the motel to ensure you have a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next cross the ditch, kind regards, Athol & Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Besides all the positives, there were 3 negatives which I am afraid made the stay quite uncomfortable:1. We were given free wi- fi but were asked whether we intend to use it for youtube etc as "that would make it expensive for the motel". I understand that internet can be costly, but then either charge for it or refrain from unprofessional comments. 2: fridge is really tiny with one proper shelf only- ok for an overnight stay but definitely not enough if you actually plan to store ingrediences or more than 1 liter container of milk. 3: there is a cooling/heating unit placed behind room 16 which is loud enough to wake one up through the night - and it seems to run a 1-hour cycle. This room should not be rented out unless customers have hearing difficulties. Last but not least, the hotel is placed close to highway, without direct view or access to the sea- it is this difficult to believe that it is the 3rd best Tauranga has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I am so sorry your experience at Macy’s Motor Inn was affected by the knocking heating system. I also acknowledge that the fact we didn’nt charge you to stay should’nt make it any sweeter when you could’nt sleep. We had another guest experience the same thing 2 nights later in the same unit, confirmed what we could not discover at midnight when you and I looked at it on the night you stayed. The plumber replaced a faulty pressure release valve which was causing the knocking noise. everything is back to normal in that unit. The fridge is a 39 litre capacity fridge. Our free wi-fi with 500Mb to 1 Gb passwords is usually adequate for 99% of guests. We do advertise our location as a city motel. We do have access within three minutes to the Waikareo estuary board walk which goes through the mangroves and indigenous bush, Our rating in the top three on Trip advisor is about clean rooms, value for money and putting the customer first. We do hope if you are ever back here in the Bay of Plenty we can make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Booked to attend a celebration at the Mount. Decided to stay in Tauranga as we considered it better value and were pleased with our decision. Lovely large king room with a feature spa tub. Nicely laid out and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Elaine, thanks for your positive feedback. The king studio units are for me our best rooms for couples. (we have three king studio's plus only six queen studio's). Glad you found the unit light, spacious and clean. Access to the Mount and the beach is so easy, it's only a 12 minute drive across the harbour bridge to the hot pools, restaurants and beaches of Mount Maunganui. We look forward to hosting you again at some future date.
kind regards, Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent a night here when In Tauranga for a wedding. The motel was very close to the venue, which was our reason for choice. We paid $130 NZ for a very large studio room. the room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small but adequate and clean . The room had a huge spa bath in it, which we didn't use. There was a small couch, a table and chairs, and an adequately equipped kitchen area. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Our only quibble was the very loud "expel-air" in the bathroom,which came on automatically and lasted for what seemed a very long 8 minutes - very noticeable at night! This was a very small issue, and the owner apologised when we brought it to his attention.We thought the room size and facilities were great value for the cost. It is a little out of the main centre if you have no car, but all in all , a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi There, thanks for your positive comments on the room and it's features and that you found the hotel good value. Fortunately we are close to Daniels in the Park, The Citizens Club, Tauranga South Bowls Club which are all venue and destinations for a lot of our guests which are within an easy walking distance of 300 to 700 metres. We have a few supermarket and takeaway restaurants and pub which are only three to four minutes walk away as well. We took your advice and replaced the noisy "expel air" fan with anew one, feedback is always appreciated and acted upon. We hope to host you again at Macy's at some time when you come back this way to Tauranga and the Bay of Plenty. kind regards, Athol & Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ASURE Macy's Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Macy's Motor Inn

Address: 96 Edgecumbe Road | cnr 11th Avenue, Tauranga 3144, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Macy's Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 comfortable units in total, 10 Studio units, 9 x One bedroom units, 2 spacious two bedroom units, 2 Access units. All units have 32" hi-res LCD TV, SKY (9 channels, Freeview, DVD's avail. Double or single spa baths in all units. Limited Free wi-fi available. Swimming pool and BBQ facilities. less than 10 minutes drive to natural thermal hot pools,NZ's best beach(Trip Advisor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your ASURE Macy's Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.