We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Waves Motel

Ocean Waves Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tauranga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Waves Motel
Save
You added Ocean Waves Motel to your Saves list
74 Marine Parade, Tauranga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I spend one night at Ocean Waves motel on the 31/5/14. We arrived and it took about five or so minutes for the motel guy to check us in,,,,,,luckily Bruce was nice and a friendly guy. The studio was nice and clean. Our studio was right at the top of the stairs without the sea view and the patio was shared with five other units. You can walk right around looking into other units if their blinds are not drawn. It was noisy. People running up and down the stairs and walking around the patio. The upstairs was wooden and boy it was an annoying experience. The motel itself is pleasant and it's location is great. The family that was on the unit across from us had kids who do what kids do but not suitable for us who just want to chill. The morning was worse than the evening before. It was a Sunday and just wanted to sleep in till 8 or so,,,,,,but that wasn't to be. I think families should be put together with other families. When I booked online, I had no idea what the set up is at the motel. At 9:29am we were packing up to leave because you have to be out of there by 10am,,,one of the cleaning staff or whoever he was just opened the door and said "oh you are still here" I was furious.....what happened to bloody knocking? I suppose you get what you pay for. The motel is nice, just not for us. And please tell your cleaning staff to use their manners or wait till 10 or after 10 to enter the rooms,,,,,don't forget to knock.

Room Tip: If you want a bit of a quiet time away when you are in the motel,,,,book a ground floor room. And p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    4
    2
    12
See reviews for
3
14
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Ocean Waves.  We intended to stay
two nights, January 27 and 28, but we extended for a third night. The
room was comfortable and clean with a beautiful view of the sea. 
The location was convenient to shops and restaurants. 

We erre two months on the road and this was one of our favorite rooms. Kate went
Above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and welcome.  We will definitely be back 
and will tell friends about Ocean Waves.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed a week at Ocean Waves. Our unit was gorgeous, amazing beach views, spacious well appointed apartment style room. We really "wound-down" and had a totally relaxing break - thanks to the ambience of the location.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

CONS:
Terrible customer service in managing our booking.
Expensive.
Found a cockroach on the sheets on the bed when we woke up in the morning.
No air-conditioning or fan – very hot room to sleep in on a summers night.

PROS:
Great location, right across the road from the surf beach and close to the local shops and restaurants.
Large, very clean and comfortable room. The shower had good pressure and was hot.
The cleaning people were friendly and helpful.
Off street parking – although a tight squeeze.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Bruce made us very welcome, ocean front rooms are big and well laid out with 4 beds, best views, we only stayed one night but can't understand the previous reviews, best stay of our trip so far including the chattau in whakapapa

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Ocean Waves Motel is across the road from the Mount Maunganui surf beach and easy walking distance to cafes, restaurants and shopping. We stayed two nights in a large room with great views. The unit is in need of a makeover and tired but was comfortable. The motel is split into two sites and for this reason the service is non existent, we needed extra towels which took a whole day to arrive, having said that a heater was put on in our room prior to arrival which was nice..for the price it's ok, could be great with a bit of service.

Room Tip: The website has good photos of most rooms and its a good representation of what you will get
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have a very enjoyable 2 nights stay here. Great location, within walking distance to the beach at Mt Maunganui and to local cafes and of course the walk up the Mt. Very clean, tidy and comfortable. It was a wet night when we arrived and the heater was on and the unit was lovely and warm. It's a bit of an unusual set up with reception in the other motel and no desk space or reception at the place we were booked in at but all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Waves Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Waves Motel

Address: 74 Marine Parade, Tauranga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Waves Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.