We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well recommended by friends!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Mela

Gold Mela
100 Grange Rd | Otumoetai, Tauranga 3001, New Zealand
+64 7-576 3940
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 236 Restaurants in Tauranga
Price range: $17 - $26
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Well recommended by friends!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

With our French connections we had been advised to try the Gold Mela. And yes when we walked in we could have been in any one of hundreds of French provincial restaurants and cafes that we had eaten at while living in France.

There are new owners, however our waitress was in fact the previous owner, so we got the exceptional service that the Gold Mela had built up a reputation for in tauranga.

We ordered their highly recommended Mela pizza ($24) and it was certainly excellent. How they get that crust so thin and crisp I will never know.

They had a good wine list with wine both by the glass ($8.50) or the bottle ($30 to $40). Plus they are BYO with $6 corkage.

If you are modern chrome and glass restaurant type then this may not be for you! But for other who want to feel that for a short time they are in a French bistro then Gold Mela will be a winner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tau, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small & inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great ambience and setting in this small restaurant. The food caters for many paletttes and we can highly recommend it. We are frequent patrons to this Restaurant

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for a date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had heard great things about this place before so decided to try it out. I loved the eccentricty of it all, plenty to look at on the walls and the food was very tasty. The new owner was very friendly and added to the overall experience. He's making a few changes but I hope he doesn't go too far and lose the character of the place. It's like dining in a local Italian village restaurant....sort of. Great for a date, family meal or any occasion. I would definitely come back again and if I was a Tauranga resident it would be one of my go to restaurants. Good times!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cosy home-style dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Cosy atmosphere and homely food. Lovely low-key vibe. Loved their pizza. Would come back here again definitely

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best Italian / French in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Itlian chef and French wife front of house with an eclectic atmosphere straight out of marseille amazing collection of art and bijou
Best pizza thin base great avocado cocktail
Good wine list of French and Italian wines
All round always excellent always good

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Mela also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Gold Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Mela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.