We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best motel in all of NZ!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo to your Saves list
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
One extra night free!
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best motel in all of NZ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. This place is actually my favourite out of all of the motels and lodgings in NZ. The owners were the NICEST people, and you can just tell they love what they do (i.e. they are highly motivated towards delivering excellent service). I will list all the things I loved about this place:
- Proximity to Lake Taupo
- Knowledge of staff about the area and engagement with local businesses, e.g. free drink vouchers at a really nice restaurant in town
- Garden BBQ
- Cute and stylish building with landscape gardens (lots of lavender too)
- Spa in the room!!
- Room service actually wash your dishes
- Courtyard, which could be a little more private if they added some hedges / trees

The location is about a 30-40 minute walk to town, which I don't mind at all. It's a scenic walk and can get windy. The only thing about Taupo is I found it got a bit confusing when it came to what to do in the area in terms of hiking. It took a while to figure the maps and tracks out, but there's iSite centres all around that can help.

NZ is a wonderful location for families, backpackers, couples or just solo travelling. It can be as relaxed or adventurous as one desires. The scenery is stunning, the roads are straight making it easy to get from one location to another and the people are super, SUPER friendly and hospitable.

I encourage everyone to go to NZ both north and south island to see postcard landscapes and meet the happiest people you probably wouldn't otherwise experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Phew - thanks so much for your detailed review Amanda. Come and see us again one day - maybe for an anniversary! We do appreciate your comments, they help us out a lot. Loved having you stay - we always feel privileged when honeymooners choose Cottage Mews. Glad you have such good memories of your time in New Zealand. Oh - and more courtyard planting happening soon, just waiting to get a new boundary fence built in the autumn and then Terry will be in his element redesigning the gardens. Very best wishes - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    96
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
129
258
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Acommodation is easy to find, on the main road through Taupo (just before the town if you're coming from Wellington, on the left).

The proprietor was _very_ pleasant and welcoming, and gave us good advice on restaurants and things to do in Taupo.

The room was clean and good-sized, and the spa-bath was excellent. The motel has a little path down to the lake, and we walked down there and had a quick dip. Cold but refreshing.

There is free wifi, which was useful. There are some bandwidth issues at peak times, but late evening/early morning was fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you Rustyskates for your positive comments. Good on you for taking a dip in the lake! Thanks for the feedback on the wifi also - free access to the internet is really important to travellers now and we are happy to provide it. All the best - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband, daughter and I, visiting NZ from the U.S.A.,recently spent one night at the Cottage Mews Motel. We arrived later in the evening than we had originally planned, but Julie and her husband were waiting for us and extremely welcoming and helpful. The room was very pleasant, clean and comfortable, and we were sorry that we were only spending one night. But what most impressed me was that after we left, Julie emailed me to let me know that I'd forgotten an article of clothing in the room. I told her that I would like to pay her to send it back to me in the U.S., but she very kindly sent it at her own expense. How many places would you have to go to find hospitality like that? This is a lovely motel, run by amazing people!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We were just sorry you couldn't stay a bit longer Felicity! Thanks for posting a review. I hope that your package has almost made it home to Oklahoma by now - it was no trouble at all. Hope you have great memories of all your Kiwi adventures. Kind regards, Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I am an enthusiastic return visitor to Cottage Mews. The staff are so friendly and hospitable, units well equipped and spotless, many with private outside seating and garden area. Great swimming on your doorstep. Loving the nook - so private, with everything I need for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for your positive review D, especially as it is your first on Trip Advisor! Lovely to catch up with you again, and hopefully it won't be too long till next time. Best wishes - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Julie and her family are as friendly and gracious as any innkeepers we have met. Our room was very comfortable, spotless, well located by the lake, and reasonably priced. Although it is not a B and B, we did arrange for breakfast to be brought to our room. Delicious and reasonably priced. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you Chuck and Felicia for your comments. We enjoyed meeting you and hope that the mountain experience was all you imagined and more. All the best for future travels and the rest of your time in New Zealand. Kind regards, Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

A well equipped motel in a great location that meant not having to cross the road to get to the beach. This is a big deal for us as we have 2 boys under 10, and the road is very busy. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and tidy. We would probably stay here again next time we are in Taupo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Wayne S - good to hear that your holiday in Taupo went well. We didn't really see a lot of you as you were all out doing things so much of the time - great! Hope to host your family again if you're back for another break by the lake. Thanks for taking time to review us. Kind regards, Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My family stayed here again on our way through Taupo. We are very happy recommend Cottage Mews for great, clean accommodation with friendly helpful hosts. Even though it is handy to the main road there was no road noise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks Helen for taking time to post a review. We appreciate your comments. The Taupo bypass has made a huge difference to accommodation along Lake Terrace, taking most of the big trucks round the east side of town and making our nights much quieter! Kind regards, Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.