We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommend The Cottage Mews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo to your Saves list
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Definitely Recommend The Cottage Mews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Cottage Mews recently - we stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed staying by the Lake.
The two storey spacious apartment we stayed in had a kitchen, living area and outside courtyard. It was very adequate for 3 adults and a baby. The rooms are well equipped, (two bathrooms!) and include a large tub spa. There is a free washing machine next to the office and also a Dryer is available for a small cost. One night we used the barbeque, and Julie kindly offered us their basket of goodies to assist in cooking (Oil, bbq tools etc)
Julie and Terry run this lovely accommodation and were particularly hospitable, also giving us suggestions of day trips etc.

I would highly recommend The Cottage Mews - (Oh,don't forget to wander down by the Lake for a sunset) :)

Room Tip: there ARE rooms at the Lake end of the property - and u get a lovely view of the Lake. BUT all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    85
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
108
209
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, and would have stayed longer if we could. Despite the wintry weather, the room as snug and warm, spotlessly clean, very well equipped and with a gorgeous spa bath - and a small private garden out the back. More like a little house than a motel room. Friendly and helpful owner on site. Excellent location right on the lake, which is just a one minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Cottage Mews for 6 nights in the beginning of our trip and another 2 nights at the end. Julie and Terry were so helpful in planning side trips throughout the north island. Their suggestions were always right on the mark. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Unexpected details that highlight the degree of hospitality included their offer to take in our laundry from the patio if it rained while we were out, and a well stocked basket of tools for the night we used the grill. My adult daughter particularly enjoyed the enormous hot tub and lavender bubble bath. The hotel is in a perfect location to enjoy the crystal clear water of Lake Taupo. Sailing center is a quarter mile away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very welcoming host Julie with lots of local knowledge including restaurants for an evening meal.We had a studio with lake views,very clean and comfortable and our 2 night stay was not really long enough.We really enjoyed lakeside walks and a boat cruise and can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Cottage Mews Motel for 2 nights and we couldn't have asked for a better place. The room was spacious and very clean with a kitchenette and courtyard. Julie and Terry were absolutely lovely and very helpful. We left some clothes behind in the wardrobe and Julie posted them back to us at no charge, 5 star customer service. We’ll definitely be returning to Cottage Mews Motel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for just one night and were more than happy with what we got. The staff and room were just perfect and we loved the modern interior in particular (bathroom is great)! Free WIFI and laundry (dryer for 2 $ extra) were great as well! We'd come back any time!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here with our family of 4 plus 2 overseas guests, had a lovely time. Kids had a lovely time feeding the ducks and swans both at days end and in early morning. Elderly grandmum was easily able to stroll the beach (only 2 minutes walk at the back of the property). Short drive to city centre...kayaks available for renting, free wifi came in handy for hubby and i. Kitchen was quite well equipped for cooking real meals. Very clean surroundings if a bit dated carpet. All in all, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.