We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and owners very helpful and friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo to your Saves list
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and owners very helpful and friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The place was spotless and we had a view of the lake from our lounge. Terry and Julie were so helpful and friendly. Terry's local knowledge ensured our hikes went well. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

In dec 2012, my family stayed 2 nights at Cottage Mews in the Garden Studio. The room looks new and clean and country feel. And the queen and single bed was great for 3 of us except the bed was a little soft. The bonus is that there is a jacuzzi in the room and my daughter (6 years old) loved it! The backyard mini garden was also a plus except that in the evening there are flies. The kitchen was sufficient for cooking but a little tight. Finally Lake Taupo is just a few minutes walk to the back of the motel! Ducks walk right up to your feet.... In summary excellent value but I hope Julie gives me the 10% room rate discount when i go back to Taupo one day... :+))

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for one night in 'The Nook' on Dec 15th 2012. Im a self-confessed clean freak and this place easily lived up to my expectations, which Im told are pretty high at times. The owner/staff are friendly, helpful and just good people. Its a true home away from home experience with nice little touches throughout. We found being able to access the lake front from the property a real bonus, your only about 20 steps to the lake. We'll be back the next time we're in Taupo, its a no-brainer to stay here. Oh and you get 10% off the next time you stay - nice touch that they dont need to do but they do anyway !

Room Tip: The Nook is perfect for a couple on a one or two night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We were just overnighting in taupo on our way south we come threw taupo quite regularly and are yet to find a good hotel ie that is clean and value for money . But my wife and I believe the cottage mews is the place for us .The lack of lake views did not worry us the cleanliness of our room(the nook ) and the friendly service we received from all staff was magnificent . And in 2012 good customer service is hard to find . The staff could not do enough for us to make us feel welcome . Yes it is a bit of way from the downtown bars restaurants but cabs are cheap and the motel plans to start renting bikes soon .
The Nook was very nice similar to say a b b room little kitchenette it was Cosy the sink was a little hard to wash your face in but all fittings were modern and of good quality, lovely shower . Will be back next time in taupo

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

As can be gathered from previous reviews the Cottage Mews is old, but slowly being refurbished. Having said that we were very pleased with our accomodation. It had a small patio, bedroom downstairs with double spa bath, and upstairs a sitting room/dining area with lake views. The staff we met were all very friendly. It's a longish walk into the centre of Taupo - better to drive if there's any chance of rain. Out of season the motel operates a single price policy and allocates the best rooms first so it makes sense to book early if you can. We found the price fair value for what we got.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a very brief stay at this adorable place. We stayed in room 0 (aka. The Nook). Although it was small, it was beautifully designed for the space: a kitchenette, a couch, even a small, private outdoor patio area. The television swung around so you can watch it in bed or from the mini living room space. Comfortable bed, too. The hosts are nice folks, they own the place and the pride shows here. We ordered the breakfast and it came on a tray, with little covers for the drinks and warm toast. We had a small bit of time to walk along the lake, just down the path. I don't know if there is a lake view room at Cottage Mews, but since we were going to see a lot of lakes on our journey, the proximity was enough. This place is quiet and just out of the center of town, but not far to walk to. Great customer service, thanks.

Room Tip: The Nook (room 0) is small but the use of space well done, even room for a private outdoor patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had a totally enjoyable stay in Taupo thanks to the staff. They helped us out a lot and were very friendly. They were willing to go the extra mile to make their guests feel at home :) I would totally recommend this to anyone going to Taupo for a holiday, you wont regret it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sining99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#16 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 73 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.9 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#9 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#