We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo to your Saves list
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
One extra night free!
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were in unit 9 on the end looking out over the lake, a split level unit with the living area upstairs including a balcony. Good free Wi-fi. The spa bath in the bedroom was novel but great fun. Units are a little dated,but very clean and extremly well equiped. The lake is 30 secs away. We had planned 2 days here and 2 in Rotorua, on reflextion we wish we had booked all 4 here as Rotorua is within easy reach and this motels location is great and the welcome warm.

Room Tip: Reception give great advice and discount vouchers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thanks for taking time to review us. We would love to have had you stay another couple of nights - Taupo is a good base for exploring - there's lots to see within a couple of hours drive. Your lake-end apartment will close for a bit after Queen's Birthday for refurbishment. Paint and paper ready to go, new bathroom, carpet and upgraded kitchen. After our recent guest survey, we realised that the spa bath in the bedroom has to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    96
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
129
258
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We arrived in Taupo in the rain - and it didn't stop - so thank goodness we had a room at Cottage Mews. Yes, it's a bit dated, but what it lacks in high end mod cons it makes up for in charm and service. The split-level accommodation had a bathroom, comfy bed and spa bath and shower downstairs and living accommodation and deck upstairs. In half decent weather it woul be absolutely fantastic with decent views of the lake.
Julie was so friendly and helpful... a great spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thanks for your review. We'll be refurbishing the lake-end apartments over winter - lots of painting and papering ahead. Laura Ashley will still be here at Cottage Mews, just not in so many varieties! All the best for the next 25. Loved your Franz Josef story!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had a lovely view of the lake facing south,also the mountains, from an upstairs unit.2 story unit.Living upstairs.Only 2 armchairs there & not very comfortable.A couch would have been nice.Great spa bath.Unit a little tired,but very clean.30 secs to beach.Very friendly people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Went to Taupo, and planned to check few motels by myself before deciding which one to book. (of course checked tripadvisor's review the day before). Reached Taupo and found this cottage first. I went in and asked for available room. The one facing Lake was all occupied. The guy (Terry) said he got another available room, but only garden view... $30 bucks less. The way he speak and serve his customer changed my mind and I straight away take the room without thinking about another "Lake View" unit in other motel.

Went in to the room...

Kitchenette - All complete, just like normal serviced apartment. Got warning sign telling not to cook strong smell foods *I know this is not important*. Well, kitchen just perfect.

Toilet and shower - Shower and toilet bowl separated by a wall. Shower doesn't have glassdoor, only shower curtain. Toilet bowl looks pretty old, but 100% clean and working condition. No stain or whatsoever. Floor very clean as well.

Bedroom - 32 inch HD Ready Samsung, the rest of furniture are fine. (you can see from the picture later). No funny smells of old furniture.

Garden - a small garden with one coffee table and 2 chairs. Simple, but it's good to enjoy a cup of tea in the morning.

Internet - no such hourly/daily/weekly package. It's a "all you can eat" internet.

Jacuzzi??? - This is what I surprised. There is a jacuzzi for bubble bath just beside your bed!. well well, this is a great deal! If you go with your family or partner this would be perfect for you. I didn't expect this with this kind of price :p

Location - To be honest it might not be the best location if you are looking somewhere near to the shopping center (town), but it's just on the lake itself. You really don't need to cross the road. I'm driving there, and I don't really walk around the city at night, so really doesn't matter for me.

Extra facility - Kayaks $4 for an hour. Cheap!. just grab and ask for life jacket.

Service - Well, told you earlier that the guy did change my mind. I never question their service :D.

Safety box - Didn't check and didn't see it btw... probably they don't have it.

I give a 5 star rate here as all the components there 100% working, tho it's not fancy (They never claim they are a 5star hotel anyway). An excellent sleep quality. And Jacuzzi contribute a point to the rating.

Enjoy the picture. I will be back here again definitely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had a studio on the ground floor with a delightful small courtyard which was a real suntrap. The self-catering facilities were good for making breakfast etc. The location was excellent - right by the lake with a walking path and close enough to Taupo for essentials without being right in the town. Pub and a fish and chip shop were a couple of minutes drive away. However the highlight of our stay was the lady on reception. She was so friendly and helpful, advising us what to see and do and giving us maps and discount vouchers - she had plenty of time to talk to us and nothing was too much trouble. We loved our visit and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Good solid accommodation at a good price.
Nice friendly staff and very accommodating.
Right on the lake - but very few units (if any) with lake views.
Great price for the room size and location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This isn't the first time we've stayed here and I'm sure it won't be the last. The decor is a little dated but who cares when the place is as clean and as tidy as it is. We got upgraded to a family suite with master bed, toilet & spa bath upstairs, and kitchen, bathroom & lounge downstairs.

Great having the path down to the lake. Took fish & chips down there one day for lunch when we wanted something casual (highly highly recommend "The Grand Central Fry" in Rifle Range Road if you've got a car). Then we went for a lovely walk around the lake edge. There is a path to follow & lots of seats to sit down & enjoy the view along the way if you so desire. Took us just over an hour to get to Rainbow Point Reserve (but you can go further if you want) and we sat down to enjoy the view & watch the kayakers at one point.

Thanks for a great weekend away. Taupo is a great place to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.