We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Restaurant & Bar

Waterside Restaurant & Bar
3 Tongariro St, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
+64 7-378 6894
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 107 restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Serving, Lunch and Dinner you'll soon discover Waterside's reputation for great casual dining and fantastic meals to meet everybody's needs.Take in the stunning views of the lake and mountains while you enjoy being looked after by our friendly staff, try one of our creative cocktails or speciality coffees. Fantastic outdoor dining in summer, and a fireplace to keep you warm in the winter.Enjoy!!
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Mmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I would have to say we were so impressed with Waterside with their service and omg the food was excellent. We had our children with us and was happy to find that they could actually get a decent dinner on their kids menu yes my kids had steak salad and mash, now that makes a fantastic change to normal kids menus. My husband also wants me to put on here about his steak, we have been to a few restaurants and he hasn't been happy with how the steak has come out but at waterside both steaks for my son and husband were perfect :) Oh and how can you go past and say no to that amazing view when dining out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    61
    47
    17
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went to Taupo for lunch and decided to eat here because of the wonderful view down the lake towards the mountains. 3 of us had Fush & Chups. The Dori was crumbed and very succulent. Chips amongst the best I've ever had complimented by a fresh green salad. The 4th person had a seafood chowder served in a bread cob - delicious. Service was quick and friendly. Would definitely recommend and will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic casual dining on the water in Taupo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch on the way to Napier and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and service.

The menu was interesting with a small but nice selection of NZ wines.

We tried the Fush and Chups (fish and chips for non locals...) which was a generous serve of delicious crumbed fish with fabulous fries and greens. My companions tried a range of dishes including a spectacular salmon fish of the day served with asparagus and potato. Wed also tried the chowder which was delicious, served in a cute bread bowl, and the burger which had a lovely homemade patty, also served with the crispy chips.

All in all the food was really good value for money and the restaurant had a fantastic view over the lake.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

From the minute we walked in we knew we were in for a treat! Service was fantastic! Friendly polite and very helpful! The staff went out of their way for me to help find a good wine and let me taste test until I was satisfied! Loved the advice they gave :)
The meals were absolutely mouth watering! Good sized (a bit too much for me) but that's no complaint! We all want value for money! I give this restaurant a 10/10 will be coming back next time :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Service Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The service was fantastic, the dinner was just amazing. My husband and I have been there few times. Shame it was raining but we had a great time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Waterside Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.