We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brantry

The Brantry
45 Rifle Range Rd, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
07 378 0484
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $12 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Brantry is located in a 1950's town house tastefully renovated to create a special ambience for any dining occasion. The low ceilings, large open fire and timeless decor gives a sense of style that owners Prue and Felicity are proud of. The food is described as contemporary New Zealand cuisine. Proud New Zealander Prue believes there is a wealth of food options here on our doorstep. The menu is updated seasonally to access all the freshest produce. The Brantry is a perfect venue for weddings we can organise everything from name tags to flowers.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Service above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I chose this restaurant as a venue for a group of colleagues based entirely on the Trip Advisor reviews. Trip Advisor has never let me down and this time was no exception.

Unfortunately one of our group took ill on arrival (the results of a not so good lunch elsewhere we suspect). When we asked for a taxi to be called for her the staff wouldn't hear of it. Instead she was helped into a car by one of the staff who took her back to our accommodation and made sure that she was comfortable. Of course we offered to pay but the restaurant would not hear a word of it. Exemplary service above and beyond what we could reasonably expect.

The meal that followed was everything that we had expected. The service of course could not be faulted. The food was beautifully cooked and presented. The meat cuts were obviously chosen for their flavour rather than their ease of cooking and the menu demonstrated a real understanding of how to get the most out of those ingredients.

With the cost of three courses being only $55.00 this restaurant offers incredible value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    54
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Everything pointed to a perfect evening at The Brantry. The service was outstanding and the food was divine. We have noticed this restaurant before but hadn't eaten here as it is a bit out of town in a 1950s house. However we read some reviews and decided to give it a go. Our loss for not coming here sooner! It is fantastic. The food is a wonderful blend of flavours. Even the price was great. They charge $45 for 2 courses or $55 for 3 courses. We had a glass of the house wine which was very palatable.
Next time we are in Taupo it will be a must visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good, but,,,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We went to The Brantry with high expectations. some were met and some were not. The location, in a nice converted home, was fun and interesting. The waitresses who helped us were very nice and enthusiastic. However we had to ask for additional water and some more bread. They could have been more attentive. We had the scallops and prawns as starters. Both were excellent in flavor, and both were too small portions. Each had 5 pieces and should have had 6-7 to be 'enough.. great taste, just not enough. Similarly, the bread that was served on the nice little plates with the butter knives was very godd, but there was no butter, oil, etc to accompany it.. Strange to have a butter knife and no butter. It really needed that. The main courses, we had the steak and the lamb mains were also delicious, and also about 25 percent too small. At $45 for the starter/main combination all servings should have been larger, not huge, just large enough to be satisfying...So, in all a nice atmosphere, but everythin g could have been 'a little more' ...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsford, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not quite memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I was disappointed overall with the food after reading the many glowing reviews. I had the salt and pepper squid served on coleslaw for an entree. The squid itself was OK but all I could taste was a very strong cabbage taste with the slaw. If there was a dressing, it was not obvious. I had pork belly for mains and although it was well-cooked I don't think it had been seasoned and thus was a bit flavour-less.The side dish of asparagus was delicious, however. Service was friendly and efficient. The decor I thought was a little dated and in need of some freshening up.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Totally amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I loved the whole experience at this restaurant. Staff were cheerful & efficient. The food was devine - loved it

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brantry also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Brantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.