We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mole & Chicken

Mole & Chicken
40 Taharepa Rd, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
(07) 378 7843
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 109 Restaurants in Taupo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited for dinner, have been to this restaurant before but it was very different this time. Staff were all very strained, arrogant owner (Cliff) thought it was good manners for him to lean on our table when speaking to us he even butted in when when we were discussing our plans for our visit to Taupo. He spoke about himself and gave us his opinion which was not wanted. He was trying to be friendly but he came across as arrogant and uncaring. Would have been a lovely meal without his interference.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    9
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Once again a great meal & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Yet another great meal at the Mole & Chicken with great service and great food this is a hidden gem. A bit out of town so well worth looking up.

Any day now there will be a new menu so we will definitely be booking our spot at the bar to sample!!!!!

Thanks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Pub Style Feed with Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ate there just one evening when visiting Taupo in Dec 2012. We arrived reasonably early and the restaurant wasn’t very busy yet. We were seated promptly and our food and drink orders were taken quickly.

We had the beef snitzel and the lamb shanks. Both very good, but the lamb shanks were exceptionally good. Service was great all night and the price reasonable for your typical pub style meal.

We’ll come back on our next visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Lamb Shanks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had the Lamb shanks (Excellent to say the least!) and the HUGE Snitzel. Service was great, we were asked for drinks, they came quickly. Food was perfectly cooked and generous portions of nicely cooked veggies and potatoes. Lamb shanks were the best I've ever had, period.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Never had a bad time here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have eaten at this establishment several times. In fact this is where we make sure we have at least one meal when we visit Taupo. the food is always excellent and the service is great. good surroundings and the staff can talk a bit of ribbing and a joke. We like to have fun when we eat out and the staff are included in that and when they take it well we enjoy ourselves. Last time we had 13 people and the service was impeccable. I gave the head waitress $100 to be divided up between the four staff that had served us. Others at the table also left a tip. they looked after us so we looked after them. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mole & Chicken also viewed

 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Mole & Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mole & Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.