We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jolly good beer selection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Good Fellows

Jolly Good Fellows
80 Lake Terrace, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
(07) 378 0457
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 107 Restaurants in Taupo
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Jolly good beer selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Ok food but very basic. The seafood chowder is packed with surimi fake crab and very thin consistency, such a fab location tho.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    71
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I wish I hadn't gone in!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

As I was staying nearby and the motel suggested this place I gave it a go. I really wish I hadn't. I nearly turned back when I saw trucks parked on the opposite side of the road ( ithought it wont be full of truckers, i was wrong it was) but I had no idea where else to go. My heart sank even further when I saw it was an English themed pub, I normally avoid theme pubs at all costs, but again I had no idea where else to go, it was getting late, it was dark and I was on my own. The tables are covered in black cloths which always makes me think they just can't be bothered cleaning properly, the whole place had that kind of old people's home wee smell about it and the food was terrible. I had the worst lamb shank I have ever had the misfortune to eat, it was all shank and no lamb, what lamb there was was tough and fatty. I didn't stay for pudding!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Apart from the congenial barman and a pleasant waiter, this place is so ordinary it's sad. Right on the lake with an opportunity to be a tourism powerhouse. Instead, pre-cooked unoriginal food loaded to the hilt with carbs. The maitre d needs some training. A bar for seedy adults and hungry carb hunters. Nice view though!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altenstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cool location to have a beer and a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed in Taupo for one night and went to this pub to get a few drinks and a meal. The location of the pub is very nice and the view over the lake is awesome. Good food, very nice selection of beers and the staff is spot on and looks after you. Really enjoyed the time there.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton NZ
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Down to earth value for money eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This English style bar and restaurant never fails to deliver on great meals and selection of UK beers. Good friendly service and prompt meal delivery. The pub is situated just out of the main food/bar area south along the lake road and has a very nice outdoor seating area with superb views over the lake. Watching the sunset on a warm summers evening with a drink in hand is magic. A very popular place and no wonder. Been a number of times over the years and never disappointed. This place gives good value for money as you would expect with pub style meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Good Fellows also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Jolly Good Fellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Good Fellows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.