We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Pint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finn MacCuhal's Irish Pub

Finn MacCuhal's Irish Pub
Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
64(07) 378 6165
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 107 restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Pint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Irish Pub with pints and Rugby on every TV. Don't know what more you would want in a pub. We went during a Sunday afternoon for lunch and some Cider, the Guinness Pie was everything we dreamed of and more, we were full for 2 days after eating that huge beast of a pie. So Good!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    8
    15
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stopped here for an early dinner on our way north and the service was friendly and efficient. Meals didn't take long and were good for a pub. I had beer battered fish and chips which had two good sized pieces of fish while my husband had a steak which was also tasty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“classic Irish Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Dark, and not very well lit, but thats what you expect of an irish pub isnt it? was in there at about 9pm on a thursday night and the back packers were just starting to roll in, good tunes and bouncers were friendly, served real Heinken Beer. not the stuff brewed in nz but brewed in holland. good times

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Guinness and a meal here has been a tradition of out visits to Taupo over the years, but after our last dinner we won't be rushing back. There was a decidedly ordinary pork meal entitled "Finn's Big Pig" - which didn't really match the two slices of pork lying over the top of a pile of mashed potato with some sliced carrots, a couple of florets of broccoli and a tablespoon (or less) of apple sauce on the side; at $27 it was poor value. The bangers and mash were exactly that, with peas and gravy but emphasis on the mash. Maybe we made some bad menu choices for this meal but it was a relatively expensive, disappointing evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni C, Owner at Finn MacCuhal's Irish Pub, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We appreciate your comments and would like to point out the Bangers and Mash served with gravy and peas includes gormet irish pork sausages from a local butcher and priced at $11.90 is generally considered great value for the cost. We are disappointed it you felt the "Big Pig" was short of your expectations and will bring this to the attention of the kitchen staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Food and service were good, steak cooked perfectly. Only down: they had to look fairly hard to find clean, unchipped glasses for our sparkling wine, but it all added to the charm. We'd definitely go back there!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finn MacCuhal's Irish Pub also viewed

 
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Finn MacCuhal's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finn MacCuhal's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.