We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Modern Fantanic Motel with Hotel Room Feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot Motor Inn to your Saves list
Ascot Motor Inn
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   70 Rifle Range Rd, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Modern Fantanic Motel with Hotel Room Feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Ascot Motor Inn as a last minute decision, on arriving we were welcomed by the host who was more than willing to accommodate our request. The room had a double and a single bed, and good kitchen facilities.

We had a fanastic sleep the beds were new and comfortable, and the mattress and linen fresh and very cosy.

The bathroom, kitchen area & bedroom had modern furnishings and felt very homely and clean. They have a seperate sky decorder in each room, so you have all sky channels available to you.

The location is good, a short walk to the centre of town. You can see the lake from the hotel and it is only a 1-2 min walk before you actually reach the water. The hosts were great at providing recommedations for eating out and ensuring that they met our requests.

I would be more than happy to stay at this establishment again, and recommend it anyone who is looking from the hotel room feel in a motel.

The only thing downside was that it was a rather warm and humid day and the room was on the warm side, but there was a good fan available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMonkey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very very helpful. Booked our boat trip for the next day for us and also our evening meal at Dixie Browns Restaurant (which was FAB). The apartment was very clean, could not fault it at all. Wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you Ascot Motor Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As with other motels in the Asure range we found this motel to be spacious,comfortable and well appointed. The standard of cleanliness was very high and the hosts were most friendly and welcoming. Views of the lake and mountains are stunning from units on the upper floor. We were lucky to have one of these after requesting it. Main shops,supermarkets,restaurants are a 10 minute walk to the town centre but there are other options closer to hand. A good place to stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibear_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Ascot with my husband and 10 month baby. We were welcomed very warmly and any requests we had (extra towels, dinner recommendations, more milk, ordering breakfast) were quickly attended to. Breakfast was brought to our apartment at the requested time and was very much enjoyed. Our baby loved swimming in the spa pool in our bathroom (minus the bubbles!) We found Ascot to be quiet, very comfortable and enjoyed a restful night there on our journey through the North Island. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nakilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great place. The service, cleanliness amazing no problems at all with it. I would recommend all my family and friends to visit and stay here.

The food was DELICIOUS. The wait staff and housekeeping were friendly and very considerate. I am surely going to visit again but this time with family...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a very good experience at the Ascot Motor Inn with a very warm welcome and friendly and helpful communication with the staff at reception. The unit was spotless with modern facilities - our unit had a large corner spa bath which was fantastic. We had plenty of warm bedding (and pillows) and the rooms remained cosy and warm during the night. It is located fairly close to town, although I admit we drove around during our stay so didn't try walking to town. I can't comment on the cooking facilities as we didn't self-cater but everything provided was of a good quality - including decent wine glasses that weren't cheap and nasty. The main living room (where the kids shared a fold-out sofa bed) had full Sky TV and our separate room also had a wall mounted TV (with reduced channels). Our non-smoking unit was downstairs and we didn't have access to the outdoor seating area out the back - I'm not sure whether that was only for smoking units? Overall noise from other units wasn't noticeable at all except at night when a guest in the room above us came home and clomped around in high heels on the bathroom tiles which was loud enough to wake us. The unit was serviced during the day so we came home to a clean room at the end of the day which was great. We will return when we come back to Taupo again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonB643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Ascot Motor Inn last Saturday 1st September with my parents. After my Dad dropped us off there I went down to reception to ask where they Restaurant was that I had booked for Fathers Day dinner. The man behind the desk was extremely helpful and gave me 4 vouchers for 1 free drink each at the Restaurant and gave great directions of how to get there. He then told me that there were a lot of events on that weekend so most tourist places will be packed, we had no idea there was anything on so it was good to be told this. Great trip and very helpful staff!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.1 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#15 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#14 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#7 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Motor Inn

Address: 70 Rifle Range Rd, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascot Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Spacious modern motel complex is situated close to the town centre and lake edge, yet in a quiet location. We offer 15 Large Cosy, warm units to suit all requirements - Corporate personnel welcome! Choices available - 2 Bedroom Apartment type family units. 1 Bedroom Executive units Queen Studio Spa Bath units, Standard Queen Studio units, plus lovely accessible Queen Studios. Some Units have additional Beds - all have very cosy bedding including electric blankets for the cooler Taupo nights. Enjoy mountain and lake vistas or relax in a private courtyard. Free on site parking 51+ Guest Select SKY TV & FREE WIFI to all units Stay 9 Nights at an ASURE Property & get $100.00 off your 10th Night Come & Enjoy a Stay at ASURE Ascot Motor Inn - Taupo 'Hospitality at its best' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ascot Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing