We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot Motor Inn

Ascot Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot Motor Inn to your Saves list
Ascot Motor Inn
70 Rifle Range Rd, Taupo 2730, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Had a great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very very helpful. Booked our boat trip for the next day for us and also our evening meal at Dixie Browns Restaurant (which was FAB). The apartment was very clean, could not fault it at all. Wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you Ascot Motor Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    29
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
31
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As with other motels in the Asure range we found this motel to be spacious,comfortable and well appointed. The standard of cleanliness was very high and the hosts were most friendly and welcoming. Views of the lake and mountains are stunning from units on the upper floor. We were lucky to have one of these after requesting it. Main shops,supermarkets,restaurants are a 10 minute walk to the town centre but there are other options closer to hand. A good place to stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Ascot with my husband and 10 month baby. We were welcomed very warmly and any requests we had (extra towels, dinner recommendations, more milk, ordering breakfast) were quickly attended to. Breakfast was brought to our apartment at the requested time and was very much enjoyed. Our baby loved swimming in the spa pool in our bathroom (minus the bubbles!) We found Ascot to be quiet, very comfortable and enjoyed a restful night there on our journey through the North Island. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great place. The service, cleanliness amazing no problems at all with it. I would recommend all my family and friends to visit and stay here.

The food was DELICIOUS. The wait staff and housekeeping were friendly and very considerate. I am surely going to visit again but this time with family...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a very good experience at the Ascot Motor Inn with a very warm welcome and friendly and helpful communication with the staff at reception. The unit was spotless with modern facilities - our unit had a large corner spa bath which was fantastic. We had plenty of warm bedding (and pillows) and the rooms remained cosy and warm during the night. It is located fairly close to town, although I admit we drove around during our stay so didn't try walking to town. I can't comment on the cooking facilities as we didn't self-cater but everything provided was of a good quality - including decent wine glasses that weren't cheap and nasty. The main living room (where the kids shared a fold-out sofa bed) had full Sky TV and our separate room also had a wall mounted TV (with reduced channels). Our non-smoking unit was downstairs and we didn't have access to the outdoor seating area out the back - I'm not sure whether that was only for smoking units? Overall noise from other units wasn't noticeable at all except at night when a guest in the room above us came home and clomped around in high heels on the bathroom tiles which was loud enough to wake us. The unit was serviced during the day so we came home to a clean room at the end of the day which was great. We will return when we come back to Taupo again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Ascot Motor Inn last Saturday 1st September with my parents. After my Dad dropped us off there I went down to reception to ask where they Restaurant was that I had booked for Fathers Day dinner. The man behind the desk was extremely helpful and gave me 4 vouchers for 1 free drink each at the Restaurant and gave great directions of how to get there. He then told me that there were a lot of events on that weekend so most tourist places will be packed, we had no idea there was anything on so it was good to be told this. Great trip and very helpful staff!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed over Christmas/New Year 2011/20112. The accommodation itself was great - well kept, new-ish and facilities were good. Price was also fair given the busy Christmas period. However our experience was significantly affected when we caused some damage and the owners were hugely unreasonable, demanding more money from us than it would have cost to repair the damage. 

It all started when a pot overheated on the stove and in a panic, I put the hot pot on the (nylon) carpet, which melted the surface. I immediately told the owners and offered to pay the insurance excess for the damage. The owners were rightly upset - but they then demanded that in addition to paying the excess, we should also pay two nights accommodation to get the carpet repaired (they said the apartment would be out of action for 2 full days). ie we should pay $750, not $250. 

We disputed that (afterall, replacing carpet would be a straightforward job, especially given the join of the carpet was nearby so it would only require replacing that part of the carpet not the entire room, and even if they were replacing it all, it would only take half a day at the very most). We also pointed out that their insurance would cover the cost of the repairs, including the cost of the room being unavailable).

When we refused to pay more than the $250 excess the owners threatened to charge our credit card for $700. They then took us to the Small Claims Court to obtain more money - refusing in essence to use their insurance to cover the costs. We finally resolved it nearly 7 months later by calling our insurance provider, AMI, who told us it was covered under our policy and they paid it for us. 

Buyer beware with Ascot Motor Inn!

Buyer beware!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Motor Inn

Address: 70 Rifle Range Rd, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modern motel situated close to the town centre and lake edge, yet in a quiet location. We have 15 modern and spacious units; 2 bedroom apartment units, 1 bedroom executive units, studio spa units and standard studio units, including access units. Enjoy mountain and lake views or relax in a private courtyard. "Hospitality at its best!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ascot Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.