We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice, well located, clean motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Northcroft Street | PO Box 837, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice, well located, clean motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I wouldn't call it a 4 or 5 star place, but a solid 3.5 Room was a great price, clean, and in a good location. Chairs on the patio would have been nice to enjoy the view across the lake. The jacuzzi and pool are nice, but there were no jets in the jacuzzi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    75
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
47
54
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Clean and modern rooms. Pool and spa looked nice, however we didn't have time to use. Nice big TV that had loads of channels - and worked! (so many TV's in hotels don't give you the channels they promise!). Was reluctant to stay here after a bad experience a few years ago with staying in the old family units out the back, however talked my family into it - and was pleased we did. The 1 bedroomed units near pool were so much nicer than the family units. (I hope you have done these up as it is often tricky to find accommodation for a family!). Hotel close to all shops and restaurants. Rooms facing lake looked fab too. Friendly staff. Will be back - as long as we can book one of these upgraded rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review, next time you hopefully have the time for a dip in the pools as well.
We are currently upgrading the older style two bedroom units at the rear of the property you mentioned.. They are being transformed into Three Bedroom units, complete with new decor and furnishings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

It was a nice room and was happy to see the air con and to find I couldn't hear any traffic noise. Well set out lounge area and good size bathroom. Comfortable beds but that didn't mean sleep for me as 2 bedroom apartment although very expensive was above a LOUNDRY which ran the whole night, so all night I heard washing machines and driers going below me, not what I was hoping for my first night away from my kids ever.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We do have a hotel policy that guest laundries are not to be used between 10pm - 7am however this was obviously not the case during your visit. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as we will now incorporate this into our nightly lock up procedures to ensure this does not happen again. Apart from the laundry noise I'm glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed in a ground floor 1-bed garden apartment, beside the pool… clean and quiet (room 42). Nice sunny deck overlooking the playground, so excellent for families with young kids. Staff were excellent and would happily fix any problem straight away. Ample parking and just a few minutes walk to town or the lake so really central. And the price was excellent for the quality on offer. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Garden rooms don't have lake views, but are great for being near the pool and playground for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks for the great review Alison, we look forward to accommodating you again next year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night. The location of the hotel is great is it is right by the lake front and only a short walk to the town centre.
Our room was a good size with a double and single bed. The view from the room was excellent as it looked right out on to Lake Taupo! The hotel also has a bar and restaurant attached. We didn't eat there but it was handy for a drink in the afternoon. There was also a large outdoor pool which looked very inviting in the hot weather, but unfortunately as we were only in Taupo for one night we did not get chance to use it.
The people at reception were very friendly. Especially when we checked in as they had no record of our booking. Luckily they'd had a cancellation and were able to give us a room. We had booked the hotel through naked bus and reception promptly called them up for us and sorted out the problem.
Overall it was a great place to stay for our short time in Taupo.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for you comments, they are greatly received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here as part of a package deal that included a breakfast for two in the morning. The room was awesome, the staff super helpful and the meal at the mouse trap in the morning was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Loved it!

The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room was clean, well laid out, with an AMAZING view from every angle of the room and cozy (room 21).


The spa in the room was just beautiful!

The restaurant had great food and service too.

Next time I will stay longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room in the front block... best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Love your review - thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 14 Northcroft Street | PO Box 837, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#22 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suncourt Hotel and Conference Centre takes pride of place on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, Qualmark rated 4 star, with magnificent uninterrupted views of stunning Lake Taupo, and Tongariro National Park. Enjoy a leisurely 3 minute stroll to the CBD boutique shopping & nightlife. With 52 accommodation rooms on offer, varying from lake studios to 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained units, you will enjoy spacious yet affordable accommodation. Suncourt is the perfect location for families, business travelers and corporate groups. Experience a conference, function or wedding at our fabulous four-room conference venue and on-site restaurant The Mousetrap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncourt Hotel And Conference Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.