We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakefront Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lakefront Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Lakefront Motor Lodge
2 - 6 Taharepa Road | PO Box 191, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

I have been staying at the Lakefront Motor Lodge for many years while on my business travels.

Ken and Kumiko are simply wonderful hosts. Very accomodating helpful and friendly. They take their business seriously and pride themselves upon making every visit to Taupo memorable.

Certainly the motel is an older style but the owners are always making improvements and updating facilities to make the Lakefront very good value for money whether you are on a business trip or on a family holiday.

The Lakefront is my monthly home away from home, which is important for a traveller who does not like being away from his Family. I highly recommened both the Motel and the owners to any prospective traveller.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    11
    11
    19
See reviews for
10
28
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

We turned up on spec seeking accommodation for 2 nights. The owner was able to offer us a different apartment for each night necessitating a move upstairs for the 2nd night. We paid $159 per night. The furnishings and fixtures are a bit dated and tired but the apartments are clean. There were good kitchen appliances. There was no view from the ground apartment but we did have our own thermally heated plunge pool. The upstairs apartment had a balcony from which you could see the lake. From both apartments you could hear traffic from the main road. The swimming pool is very nice. The motel is on the edge of Taupo but a 5 minute walk uphill finds you at the Mole and Chicken restaurant which serves good food at a reasonable price. A walk across to the green opposite the motel provides you with good views of the lake.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

We had a wonderful view of the lake and distant mountains, the spa pool was very soothing. The facilities are kept immaculate and clean, very comfortable.
Friendly and helpful service, and loved the outside pool,will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Greeting or non greeting on arrival set the scene for the 2 night stay - the workmen were outside the room working on replacing guttering - requested another room but was offered one 2 doors away which would have made no difference as the workmen were working there aswell - room was like a small wooden shed - only natural light was from the sliding doors into the room - no windows to open for ventilation - so had to keep main door open - a large empty wooden planter attached to the outside wooden wall should have been where a window should be to allow ventilation - expensive for what it is - too far from main shopping, food area - walked down but taxi back

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

The marketing materials and placements in journals such as the AA guide are an excellent use of selective photography bearing little semblance to reality.

Our room, up a narrow, external, staircase not conducive to the ease of luggage transportation, was old and tired with a pityful shower, both small in size and wholly limited in any water pressure of substance. Despite sitting above a thermal epicentre, the hot water was limited to a few minutes only and inadequate for a family to shower in succession.

A cramped kitchen may have had a majestic lake view but offered few relevant utensils and an old (though admittedly spotless) electric cooker and the ubiquitous microwave.

Some windows were not curtained allowing us to "enjoy" the early dawn but would have been more enjoyable had there been an opportunity to close out the light and allow some members of our party to sleep later.

The whole property had a an old feel further distinguished by the "large thermal therapeutic pool house" which frankly resembled to hot sheep dips - rusty and frankly daunting. There was no way any of my party was entering those "pools".

This whole motel would have probaly been acceptable if it was offered at around fifty percent of the NZD189 we were charged. At this price is is simply inadequate, aged and a considerable let down

  • Liked — A reasonable sized swimming pool
  • Disliked — A total lack of value for money - in no way representative of other motels in New Zealand in the same pricing category
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakefront62, owner at Lakefront Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2009
Thank you for your feed back. We normally do not recommend to take a First Floor Unit to people who have large suits cases, unless there are no available rooms down stairs at that time. The shower in the rooms are a standard size in NZ, and have a 40 gallon hot water tank, which is normally ample enough for 7 people to shower in succession. (Room is for 3 persons) This kitchen was maybe bit tired, but our staff keep it spotless, the size is, a good standard size for most of the people who stay at the Motel. We are still in the process of renovating all of our motel rooms. The Thermal Pool House's brown spots are not rust. They are the Mineral contents of the thermal water, iron etc.. The RATE of the 1bedroom UNIT is normally $169, but during the Christmas to New Year peak time we take minimum 3 nights or 1 night with extra charge of 12%. (25th Dec. to 5th Jan.) During the low seasons we charge $149 - $159. We try to maintain our motel with a good standard and service, so we do very much appreciated your feed back.
Thank You for this opportunity to reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

We stayed at this motel for one night this month. The room was a good size, clean and it had its own mineral bath which was quite nice.

The motels are just across the road from the lake, so the view is lovely. It it quite a way to walk to the centre of town though, so it was good to have a car. There is a little shopping complex further up the road with a pub/bar which sells lovely meals.

The main negative of the room was that the heater was on a timer. The room would be warm when we got into bed, but we were waking up freezing during the night and having to turn it back on.

  • Liked — View of the lake
  • Disliked — Heating
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakefront Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Motor Lodge

Address: 2 - 6 Taharepa Road | PO Box 191, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lakefront Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Hotel Taupo
Lakefront Motel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakefront Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.