We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Cascades

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Cascades to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Cascades
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   303 Lake Terrace | SH1, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Cascades Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Liphook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were only overnighting here but found our downstairs studio to be perfect. We appreciated the kitchenette which was better equipped than many places we stayed in. Direct access to the lake was good too. We had a lovely stroll along the walkway on a very blustery evening! Our only disappointment (and this is nothing to do with the Inn) is that places to eat close by were very limited. We'd had a busy day so did not want to self cater or drive back into town and had only the option of the hotel over the road which was mediocre at best. Still our lovely room made up for that!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi jmum,
Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed our facilities. We are lucky to have spacious rooms with kitchenettes and also be in the stunning location on the lake edge. We hope you had a safe trip home and hope that one day you may get back down under again. Wishing you all the very best for a Happy New Year. Kind regards Alister & Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    66
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
64
85
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here 1 night with my husband in an upstairs studio room. Lovely warm welcome on arrival and the room/bathroom was super clean. Comfortable bed and everything we could have wished for was available in the small kitchen area (hidden behind doors). Bed really comfortable. More than anything it was the welcome, helpfulness & cleanliness that stick in my mind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Lizq52, thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and had a good trip home. We wish you a very Happy New Year and if you are ever back our way please stop in and see us. Kindest regards Alister & Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our group of five was able to comfortably share three single beds and bathroom upstairs, and king bed on the first floor. Great cabin feel and wonderful location. Must commend them for great service. Highly recommended not just for service and location, but for the price! Will stay here next time!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Jamie R and Friends, it was a pleasure to have you all stay with us. The rooms are neat for larger groups so glad it worked for you all. Would love you to come stay again next time you are visiting Taupo. Have a great New Year, kindest regards Alister & Charlene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had room 3 at Cascades which had a nice view of the lake from the outside BBQ area. The room was spacious with 3 single beds and toilet upstairs and queen bed downstairs where there was also the main bathroom, living / dining area and small but adequate kichenette. It was very comforfable and quiet being away from the main road. Its not close to the shops & restaurants but only a couple of minutes by car away. The room was clean, modern and warm.

Room Tip: I think only the room / s right on the lake edge have a full view or the lake, the others are angled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
HI Angie, thank you for your lovely review. As you say the rooms are very quiet and spacious. Every room has a bedding different configuration and all have access directly to the lake from the complex. Hopefully you can visit again sometime. Wishing you a Happy New Year. Kind regards Alister & Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in an upstairs studio, wonderful spacious room with large bathroom and even a kitchen. Great TV and inclusions, friendly hosts who went out of their way to welcome me. Highly recommended for an extended stay for overnight.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Andrew C, thank you for staying with us and for your great review. Wishing you a Happy New Year. Kind regards Alister & Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent three days at the Cascades,which is right next to Lake Taupo. Our accommodation was clean and spacious, the beds were lovely and comfortable. The grounds were very nice and the pool looked lovely. We highly recommend The Cascades to anyone looking for a place to stay in Taupo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Chris B and Family, it was a pleasure to have you all stay with us. We are so pleased you had a great experience and do hope you can come again one day. Wishing you a very Happy New Year. Warm wishes Alister & Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Comfort Inn Cascades for 3 nights half way through our 12 day trip to NZ.
I can honestly say, that I believe the room and service and here was the best we stayed in.
We had the Large Family Suite which had two levels, queen bed downstairs with the large dining/eating area and a great kitchen. Upstairs were 3 single beds and a toilet. This was perfect for our 12 year old son. He had it all to himself!
The hotel pool and spa were great and got full use from our son. They also have bikes to hire for $5 per day, which was excellent value for rides around the lake.
Access to the lake via a walkway was a great surprise. We enjoyed the sunset over the lake on each night.
Loved the breakfast "touches" on our anniversary morning. Thank you!
Nothing to complain out here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello AnnF2407, wow what a fantastic review, thank you so much. We are so pleased you came to stay and share your anniversary at Comfort Inn Cascades. We are so lucky to have such a beautiful setting for the motel and agree the sunsets are just breathtaking. The pool and bikes are always popular and glad you made use of them. We know you had a good look around the region and thoroughly enjoy so much that is on offer here. We would love to catch up again if you are ever over our way again. Kind regards also to your husband and son. Best wishes to all from Alister and Charlene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cascades

Address: 303 Lake Terrace | SH1, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Cascades Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Taupo
#7 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#17 Family Hotel in Taupo
#23 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Cascades 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Cascades is proud to belong to the Choice Hotel Group. We accept Flybuys, Choice Privileges, Air New Zealand Airpoints, Qantas Frequent Flyer, Velocity. Stunning quiet location on the shores of Lake Taupo. Direct access to walk/cycle way (no roads to cross). Lakeside apartment for views and total rest and relaxation, studio units with some lake views, family rooms sleep up to 6 people and some have two bathrooms and 2 LCD TV's and/or a ensuite 2nd toilet. Heated outdoor pool, spa pool, Springfree trampoline, children's playhut, SKY TV, free wireless internet, cooked or continental breakfast available. Clean, warm, affordable and friendly accommodation. Small pets by arrangement. Lots of free parking for boats, trailers etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Cascades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cascades Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Cascades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.