We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Cascades

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Cascades to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cascades
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   303 Lake Terrace | SH1, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Cascades Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 72 hotels in Taupo
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here 1 night with my husband in an upstairs studio room. Lovely warm welcome on arrival and the room/bathroom was super clean. Comfortable bed and everything we could have wished for was available in the small kitchen area (hidden behind doors). Bed really comfortable. More than anything it was the welcome, helpfulness & cleanliness that stick in my mind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Lizq52, thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and had a good trip home. We wish you a very Happy New Year and if you are ever back our way please stop in and see us. Kindest regards Alister & Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    64
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
83
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our group of five was able to comfortably share three single beds and bathroom upstairs, and king bed on the first floor. Great cabin feel and wonderful location. Must commend them for great service. Highly recommended not just for service and location, but for the price! Will stay here next time!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Jamie R and Friends, it was a pleasure to have you all stay with us. The rooms are neat for larger groups so glad it worked for you all. Would love you to come stay again next time you are visiting Taupo. Have a great New Year, kindest regards Alister & Charlene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had room 3 at Cascades which had a nice view of the lake from the outside BBQ area. The room was spacious with 3 single beds and toilet upstairs and queen bed downstairs where there was also the main bathroom, living / dining area and small but adequate kichenette. It was very comforfable and quiet being away from the main road. Its not close to the shops & restaurants but only a couple of minutes by car away. The room was clean, modern and warm.

Room Tip: I think only the room / s right on the lake edge have a full view or the lake, the others are angled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
HI Angie, thank you for your lovely review. As you say the rooms are very quiet and spacious. Every room has a bedding different configuration and all have access directly to the lake from the complex. Hopefully you can visit again sometime. Wishing you a Happy New Year. Kind regards Alister & Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in an upstairs studio, wonderful spacious room with large bathroom and even a kitchen. Great TV and inclusions, friendly hosts who went out of their way to welcome me. Highly recommended for an extended stay for overnight.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Andrew C, thank you for staying with us and for your great review. Wishing you a Happy New Year. Kind regards Alister & Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent three days at the Cascades,which is right next to Lake Taupo. Our accommodation was clean and spacious, the beds were lovely and comfortable. The grounds were very nice and the pool looked lovely. We highly recommend The Cascades to anyone looking for a place to stay in Taupo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Chris B and Family, it was a pleasure to have you all stay with us. We are so pleased you had a great experience and do hope you can come again one day. Wishing you a very Happy New Year. Warm wishes Alister & Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Comfort Inn Cascades for 3 nights half way through our 12 day trip to NZ.
I can honestly say, that I believe the room and service and here was the best we stayed in.
We had the Large Family Suite which had two levels, queen bed downstairs with the large dining/eating area and a great kitchen. Upstairs were 3 single beds and a toilet. This was perfect for our 12 year old son. He had it all to himself!
The hotel pool and spa were great and got full use from our son. They also have bikes to hire for $5 per day, which was excellent value for rides around the lake.
Access to the lake via a walkway was a great surprise. We enjoyed the sunset over the lake on each night.
Loved the breakfast "touches" on our anniversary morning. Thank you!
Nothing to complain out here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello AnnF2407, wow what a fantastic review, thank you so much. We are so pleased you came to stay and share your anniversary at Comfort Inn Cascades. We are so lucky to have such a beautiful setting for the motel and agree the sunsets are just breathtaking. The pool and bikes are always popular and glad you made use of them. We know you had a good look around the region and thoroughly enjoy so much that is on offer here. We would love to catch up again if you are ever over our way again. Kind regards also to your husband and son. Best wishes to all from Alister and Charlene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very well appointed motel. Very friendly operators who obviously take pride in good service.
Suits us well as a young family and kids love it. Compact and clean units with 'challenging' stairs.
We use this as our favourite Taupo stop over. Kids love the pool!

Room Tip: If you have kids who are old enough, rooms opening onto pool are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasLodge, Owner at Comfort Inn Cascades, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi Viv M, thank you so much for posting the great review. We always enjoy seeing our regular guests and hope with each visit you feel more and more at home. Some of the stairs can be a bit steep but generally managed by little feet very well. We have stair gates which can be used if parents are a bit anxious about the stairs, peace of mind in the night also in case the children get up. The poolside rooms make for an easy relaxing holiday for parents. Always good to see you when you can get away. Warm regards Alister & Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cascades

Address: 303 Lake Terrace | SH1, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Cascades Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#8 Business Hotel in Taupo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#10 Family Hotel in Taupo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Cascades 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Cascades is proud to belong to the Choice Hotel Group. We accept Flybuys, Choice Privileges, Air New Zealand Airpoints, Qantas Frequent Flyer, Velocity. Stunning quiet location on the shores of Lake Taupo. Direct access to walk/cycle way (no roads to cross). Lakeside apartment for views and total rest and relaxation, studio units with some lake views, family rooms sleep up to 6 people and some have two bathrooms and 2 LCD TV's and/or a ensuite 2nd toilet. Heated outdoor pool, spa pool, Springfree trampoline, children's playhut, SKY TV, free wireless internet, cooked or continental breakfast available. Clean, warm, affordable and friendly accommodation. Small pets by arrangement. Lots of free parking for boats, trailers etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Cascades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cascades Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Cascades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.