We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Lake Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I did a review on this motel some time ago when I was disappointed, feeling it was getting tired among other things. However, I stayed again recently and will certainly return as often as I am in Taupo. Everything was spotless. The bedding lovely and clean (as it should be but I sometimes wonder about duvet covers/bedspreads) not in this instance, towels soft & plenty of soap, tissues etc. I think I complained about cigarette butts in the courtyard garden last time - in spite of there being a sand container, but not this time, even that was spotless. As others have said, its a good location,within strolling distance of the town centre. As someone else mentioned, very pleasant hosts too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    44
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
76
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were very happy with all aspects of our short stay in the Alpine Lake. Lovely, spacious suite, very stylish decor and a spa bath with a viewing window so you can watch TV from the bath! Brilliant! The whole Lodge is kelp meticulously clean and well-maintained, the staff are nice & welcoming, breakfast can be delivered to your room which is a nice touch. The walk into the town centre is do-able and all on the flat so not too taxing even in the heat! Would recommend this accommodation highly.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have views of the lake. If you want outdoor space, ask for ground floor as upper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

When my wife & I arrived into Taupo, we looked for accommodation based solely on Tripadvisor and Wotif. This motel is a very nice place to stay, with friendly hosts and a good location which allows a pleasant stroll to the main town centre. We stayed downstairs, in a room with a king bed, flat-screen TV with digital channels, spa bath, shower and kitchen facilities. The courtyard outside is private (except to the upstairs guests) and is a nice place to enjoy the sunshine. Unfortunately there are no views from the rooms, but that's good motivation to get out and explore Taupo up-close.
All in all, this room was great value for money, and was just modern enough to still make you feel like you're paying for a more expensive room. There's free wireless broadband, and the air conditioning unit was great at keeping the room pleasently cool in summer. The spa bath was great, and better than a lot of other baths you'll find in competing hotels. We would happily stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from Taupo and stayed once again at Alpine Lake Motor Lodge. This place was just as excellent as the first time we stayed. The window spa studio is an awesome choice, it has plenty of room, the bed is so comfy, the kitchenette has everything you need,the studio was spotlessly clean, and the spa bath was fabulous. The hosts were very helpful and friendly as usual and we would not hesitate to recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had another stay at this motel for work early in the new year. As it has been in the past, very nice rooms, with good facilities. Got room 5 which is the disabled room. Huge shower with epic water pressure.
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in the Alpine Lake Motor Lodge as our accommodation in Napier was so worse that we have run away.
As written in the other reviews the room was in all perfect. We stayed in a suite with a separate bedroom and a jacuzzi in the bathroom. On top there was even a reasonable size garden.
Taupo centre is on a short walk distance and here you find all the shops and restaurants.
The lake is even nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Me and 4 friends stayed in the Alpine Lake Motor Lodge on 21/12/2012 for two nights and it was great. The staff couldn't do enough to help you and the rooms were clean, modern and to a really high standard. I would recommend this place to anyone and I would recommend visiting Taupo if your in NZ it has loads to offer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Lake Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Address: 141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#26 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lake Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's newest motel is ideally located just a few minutes walk to restaurants, the town centre and lakefront. Featuring 20 spacious modern units. A variety of room styles and facilities are on offer which include spa baths, kitchens, BBQs and private courtyards. All units have unlimited free ultrafast broadband WiFi access, Sky Digital TV (5 channels) and DVD players. A large, free off street car park is available for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpine Lake Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lake Motor Hotel Taupo
Alpine Lake Hotel
Alpine Lake Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Lake Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.