We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Alpine Lake Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 71 hotels in Taupo
Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you are not fussed about a view, then you'll be suitably impressed. We took the downstairs room w/ small courtyard, very nice kitchenette with all the amenties, including a small dinning area.
Everything sparkled, exceptionally clean. A bit of a walk to the town centre, try the English pub next to the lake, probably one of the better establishments. Sundays are boring, most eateries are closed or don't open until dinner, BYO corkage is outrageos, tourist towns are notorious for that. Buy your grog at the Pack n Save or Countdown, better selection and good value, don't be lazy, cook, the restaurants are not that great, you will be disappointed. Kiwi cuisine in nothing to write home about, very similar to Australia not so long ago.

Room Tip: Apparently there is only one two bdrm apt that has a view of the lake, book ahead, I'm sure that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    41
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
69
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in this lodge and thought it was good value for money. Even though I arrived very early I could straight away get into my room. The room was spacious with nice little terrace outside with enough privacy. Good sleeping quality and all furniture looked new or very well maintained. The kitchen facilities are great and all you need is there and it is all very clean. The bathroom is big and very convenient. There was a proper internet connection in the rooms and the location of the lodge was good, but you will need your car to get around to the attraction sites. I highly recommend this lodge and would book this again for a next visit without any hesitation; you can not go wrong here in any way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had a great stay last Saturday at this near new motel. The price was very reasonable for Taupo especially considering we had a spa bath, kitchen, free WIFI and were able to watch complimentary DVD's. Our unit was gorgeous and I really appreciated the spotless triple sheeting on the beds which I much prefer over scruffy bedspreads that are found still in many older motels.The motel was very busy so obviously a popular place to stay. We were able to walk to everything we wanted. Highly recommended and will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had 2 nights in this motel in a ground floor room. Room was spotless, very comfy big bed. Bathroom had shower and spa bath. Kitchen well equipped. Ground floor rooms have a small patio area with table and chairs which is very private. Would stay again. Free wifi a bonus. Flat 10 minute easy walk into town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Read trip advisor so this venue sounded good. Paid more than any other hotel or motel so expected good. Arrived at 1.30pm and a big group of men were standing outside the units around the cars drinking and swearing. There were about 20 of this group continiung all afternoon we went out at 6pm came back about 7.30 and they were still drinking, swearing outside the rooms. This continued most of the night, they presumably went to a night club about midnight and then it started off much worse at 4 am but with brawling and continuing swearing. If management sleep on the premises what happened? This motel also adjoins the Bella
Vista so there would have been many tourists affected. We arrived here after a long mountainous drive from hastings in rain and heavy fog so looked forward to a peaceful night.

Room Tip: Never stay here on a saturday night especially if you see a big group of men.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here with a girls Football team and it was excellent. The owners were super friendly and helpful. We did most of our cooking on the BBQ which was so handy for us. The rooms were immaculate. I would recommend this property to anyone whether you are by yourself, as a couple or family, or in a group

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

After running away from the horror of another Taupo motor lodge, the Alpine Lake Motor Lodge was sweet sweet relief. We were warmly greeted by the lovely and caring caretaker, with a jug of milk to start us off. We took the 1 bedroom apartment and it had everything we needed. The place was warm dry and immaculate. The interior decor was very modern, trendy and chic. A small courtyard in the back with a bbq. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom and kitchenette were spotless. Generous amount of free WiFi for a short stay too..... I would definitely recommend this place and would happily go back next time we're in Taupo.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have the courtyard and bbq.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Lake Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Address: 141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lake Motor Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's newest motel and Conference Centre is ideally located just a few minutes walk to restaurants, Town Centre and lake. It features 19 spacious luxury units, all non-smoking and air-conditioned. Spa baths. Kitchens.Ten open onto private outdoor courtyards and all have unlimited free broadband access, Sky Digital TV and DVD players. In addition there is a complimentary Email cafe for guests. There is easy off street parking and breakfasts are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Alpine Lake Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lake Motor Hotel Taupo
Alpine Lake Hotel
Alpine Lake Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Lake Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.