We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Colonial Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   134 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
arundel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good clean accommodation ,spa bath in room ,good size very helpful and friendly manager stunning location opposite the lake lovely views ,hard to fault sky t.v in the room free Wi-Fi fresh milk supplied

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Colonial Lodge Motel Revisited. It has been slightly more than a year since we stayed in the motel. We had such a fantastic time that we decided to re visit. We were not disappointed, the place has undergone a lot of improvement, our spacious room has been newly painted and lovely wall decorative features added. It is a great place to unwind,smell the roses, watch the swans diving for food, listen to the lapping of the waves in the beautiful lake. We also drove to Napier and hastings to visit the orchards. We will certainly return.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Colonial lodge Motel . I was driving along the lake terrace and went in and asked if I could be shown the rooms. what a great surprise Gone were the pokie little units i have previously stayed at and hello a nice big roomy room plenty of room to spread out and a BATH to boot which so many units dont have. and I chose a room with cooking facilities which suited me down to the ground but town is a 5 min walk away if I chose to dine in town. I would certainly recommend this Motel to anyone and everyone. It was very clean well presented and very roomy and I appreciated the fact they were doing some upgrades but I was more than happy. I reallyy thought the owners were extremly pleasant and very kind telling me all the good places to go and visit. When I come back it will be this Motel. Thanks for a very enjoyable stay (sorry I have forgotton your names but thanks ):)

Room Tip: all the rooms are off the road so any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We booked 3 weeks in advance , they were supposed to take$30.00 deposit but took $300.00 !! They could not explain why when we checked in on the Friday and informed them that a phone call would have cleared it up.The room was old and dated with mould on the bath and shower , cracked tiles and worn out towels. On Sunday morning the milk and sugar was not replenished and the book says the office is manned during office hours only. When we asked them about it , they threw us out !!! WHATEVER HAPPENED TO CUSTOMER SERVICE ? 0/10

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel B, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Hi Visitor 999

Actually you are the 1883 rd visitor to the property since we recently bought it.

We appreciate constructive comments from Guests.

If you had noticed, you would have seen that the property is undergoing renovations especially in the bathrooms.The interior painting has been completed, Tiles, Artwork and Furnishings have been delivered. It all takes time and as we are basically newish in this property we cannot finish everything in one day, week or month.

Many returning guests have complimented us on what we have achieved in such a short period of time, as you have seen with your two visits to our Web Testimonials page since your departure. It should also be noted that in your recent phone call you also mentioned of how you have seen our 10 out of 10 and 92% achieved with guests through AOT's. Your friends enjoyed their stay with us and commented as such on their departure.

We have noted that you mentioned you discovered the error in the Deposit prior to your arrival. A simple phone call from you could have rectified this matter and we could have also then been given the correct credit card for the booking. Our staff balanced to the Eftpos Machine each day so to them there was no error. It was a human error that we are sure your company also experiences, knowing the type of industry you are in.

We greet Guest cordially, which is part of our customer service.
The only answer received from that greeting was that the wrong deposit had been taken and as such we had "mucked up your accounts". It appears the Credit Card you entered on your Internet Booking was a Company Credit Card and not meant to be used for the booking.

Like all Motels, we have the right to Reserve Funds on a Credit/Debit Card up to 7 Days prior to arrival. It is clearly stated on the confirmation letter and all Booking Agencies web sites. If this validation is not accepted by the credit card company we have the right to cancel the booking.

An apology was made to you for the operator error and you were offered a refund on that credit card so that you could pay with another one but you declined and said to leave it. You also mentioned you would come to reception and pay the balance (different figures to your message above). You never came to the office during your whole stay. No monies were illegally taken form your credit card as we were accused of in your phone cal prior to your above messagel.

On Check Out you were again greeted with our Customer Service of a greeting. No answer other than your comment that you "would never be returning to this place again". Other comments were made with regards to "Tea and Coffee" and "Tired and Old" that were accepted as we do not argue with guests.

It was mentioned to you that there are numbers in the compendium that you could call if you had a problem or required anything. You denied this but admitted that "your husband must not have read that page" after showing it to you. That is all part of our Customer Service.

We do not argue with guests so your comments about the room being "Old and Tired were accepted. You were also not "thrown out" as stated in your phone call. Due to this complaint, photographs were requested by the management to show the maintenance staff doing the upgrades. We have informed you privately as to the dirty state of the room as you had left it. Rubbish and half eaten food everywhere except the rubbish bins. Used coffee and tea packets, of our brand, were left on the kitchen bench contrary of you complaint of having none.

After your phone call to us with further accusations and threats, we responded, by email to you, and note your negative reply. We note that your above message was posted after that phone call.

Customer Service is always about two way communication as experienced with our return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is the fourth time my wife and I have visited Taupo. Each time we stay at the Colonial Lodge Motel. Why don't we try somewhere else? Well when you are onto good thing stick to it. The reception manager Anthony speaks chinese so he and my wife hit off and I just leave them. Noel the manager wonderful guy they treat us like family. You don't get that kind of service anywhere.

Hey don't get me wrong the room are not 5 star. But for value for money why go anywhere else. For us it is just great to ring them up and book over the phone. Beats using the booking agencies where you have got all these conditions and terms to follow and they say "We Have Special rates". I just call and Anthony says "hi we have your credit card of file"..... Room booked. 30 Seconds. And we have always been given a good price. To Anthony and Noel thanks again and see you guys next time.. cheers marek

Room Tip: We have stayed in 4 rooms different rooms and they were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper_Taupo, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi.

Many thanks for your review. We are now getting quite a few regulars that appreciate our property and our service and guest support. Loyalty always has it rewards in good and bad times.

As you have seen, the property has changed considerably from your first visit. We intend to keep improving what we are doing.

We don't mind the work needed to upkeep the gardens and we actually enjoy it. Spring bulbs have been planted so we expect a nice display come the warmer weather.

The winter gardens have been praised by overseas visitors, locals and the local Nursery Manager for our design anddisplay of bright winter colour. The Wishing Well Garden is our next project. You can see the start of it in our Photos on this site.

Once again, our thanks for your support and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

"they say don't judge a book by its cover".. at first i thought i would not have a good experience of this motel by judging it from the front.. but i was wrong.. the owner was such a sweet guy. he showed us the room and it just made us feel at home.. you have a beautiful view of lake taupo which is just across the road. and the facility was excellent, like a mini heaven on earth.. updated facilities eg kitchen n the bathroom, extremely comfortable bed.. was worth spending the night there after a bad experience in wellington.

Room Tip: room on the first floor at the front was lovely, u get to see everything :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi Sam

Thank you for your review.
Yes, we are a Hidden Treasure by the Lake as our return guests comment.

Our Deluxe Spa Suites and Apartments on the Top Floor offer views from the balcony tables and chairs. Nice to sit and watch the activities on the lake in summer and catch the winter sun during winter. Yet they are very quiet with minimal road noises and still relaxing.

We have made further changes since your stay. We do listen to constructive comments made by our return guests and as time and funds permit we implement our plans.

The Front Fence has been cut down to about 30% of its original height. We have put in Lamp Posts with Coach Lamps on each post to continue with our Colonial Theme.

The Hedge has been removed and the Bush Garden in the driveway taken out. The whole front has had a Landscape change that opens the front with even better views of the lake. We now have beautiful Floral Gardens with a Waterfall Feature in the Driveway and by the Stairwell going up to the top floor. The BBQ area has been moved and improved again giving better access to the property and the views.

Guests have comments that we are the only motel on the beachfront that has beautiful floral gardens and not just rocks, flax or box trees. Takes some maintenance but getting the great comments from our guests is the reward we achieve.

Comments like yours make us strive to maintain our standards. We hope to see you again and maybe for a longer stay.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place would have been ok if it weren't for the front of house staff. They were rude and unhelpful.
We were given about one and a half toilet paper rolls for the 2 night stay, which meant that we ran out on the first night just after the reception closed leaving us wiping with hands for a good 10ish hours.. Thank god they gave us soap! In the morning we rushed over to get some more when they opened and they gave us a whole one more roll! So generous..

To top it all off, we were advised about halfway through our stay when someone had stolen our carpark that we did not actually have a dedicated car park and that you had to pay an additional $50 a night for that! What a rip off!

I was really disappointed with this place, it was unpleasant, and made us want to not come back during the day. The room was far too small for a family of 4 even though we were charged extra for more people. It really put a negative spin on the holiday, I would never come back!

For people looking in taupo, there are much better options elsewhere! Save your money and your holiday and don't make my mistake!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello Madam

Thank you for the Review. We always appreciate honest and/or constructive reviews.

As per our website, the One Bedroom apartment you stayed in has 1 Queen Bed in the Bedroom and two Single Beds in the Living Room. It also has a Kitchen, large Bathroom with a Spa Bath and also a Dining Table and chairs as well as a lounge and coffee table. It can sleep up to 5 if a Family wish to use the Fold Out Sofabed. Our Spa Suites and Apartments are much larger than the standard sold in the region.

Our Website prices are for 4 Guests in an Apartment and 2 in a Studio Spa. You did not pay any extra for your son and daughter as you are misleading the reading audience.

Other properties in the area quote a price for two Guests and then add up to $20.00 per extra Guest sharing in that Apartment or Studio. You had already obtained a sizable discount of 15% off the Rack Rate due to your direct booking and two day stay.

The Friday you arrived we were open until midnight awaiting some late arrivals. We are available by phone, as it states in the compendium and as we state when you arrive, " If there is anything you need please call us". We were re-opened again at 7.30 am so not hours as you state.

We cannot see anything relating to your approach for more toilet rolls, according to the Daily Log, office video camera and phone log. Your apartment was serviced in the morning as is usually carried out when guest leaves for their days outing.

When a Guest Departs, toilet rolls are replaced. We ensure that there is always a spare full roll (400 sheets) on the back of the toilet. During a Daily Service, if a toilet roll is half used it is replaced with a full one and the half used roll is used for the staff in toilets and laundry.

On arrival, when you asked where you could park your car, you were informed that you could park in any area that had white lines as we do not have reserved parking. We showed those white line places and you took the closest one. Your car was parked in front your apartment and we noticed the day that you arrived back and complained that "somebody had Stolen your Car Park" you actually parked closer, right next to the front door of your apartment and you were not inconvenienced in any way. You were not informed "halfway through your stay" that you did not have a dedicated car spot.

When you came back from your days outing, and entered our office, you were told again that we do not employ car park attendants and if we did you would have to pay extra for that service.

We hope you received the goods you left behind that our staff contacted you about. They took their time to call you about the left goods and also went out of their way to travel to town to post back to you at no additional cost. Other properties charge a Minimum Fee for sending left goods. The rejection of your credit card 3 times by your bank did not help with the situation either.

We wish you well when looking for a One Bedroom Apartment in the area on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Lodge Motel

Address: 134 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonial Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located opposite the main swimming beach just 1.3 Klms, a short pleasant stroll along the shores of beautiful Lake Taupo, to the main Shopping Centre, Restaurants and Vibrant Night Life. Our spacious Spa Studios, Family Studios, One Bedroom and Family Apartments are tastefully decorated and furnished for your comfort. Our Studios and Apartments are quiet, without any road noises, making them suitable for Corporate or Free Independent Travellers wishing to have a quiet nights rest. They have been built to capture the warm Sun in Winter and to keep cool during the Summer months. The main Swimming beach is opposite our front door and, from our BBQ Area and Picnic Tables, there are wonderful views of the 3 Volcanoes and all the splendour of the lake with yachts sailing, fishing boats and water sports. Come alone, with your partner, bring your family or friends and request an interconnecting room. Stay for a night or for a week. Stay here while on a Business Trip or for Pleasure and Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Colonial Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.