We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sixth visit...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wairakei Resort Taupo

Save Saved
You added Wairakei Resort Taupo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 1, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 71 hotels in Taupo
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sixth visit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for Christmas 2012 and there famous Christmas Lunch...

Thank you we had a great time...

The resort has a beautiful location and wonderful grounds. But some parts are getting a little tired and need upgrading..
This is a large resort and designed for large groups so can be quite busy and noisy on some of my visits.

Christmas lunch was all it was made out to be food wise.. The decorations could have done with a bit more effort though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    129
    56
    12
    6
See reviews for
89
90
6
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The setting and the location of this hotel & conference centre is great. I've stayed here plenty of times on the past and loved it but this time it was a big disappointment. $179 for two was not a bad price but it did not turn out to be value for money. room was pokey & carpets in room & hallways very worn & shabby. we were located in a room quite some distance from the facilities in at first appeared to be an older wind. Entry to rooms was via a service area! Room service menu was extremely limited, couldn't get just a toasted sandwich, had to have a full meal. Breakfast was very hum drum & institutional like. We won't be back, there are so many other options in Taupo.

Room Tip: Not sure they have good rooms. But ask for a new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We totally enjoyed our time at Bayview Wairakei Resort. The room was nice and clean and the staff very friendly and accommodating. It was excellent to have a laundry in the room.

The only small mishap we had (but it was not too much of a drama) was that the cleaning staff were a little ahead, and actually turned up to clean the room before we had checked out.

The gym was a good size and the equipment well looked after.

Would thoroughly recommend Bayview Wairakei to anyone planning on travelling to Taupo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

that is a beautiful place to stay.last week i been there i was very impressed to see the 19 hole golf course really nice and natural pool and 24 hour room service.bar is very huge and had a lot of different option for cocktails and wines.really good walkways near hotel and between huka falls .food are really nice not too much complication .easy and small menu.

Room Tip: villas next to heritage conference room are really spacious and close to natural pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Super location for conferences with all the facilities needed plus good food, relaxing surroundings, good gym, heated pools, helpful staff. Lots of rooms for workshops and small groups, also large conference room for formal occasions.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main block have been refurbished and look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This place is fine so long as you don't mind forking out $25 for a 7 min drive to Taupo (taxi is the only option). We stayed there last weekend for a massive annual bike race around the lake - apparently 10,000 people descend on the area for this one event so you need to book accommodation in advance. The hotel knew about this event yet made no effort to put on a shuttle to get you to Taupo (my partner took the vehicle at 6.45am to take part in the race - I didnt need to be there til midday). It's possible they don't normally do shuttles (not sure?) but given the magnitude of the weekend they could have this time round - if it were a cheap place I'd understand but given not cheap and supposedly 4 star I expected a better level of service. Next year we'll book in Taupo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I had 3 nights here for a conference in October. Have only positive things to say about the resort and we would certainly stay here again when in Taupo.
We arrived early due to the conference and they were able to get us into our room by midday which was much appreciated.
We had a ground floor room at the end of a block overlooking a beautiful lawn area and toward the pool. The room doors opened out onto the lawn and there was patio furniture to enjoy the outdoor area. Inside the room was modern and very clean with plenty of space to move around. Good bed (on the soft side) and bathroom had all you needed. I liked the shower with the glass partition and no door. Servicing each day was excellent.
The room felt very private, we did not hear other guests at all.
My husband enjoyed good coffee and cake at the restaurant, but otherwise we didn’t eat at the resort. Yes it is a short drive into town, so may not be the best location without a car. Having said that I would suggest a car to anyone staying in Taupo to see all that the area has to offer.
Great hotel, wonderful grounds, helpful staff and a great price. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Address: State Highway 1, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Taupo
#17 Family Hotel in Taupo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wairakei Resort Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.