We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Resort Setting with every amenity available” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wairakei Resort Taupo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wairakei Resort Taupo to your Saves list
Wairakei Resort Taupo
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 1, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
South Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stunning Resort Setting with every amenity available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

This accommodation is more conveniently located to Huka Falls and thrill seeking activities than it is to the business district of Taupo. You really need a few days to do this place justice and it is ideal for those who like a hit of tennis, the swing of the clubs or any other activity for that matter. It is all here; swimming pool, sauna, gym, tennis court and golf course over the road. A restaurant in the main complex which along with lunch and dinner is also the place to go for buffet breakfast, plus a cafe you certainly don’t need to rely on a the trip into town. We really liked the character and style of the weatherboard buildings as we drove in but were a little surprised that it was really just a facade and reverted to a typical hotel style inside. The rooms were pleasantly decorated and a decent size so this is by no way a complaint. Service at reception was efficient and pleasant. All in all another great recommendation from Cam of Self Drive Holidays NZ.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    154
    68
    15
    8
See reviews for
113
104
8
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

The units we had were fairly dated and in need of new paint, carpet, drapes, tiles..... Housekeeping lacked attention to detail, staff seemed rather distracted & the flickman needs to visit. It was kind of amusing when two cockroaches crawled out of the toaster when we first used it. Spent a fair amount of time swotting big roaches in the unit of an evening. Eat out as the restuarant was overpriced for service, varity and quality. We are pleased we did not spend to much time at the resort and went touring around Taupo/Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We came here as the initial stop on our NZ holiday. It was a decision on impulse but what a good one. Beds were wonderful, room magnificent and we even had a balcony. We loved this place. It really was relaxing, friendly and wonderful.
The only thing we can hold against this hotel is the exorbitant price of internet that they are charging here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Lovely room, peaceful and quiet. could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed four nights. Ok, it's not really a volcano, but it is a genuine geothermal vent gently emitting steam. We found another one deeper back in the grounds, as well as a fenced off stream that runs at about 80C!
Room was big, light and clean. Breakfast buffet was fine. We also ate 2 very nice evening meals in the restaurant.
Cheerful, helpful staff.
Golf Course.
BP station opposite with a cafe.
Amazing value at less than £50 per person per night.
Internet is expensive but there are Internet Cafes in Taupo

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Drove up form Wellington looking forward to our stay. We had reserved a villa.

The location is great - the villa turned out to be grubby (do not know when it last had a good clean) with roaches and generally dated and tatty

We had some problems with equipment not working, and the service from the maintenance staff was superb. The same sadly was not our experience with the front desk or restaurant staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

My mother organised a large family group to stay here for her 70th birthday and it was a fantastic break. There was lots to do (swimming, tennis, golf) but I would suggest taking your own gear as the quality of equipment wasn't great and you had to pay to hire clubs - but at least the facilities are there. My husband and I stayed in the hotel style rooms and it was spacious, clean and comfortable. The family villas are average and need of an upgrade but still has everything you need and comfortable. It is a short drive to many activities if you want to leave the resort. I was impressed that the staff even organised a birthday cake and were very accomodating with my requests - well done!
A great family holiday and we'll be back!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Address: State Highway 1, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Taupo
#9 Family Hotel in Taupo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#27 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wairakei Resort Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.