We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place. Decent stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tiki Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tiki Lodge to your Saves list
Tiki Lodge
104 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Friendly place. Decent stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I stayed at this hotel & backpackers-type hostel July 6-8 2009.
I was in a private single room (room B) that had 2 beds and its own kitchenette area. Rooms A & B are both on the ground floor and share a handicap-accessible bathroom. Behind those rooms there was an outside area with tables & chairs.
The owners were friendly & helpful and juggled both the lobby desk and their toddlers who were occasionally loud and not well-behaved. (And any noise on the ground floor unfortunately echoed quite a bit.) They also stored my bags while I waited for my afternoon bus departure.
Upstairs is where the shared kitchen, dorm-like bedrooms, showers/toilets are. There’s a nice lounge and tables where you can eat. There’s also a balcony where you can sit outside (mostly used my the smokers). There are pay-per-use computers and wi-fi (pay) access. There’s also a pay laundry room with washer & dryer.
The Tiki Lodge isn’t very close to the Intercity/Newmans bus station though I still did the 20 minute walk. Taupo is a town that specializes in recreational/high-adrenaline activities. Walking by the beautiful lake was among the activities to do in the small town.
Yes, I’d recommend this place. I appreciated the reliable/helpful email communication before my arrival and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2009
Tiki Lodge offers free pick up and drop off to any buses - however some people do prefer to walk.
We ARE a family run business, we have ONE small toddler and she lives here also. She's generally quiet and well behaved (although sometimes gets up to mischief). It's a bit unfair to comment on a childs' behaviour considering that she could have simply fallen over, hurt herself or could have been suffering the effects of a nasty 'cold'. Either of these would cause an uproar with a toddler. It would have been better to just mention the noise rather than judge whether the "behaviour" was naughty or not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
19
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights while in Taupo recently. I think it's the best hostel in Taupo, very clean, greta location, and well-run by the couple that own it. stayed in 6 bunk room, female dorm. beds were comfy, toilets/showers were generally clean and they have hairdryers! kitchen/common area is great. they have a great view of the mts and lake in background, and an outdoor patio. everything is on the 2nd floor. The couple that run it are really great. My friend dropped an earring into the sink and the owner was kind enough to get it out of the pipe for her. hostel is close to town center. would definitely recommend tiki lodge if you are going to taupo!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Many thanks for the comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Stayed for a night in Jan 2009. Supposed to be in a double room but they allocated a room with 6 beds all to ourselves which was nice!! Hostel is new (i think) or definitely newly refurbished. Helpful receptionist and great location. About 3 mins walk from town and all the bars!! Would definitely recommend!

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. The room you described was one of our family ensuite rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

Fantastic place to stay with stunning views of the Lake and mountains. Our room was very clean and spacious (unlike some other places where you can't even swing a cat!!). The bathroom and kitchen facilities are clean and modern - with plenty of room to move about and there was a nice relaxing lounge with a cosy fireplace. The reception staff/manager were awesome helping us book our activities and went out of their way to make sure our stay was a pleasant one. There was undercover parking available too (which was a bonus) and we could walk to town (only 2 minutes walk). The owners are new and are very friendly and helpful - I will definitely recommend this hostel to my friends....

  • Liked — All of it - awesome service, great views and realxing place to stay
  • Disliked — having to leave!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback - glad you enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

This hostel was modern and clean, with good kitchen/bathroom facilities, good location etc.
Most of the staff seemed nice but one was very rude and un-accommodating. She burst into our locked room several times, sometimes without knocking. Other guests we spoke to had also been intimidated by this same woman who threatened to steal their car keys (?).

  • Liked — Cleanlines, Tidiness, location, facilities
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2009
Rest assured - this was the typical behaviour of the Manager that the previous owner had in place... we still receive comments about how different the hostel is now!!! Under New Management.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

We stayed at the tiki lodge for two nights. The hostel is okay - it's clean, and the location is alright (a block from downtown Taupo). It doesn't really have any character or social scene - so if you're looking for a good time, look elsewhere. The only complaint I have is that the woman at the front desk (owner maybe?) was very rude to me whenever I had a question. I heard the same complaint from other travelers.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Tiki Lodge has since come under new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Lodge

Address: 104 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiki Lodge is a modern, friendly, family-run, backpacker lodge located in Taupo, New Zealand.Closest hostel to the beach access for swimming. Enjoy spectacular views over Lake Taupo to the Central Plateau Mountains and witness amazing sunsets from our front deck and communal areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Tiki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiki Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.