We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Taupo Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Taupo Motor Inn to your Saves list
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   33 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 2730, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Breakfast!
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I visited on 1/12/12 touring NZ. The room was huge, beautiful balcony with a partial view of the lake, big bathroom with a jacuzzi and a kithchen area with all mod cons. very modern and spotless throughout. The owners could not have been more helpful, even with handling luggage. Rellay enjoyed it.
Andy & Linda Reid

Room Tip: go upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    97
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
62
132
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were return customers to this establishment but standards have slipped since the last visit 7 years ago and this will absolutely be the last time. The reasons are as follows;
1) BAD SERVICE AND SYSTEMS-We had prepaid for our room and phone booked under a friend's name for a 2nd room 7 months prior. When we called them the morning before we left to ensure all was in order we were told that they didn't have a record of the friends booking and the manager was quiet abrupt and aggressive in her assertions that we had not done this!!. In fact all of of dealings on the phone and in person with this woman were unpleasant.
Due to the managers poor communication skills she then booked an extra room for the friends (not the same type as had previously been booked) and used my details- I expressly asked her at the time to put it in their names and NOT use my card but she said that it was easier to put it under my name (she sounded rushed and uninterested). Despite a later call from the friends they did not take their details nor confirm the booking with them - they have consequently made a false and unauthorized charge to my credit card. She also said that the owner would call us to discuss further and we have not heard from him at all they just went ahead and charged me. Watch this space as we are taking this dispute all of the way.
2) MISLEADING ADVERTISING - it says Free Wireless- they give you a $10 voucher with a code and then say you need to pay after that.
Also it says SKY TV but there is NO MOVIE channel - you only get Discovery and a sports channel plus the usual Freeview channels.
3) NO TOILETRIES!!! these guys are miserable- there are 2 soap dispensers (one in the shower and one next to the basin. We stayed in the executive spa suite so nothing at all for the spa- we hadn't brought anything with us so had to resort to putting liquid soap into a bowl and taking it to the spa bath.
4) Complimentary cooked breakfast - when we booked our accommodation a cooked breakfast was included in the price- WE RECEIVED NO BREAKFAST ON THE LAST MORNING WE WERE THERE, we tried to call reception 5 times that morning and no-one answered- guess what when we made the last call we went straight to reception and the manager was sitting there. Her response to this was oh well we stopped doing breakfast on week days ages ago!!!!!!
No-one had bothered to tell us when we checked in or email us when they changed their policy- (REMEMBER this had been prepaid for). We had to say that we would show her the booking on the computer before she said that they would offer us a refund (which they have actually only deducted off the unauthorized room charge) so we didn't actually get any money back.
In summary these people do not give a damn about customer service if you are looking for a pleasant stay in Taupo then avoid this place, they are not that cheap and they will skimp on everything. The breakfasts that we did have included the smallest sausage I have seen in my life- you will not get a juice/drink with this meal either.
NB Be aware that they have a scheduling system of 15 minutes slots for delivering breakfasts between 7AM & 8:30AM (APPARENTLY ONLY ON WEEKENDS NOW), we were told that we had to take the only available slot of 7 am. Being woken up that early on holiday just added to the whole unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor there are a few issues that need to be clarified.
You advise that you made a booking for your friends 7 months prior when you phoned before arriving that morning, our records showed that there was nothing in the system. We advised at this point that the only room available was a studio which you were happy to book for them. During the day your friends phoned and spoke with the Duty Manager and at that point never advised that they were unhappy with the room. The next morning once the Duty Manager realized that your friends had not turned up, spoke with yourselves and you advised him that they had found some were else to stay. Due to this booking being made in our peak time we feel that No notification was really unreasonable as we would have resold the room at no charge to your friend.
Our guest are issued with 100MB complimentary internet access each day and if need be if they require more we issue more or ask that they purchase more through the Zenbu site. 100MB enables access to emails and internet access each day.
At the Motel we have a selection of SKY and free view channels for all guest to have access to in all rooms, which includes SKY Movies, Discovery, SKY Sports and Prime and Channel 1,2,3
Our toiletries are all environmentally friendly products that have been approved by Qualmark. These include Hair/Soap for the shower and Hand soap for the bathroom. The Spa bath has also got the bubble bath soap in all rooms.
We do apologies for not supplying a breakfast on your final morning with us but we did give you the dollar value back. We do breakfast every day of the year. We also give our staff a 2 week break over the Christmas period as they do work very hard with breakfast throughout the year. Our breakfasts are supplied to the rooms from 7.15 am till 8.15 am everyday and they consist of Grilled Bacon, Hash Browns and Poached Eggs and on occasions we also do breakfast sausages. Once again we did apologies to your husband when he came into the Reception and asked about the breakfast, he did advise that it was OK and that he did understand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here just the one night. The room was a good size and had everything you need. The price we paid was reasonable compared with other nearby motels but included a cooked breakfast. The breakfast arrived on time and was nicely cooked. Good value stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed 4 nights Nov 2012 and were made to feel welcome from first to last. The kitchenette is equipped with crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils, 2 hobs, and a microwave, plenty of towels - and shower gel/shampoo in the bathroom. The motel is a short walk from the picturesque Lakeside Promenade, and about 4 blocks from Taupo town centre with a wide range of shops, bars, & restaurants. It takes just one hour to walk beside the Waikato River to the Huka Falls, one of the most visited attractions in NZ, and you can watch some bunjee jumping on the way. 2 large supermarkets are just a few minutes away. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed only one night and had a pleasant experience. No problems with the check-in or check-out.
The rooms were clean and reasonably well appointed. Breakfast was delivered to the rooms correctly at the requested time and was adequate. The coffee plunger with real coffee was a bonus.
It is also quite conveniently located being about 200 metres from the lake front and from the shopping/dining areas. An ideal choice for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Reading the previous review we thought this motel looked to be good value, well we must have got the worst room in the complex!

On checking the host was not particularly friendly, just gave us the key & milk, didn't even tell us what direction the room was in.

On first impression the room appeared OK, although a strange layout, however during our stay several issues came up:

1 the bedspread was really worn with several holes in it, not sure if an op shop would even sell it, probably ise for rags
2 The rubbish bin pedal was falling off, had to open lifting the lid manually
3 Blind in the bedroom would not close, the widget to do this was broken
4 No shampoo in bathroom, when asked at reception was told they do not supply shampoo. I have NEVER been to a motel that does not provide shampoo. We were meant to use the liquid soap in the shower. I don't know anybody that washes their hair with soap!
5 The soap dispenser was not even refilled so when I had a shower on the second day was no soap left, couldn't have washed my hair with soap even had I wished to
6 Used flannels were left on the shower floor after room service, maybe that's why the soap was not refilled, they didn't even look in the shower
7 The dining chair fabric was FILTHY on both chairs, we put a towel down on them before sitting on them
8 The TV was small & at a height impossible to watch from the chairs, motels need to remember not everyone chooses to watch TV from the bed
9 At no time did we see the hosts smile, or look even vaguely happy
10 Bed was rock hard

On the positive there was a very friendly cat that made itself at home in the unit

We would have advised reception of some of the issues but went to check out at 7.30 as the hours are stated on the reception door, but locked. Banged on the door loudly, but only the cat came & waited with me. Gave up at 7.45 & left key under mat

Some real basic maintenance & housekeeping issues here, bring your own shampoo, I DON"T THINK SO

Room Tip: Don't come
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

very clean and modern Motel. Great location and facilities. But: pool was freezing cold, my son wouldn't go in. 2 x Adjacent spas, but one wasnt heated. The other was lovely, thank goodness. Walls paper thin, as i listened to the neighbours TV all night. Our tv is fixed to the wall, not adjustable, so cant be seen from kitchen or even dinner table- and the signal is the old 4:3, not widescreen. Reception was great, smooth in/out and very friendly. Breakfast was just perfect and served promptly. Comfy beds and FINALLY a Motel thought to put the kids single beds in the bedroom, as they go bed first, and the double in the lounge so Dad can stay up late and get the "good" bed. Gains an extra star just for that alone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#6 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#15 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#20 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
0.2 mi away
Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Taupo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Taupo Motor Inn

Address: 33 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Taupo Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Taupo Motor Inn has 32 luxourious & well appointed rooms situated on a side street off the main highway and only 300m away from the CBD & Lake. We also have an on-site restaurant, heated pool and 2 spa's for your convenience. Our Executive Spa Suites also have a view of the Lake and Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Taupo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Taupo Motor Hotel Taupo
Lake Taupo Hotel
Lake Taupo Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Taupo Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.