We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Beach Resort to your Saves list
Oasis Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   241 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hosts and we enjoyed the location and heated pool. However we had a brand new digital tv which did not work on most channels, which was very disappointing. The manager was unable to sort the issue and basically told us it was due to the digital tv tring to pick up prime, we could only watch tv1 and 2. We were in a 2 bedroom apartment and the lighting was extremely bad in the bedrooms. The shower was very sensitive and took some considerable effort to reach a bearable heat. The bedroom which my mother slept in had single beds made for dwarves and at only 5'2" her feet were almost out of the bed and had she been a bigger woman, would have fallen off the edge. These things aside, we had a fun stay and the hosts were welcoming, the view gorgeous and the pool very relaxing. Highly recommend Manuel's bar next door, next time we will try this accommodation out.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    13
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a motel and very family friendly. We were greeted by a great host and ushered to our 2 bedrtoom unit overlooking the 39 degree celsius heated pool. The lake is 50 metres away and there is also an outdoor spa, a private spa, a table tennis room and outdoor tennis courts. Yes, you can find cheaper rooms (or more expensive) in Taupo but the Oasis has to be the best value.

We added a nighgt to our original booking and were transferred to a lakeside room with the sort of view mortals like us wouldn't normally be able to afford.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

What a beautiful spot, right on the lake. Rooms are reasonable, more motel-like than resort. Views are amazing from a lakefront room, with Lake Taupo meters from the door (as long as you don't mind watching the locals walk the dog!). We got a good deal for two nights. Kitchen amenities are fantastic. Did not try the spa.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose a lakefront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manawatu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

At $400 for two consecutive nights in my opinion it was rather expensive, yes there was a lovely pool and it is literally right on the lake. The size of our room was quite small, tiny bathroom and a shower, the bedroom which had big sliding doors was warm with a heatpump, the tv sits on a big cabinet which contains the fridge,toaster and a few utensils, no sink or kitchen set up in our room. For our third night we stayed at The Reef Resort which at $150 a night for a room with a huge lounge/kitchen/seperate bedroom which was massive with another tv and big spa bath in the bathroom. Overall the Oasis is a really quiet location, with a great view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

2 adults and 2 children in a very small family unit.

I must admit I think the write up on their website is slightly over the top, I wouldn't say this resort is luxury accommodation at all.

Our family unit was on the lake front with very pretty views, but nobody told me there's a public footpath right outside our back entrance, which looks onto lake Taupo, it became a tad noisy at times with cyclists, dog walking, joggers, the list goes on..........

The outdoor area was not inviting at all and we didn't use it once as it wasn't private enough for us.

The rooms where clean, but mixed with old and new furniture. The shower was terrible and we literally had to bend over to wash our hair as the shower nozzle on the wall was quite low. Water pressure was not good and shower was dated as well as the bathroom itself.

The walls need sound proofing, it wasn't good hearing next doors kids at 6am every morning, or the tv late at night from the opposite side. We have kids ourselves and expect noise, but this was silly.

If your kids like space and you like to be able to sit outside and enjoy your coffee in peace first thing of a morning this really isn't the place for you.

We paid over $800 for 3 nights over Easter and it just wasn't worth it at all.

I'm sorry to say i won't be going back to stay at the Oasis again :-(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Had a great stay in the lake front apartment perfect location sitting on porch right on lakes edge watching sunset loved the 50's style of building and apartment very comfortable and nicely refurbished. Lovely greenery around the place and enjoyed the pool and laying tennis. Staff couldn't have been more helpful - highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Lake front and well priced the Oasis is excellent value for money with some bigger 2 bedroom units with seprate lounge. Highly recommend Oasis as a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake front unit very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Beach Resort

Address: 241 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oasis Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Taupo, the Oasis Resort has outstanding views of the lake and mountains, metres from the hot water beach. The complex has facilities to accommodate everyone.Relax in the large heated swimming pool, or unwind in the indoor or outdoor spas. Enjoy a game of tennis or a beautiful scenic walk along the water's edge. Treat the family to a meal at one of our two adjacent restaurants. Only minutes away from many local attractions and with off-street parking, the resort is very conveniently located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oasis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Beach Hotel Taupo
Oasis Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.