We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing with great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chantilly's Lake Taupo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chantilly's Lake Taupo to your Saves list
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Tamamutu Street, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing with great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Don and Sue made our stay very enjoyable nothing was a bother, the motel is ideally located within a short walking distance from town. The facilities at the motel are more than adequate.
Spa bath and 50 SKY channels made it easy to relax and unwind.

Definitely worth a stay, we'll definitely be back

Room Tip: Ask for a room with spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
47
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rotorua
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Arrived early, and met Sue, most helpful and friendly, The room was clean, warm, and comfortable.Short walk to town and dined at Dixie Browns - great food - We will return again to the executive spa room - this is the place I will recommend to my friends and business associates

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

we stayed here for two nights and didn't have any problem. staff was friendly and helpful. one light blew up in the bathroom but it was dealt with immediately. great location and beautiful building. we recommend it and will certainly be back here. keep up with the good work and thanks to owners and staff for great host.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantillys, Manager at Chantilly's Lake Taupo, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. We certainly try hard to provide our guest with
the best experience so that they can relax and enjoy their time with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were wanting to stay close to the city so we could walk to the shops and restaurants but not too far from the Lake itself. Chantillys proved to be a great place to stay with our studio room being really spacious and a lovely garden patio to sit outside and enjoy our wine. We spent a lot of our time around the pool and spa area just slumbing it.
Great hosts who really made us feel welcome, great room and great location. Can not fault apart from the DVD player not working initially but the hosts were happy to change for us.
Great selection of free DVD`s at reception. Will definately be back .

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After cancelling other accommodation we searched around Taupo and settled on Chantilly's Lake Taupo as it offered us an apartment style setup (two bedrooms, lounge and kitchenette). As we stayed for several nights we were able to negotiate a reduced tariff that was highly competitive with other hotels in the region. The staff/management were helpful and friendly. The pool is not heated but there is a heated plunge pool. The lounge and master bedroom both had cable tv. The kitchen had a basic cooktop and microwave and essentially cooking and eating implements.
On the ground floor we had a virtually private courtyard. Overall we were impressed with this motel, particularly for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed two nights here in an upstairs room with a spa pool. We have no complaints about the room , it was big and clean.
But if you want a restful nights sleep ask for a room away from the road. It is a busy road with traffic noise and people walking home from the pub till the wee small hours.
There is no air con so we had no choice but to leave the windows open and suffer the noise. We did try to close the windows but the room was too hot.
The spa in the room was great, free dvds were great, outside pool was great but the noise was too much.

Room Tip: a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantillys, Manager at Chantilly's Lake Taupo, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Like all reviews we take comments seriously, unfortunately like most motels in Taupo on very busy weekends we can not always manage people who are walking home late at night.
We do have units further back and should we have the privilage of your company again these can be provided. Many thanks for your positive comments on the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at this Motel last month, rooms were a good size and very clean. Just a short walk from town. Was able to enjoy the pool & spa which was great. Would definitely recomend for anyone looking for accomodation in Taupo.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chantilly's Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantilly's Lake Taupo

Address: 112 Tamamutu Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chantilly's Lake Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chantillys is one of Taupo's NEWEST LUXURY Accommodation and Conference Establishments. A 32 unit CITY located complex boasting all the modern fittings expected of a fine Motel. The units are all very SPACIOUS, Beautifully tiled EN-SUITE bathrooms, Kitchenettes with microwaves, New Widescreen TVs, "50 SKY TV CHANNELS",DVD Players, Private courtyards with out door furniture. Some with KING SPA Baths and views over the Lake and Mountains from your private Balcony. Just a 3 or 4 minute stroll to Supermarkets, Shops, Cafes and Restaurants, and only a 2-3 minute drive to to the Lake and many of Taupos Activities and Attractions. Free Parking. Free Wireless Broadband Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chantilly's Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chantilly's Lake Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.