We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the in-room spa pool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chantilly's Lake Taupo

Save Saved
You added Chantilly's Lake Taupo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Tamamutu Street, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 72 hotels in Taupo
Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved the in-room spa pool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent two night in Chantilly's Motor Lodge and enjoyed every second of it. The service was great, breakfast was nice and the location is convenient. We had an Executive Spa Suite on first floor facing the street. The room was very big and absolutely clean. However, the best of all was the in-room spa pool. We've never had a spa pool in the bedroom before and really liked it. We'll be back one day!

Room Tip: Even if you're on a small budget, treat yourself to a bit of luxury with the Executive Spa Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
36
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here over a weekend in July. Got a lovely room with an attached spa. The owners are super friendly and helpful with their recommendations. Rooms are quite nice and we had one with a view of the lake and the mountain. The owner recommended dinner at a place called the Bantry - which was spectacular

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We styed in a groun floor 2 bedroon apartment. The staff were very helpful on arrival giving me some very valuable local information on which tourist attractions were value for money. The apartment was brilliant, 2 seperate bedrooms to go with the main room. Parking at the door. I would highly recommend the 2 bed apartment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights recently in 1 bedroom spa upstairs unit. Very spacious and views over Taupo town and Lake.
Spotlessly clean.
Only a 2 or 3 blocks to town so not too far to walk.
The unit is superbly equipped with everything you need.
The spa was wonderful.
Very quiet units even though they were full or nearly full each night.
Comfy beds, the only thing for the bedroom would be great if the curtains had black out lining on them as it is not very dark for sleeping.
The service from the owners was exceptional.
We left all our clothes in the wardrobe and when we were half way home received a call from Sue. She put the clothes on the courier service and we received them 2 days later. Thought that was pretty awesome.
I rang the motel and was given a cheaper rate than was advertised on the web.
Would certainly go back.
Mary

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Sue & Don are great hosts and they make you feel at home here. I stayed here for 2 weeks while trying to find a house to rent in Taupo, it is a close walk to town and a very quiet hotel even on weekends. If you are staying for a few days there is a outdoor grill by the pool that is quite handy if you get sick of eating takeaway. Very friendly, clean and quiet place with everything in Taupo accessible by foot.

Room Tip: We were in Room 13 it has a kitchenette with dishes etc Rooms have Sky and unlimited internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great place to stay, very clean and tidy. Super family friendly rooms with all you need. Wonderfull managers who are very helpfull. Would remmomend to anyone looking for a place for the family to stay, has laundry available incase its wet and yuk. Great pool for the kids. I would loveto stay again in one of there executive suites with spas looking out to the lake. Thank you for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there on a 'first night away from 3 kids special weekend in 2 years' getaway. DID NOT SLEEP. Really uncomfortable wobbly bed, and very noisy on the roadfront from noisy drunks and early vehicles. However, location means you can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chantilly's Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantilly's Lake Taupo

Address: 112 Tamamutu Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 72 hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chantilly's Lake Taupo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chantillys is one of Taupo's NEWEST LUXURY Accommodation and Conference Establishments. A 32 unit CITY located complex boasting all the modern fittings expected of a fine Motel. The units are all very SPACIOUS, Beautifully tiled EN-SUITE bathrooms, Kitchenettes with microwaves, New Widescreen TVs, "50 SKY TV CHANNELS",DVD Players, Private courtyards with out door furniture. Some with KING SPA Baths and views over the Lake and Mountains from your private Balcony. Just a 3 or 4 minute stroll to Supermarkets, Shops, Cafes and Restaurants, and only a 2-3 minute drive to to the Lake and many of Taupos Activities and Attractions. Free Parking. Free Wireless Broadband Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Chantilly's Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chantilly's Lake Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.