We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lake to your Saves list
The Lake
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   63 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“small but very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We loved our two nights stay at the Lake Motel, we arrived to Jane's friendly welcome and the lovely one bedroom suite that we stayed in offered everything that we required.The suite was spacious, beautifully clean, quiet, kitchen that was well equiped, we asked where we could get milk no sooner said and she brought some for us so we could have a drink also a nice bottle of wine.Jane also helped us in booking a meal at a local restaurant PLATEAU. Notthing too much troble

Room Tip: we had room 1 of 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
37
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We loved our one nights stay at the Lake Motel, we arrived to Jane's friendly welcome and the lovely one bedroom suite that we stayed in offered everything that we required.The suite was spacious, beautifully clean, quiet, kitchen that was well equiped, great water pressure in the shower and the retro fit out was great. Comfortable bed with electric blanket just what we needed on a cold winters night.
We will be back to stay for sure next time we need a place to stay in Taupo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a tour of New Zealand. Staff made special arrangements to ensure we picked up the keys to our room as our arrival time was outside the reception opening hours.
The room was clean and very well presented. It is a fantastically unique motel with its retro themed rooms.
In the morning staff continued to be very helpful, as they suggested local landmarks we could visit and help us plan the next day of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

The retro furniture in this hotel is simply gorgeous. We booked a studio room, but were upgraded to a room with a kitchenette. The room was well-appointed and clean. Although the retro chairs were not the most comfortable, the bed was good. The hosts were very helpful and friendly and hotel is well-located.

Good value and perfect if you're looking for something different.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

we stayed 3 nights and couldn't fault it, everything was immaculate.

Helen was very helpful and recommended places to eat and all were excellent.
It is a very pleasant 15 min walk to the town,and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Loved our stay in this motel, lovely and helpful staff, great location and amazing retro furniture!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Sorry small room. The foot of our bed was only feet away from the public footpath and the road. Didn't enjoy our one night stay at all. Stayed in New Zealand for 3 weeks and this is the only place I would not go back to. Need blackout lining for the curtains as not very thick and let all the light in. Tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake

Address: 63 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Taupo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#25 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lake, has attention to detail throughout, the Lake is a unique establishment which has achieved the owner's desire to create a motel that doesn't feel like a motel. From its stylish retro decor, to the bird filled gardens, The Lake truly is a boutique motel with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.