We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lake to your Saves list
The Lake
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   63 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We loved our one nights stay at the Lake Motel, we arrived to Jane's friendly welcome and the lovely one bedroom suite that we stayed in offered everything that we required.The suite was spacious, beautifully clean, quiet, kitchen that was well equiped, great water pressure in the shower and the retro fit out was great. Comfortable bed with electric blanket just what we needed on a cold winters night.
We will be back to stay for sure next time we need a place to stay in Taupo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
40
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a tour of New Zealand. Staff made special arrangements to ensure we picked up the keys to our room as our arrival time was outside the reception opening hours.
The room was clean and very well presented. It is a fantastically unique motel with its retro themed rooms.
In the morning staff continued to be very helpful, as they suggested local landmarks we could visit and help us plan the next day of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

The retro furniture in this hotel is simply gorgeous. We booked a studio room, but were upgraded to a room with a kitchenette. The room was well-appointed and clean. Although the retro chairs were not the most comfortable, the bed was good. The hosts were very helpful and friendly and hotel is well-located.

Good value and perfect if you're looking for something different.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

we stayed 3 nights and couldn't fault it, everything was immaculate.

Helen was very helpful and recommended places to eat and all were excellent.
It is a very pleasant 15 min walk to the town,and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Loved our stay in this motel, lovely and helpful staff, great location and amazing retro furniture!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Sorry small room. The foot of our bed was only feet away from the public footpath and the road. Didn't enjoy our one night stay at all. Stayed in New Zealand for 3 weeks and this is the only place I would not go back to. Need blackout lining for the curtains as not very thick and let all the light in. Tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I arrived with the option of a free upgrade from a excellent room to a really excellent room. (particularly exciting since I had never been upgraded in my life!) I had a Living room/kitchen, a bedroom and bathroom. The decor was modern and the small details of how the towels were folded in the bathroom and bedroom...and how things were exquisitly placed in the cupboards just made this hotel a delight to stay in. The kitchen meant I could save a little money and eat in - just perfect. Was a 5 min walk to the lake and about 10/15min to the centre. The host had many recommendations on what to do an discount vouchers for various places...a swim in De Brett's hot spring is perfect for a bit of r and r. If you are looking for a little bit of luxury on your travels this is definitely the place to come. To get this standard in the UK you would be paying hundreds!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#6 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#16 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.1 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
0.6 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#17 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake

Address: 63 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#27 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lake, has attention to detail throughout, the Lake is a unique establishment which has achieved the owner's desire to create a motel that doesn't feel like a motel. From its stylish retro decor, to the bird filled gardens, The Lake truly is a boutique motel with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.