We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort to your Saves list
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   76 Napier Taupo Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3310, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Rang on short notice and was greeted by a friendly lady who offered a great deal on a motel room. Arrived late and map to room was left on office door.
Heater was on in my room and very welcoming.
Main room and kitchen area were impeccable. Bathroom could do with a coat of paint.
TV advertised sky TV but was near impossible to find.
Bed was comfortable with electric blankets and good pillows.
Shower had good supply of hot water and the tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk in the fridge were welcome.
They also threw in a free pass to the thermal pool.
No complaints from me, good value budget accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandraQ, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that we are achieving our objective of being welcoming and making sure your room is warm and ready for you.

We are in the process of upgrading all our motel rooms, including refitting and painting. The next time you stay you will see a difference. We offer a 10% discount to all returning guests.

If you have the time please contact us (http://www.taupodebretts.co.nz/contact-taupo-debretts) about your difficulty finding Sky on your TV. Sometimes guests retune the TV, but we do check this.

If there is any way we can improve the experience of our guests, we always want to hear it.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    137
    42
    12
    13
See reviews for
173
99
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohope, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Warm and friendly staff at check in,and provided us with a great reccommendation for a cafe to have a late lunch in Taupo when we were unable to get a meal from the on-site cafe (they'd just closed at 3pm). We booked a Superior lodge for six of us. Four strapping teenage boys and two adults. The lodge was comfortably furnished and modern- 3 seater + 2 seater couches in lounge area, dining table and six chairs, separate toilet and shower, two bunks in separate area against hall wall, pullout couch bed, comfy king bed in separate bedroom. We shifted the single bed mattress from the main bedroom into the lounge when it was time for bed. These sleeping arrangements for the six of us worked well. Kitchen adequate to cook dinner and breakfast for us all. The boys were impressed at the heated tile floor areas! It was a tight fit, but we were only staying the one night so perfect for our purposes. Enjoyed the hot pools too, but really think the resort should consider better discount and/or complimentary entry for guests staying at their resort. Luckily the lovely lady at the hot pool check in desk suggested we purchase the $35 family three day pass (and not the $10 per person "discount"rate for guests) ... even though we were only staying the one night this was by far the most economic, reasonable and sensible option! The resort does offer special discounted internet guest rates that include considerable discount on accommodation costs and free entry into the pools - unfortunately these had sold out when I made our booking. I agree with previous reviewers that it is out of town so you do need a car. However we deliberately chose the "out of town" location. I would recommend de Brett's for a quiet, thermal get away. Our lodge was superb and fitted our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandraQ, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the detailed feedback.

Your feedback about the discount rate for the pools (currently a 50% discount for our accommodation guests) has been passed to the management team. As you mentioned we also often offer special accommodation deals which include free entry to the pools.

The entry price gives access to all pools, the private pools, the hydroslide and the children's playground. It is also a day pass, so you may leave and return as much as you like in the one day.

We also offer a 10% discount on our standard accommodation rates for returning guests. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Room cleaning was appalling. Didn't even make beds. Just out clean towels in. Was a small wardrobe in kids room but nothing for us in main. Still felt spacious and felt was good value. We stayed in spa 1. Pools were family friendly. Out of town so need a car really.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Front Office Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate the room servicing issue being brought to our attention.

Firstly, we do apologise that your stay had any negative aspects, and hope that it didn't take too much of the shine off your trip.

We are working with our housekeeping team to make they are aware of our concerns and expectations, so that this situation is not repeated.

We have also taken on board your comments about the wardrobe. Management and the owners are looking at this issue as well.

We hope you decide to give us another chance and stay with us again. We offer all return guests a 10% discount on their next stay.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipukurau, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We visited the hot pools for the day recently. The main pool area met expectations and was lovely to soak in warm water mid winter. On arrival we discovered we needed student ID for 2 teenage children, something we didn't have, much to our delight this was not a problem as they just asked for the school name and gave the discount.

Room Tip: Take your own picnic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Front Office Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and we do hope you visit again sometime.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were really looking forward to a relaxing spa experience and a fun time for the kids. The 2 bedroom chalet we spent a lot of money on was very small. There were 5 of us and it had one small 2 seater couch in the lounge and 2 small bean bags which we were tripping over. No wardrobe in main room at all. After paying a significant amount for staying here we had one towel per person for our two night stay even though it was a spa resort (you have to pay to hire extra towels), plus you have to pay to gain entry to the spa so it all gets very expensive.

The spa itself was really crowded and the main pool looked really dirty - just my opinion. The very hot pool was cleaner but too hot for the kids so we couldn't really stay in there for long and enjoy it. The 'warm water' play area for very young kids would have been great had the water been warm - it wasn't. It was downright cold and hence my kids got no enjoyment from this at all. The main reason I booked here in winter was for the kids to have some water play so this was a let down. We would've gone to a private pool but were told these were too hot for the kids so can't comment on this as we never got to see them.

We had a nice view from our deck and the shower was a great size even though unit as a whole seemed very small for 5 people (and it was a unit that could take up to 6!). Don't think I'd go back to be honest. We stayed an extra night in Taupo in a different place and by comparison it's clear to me that better value can be found elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Front Office Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Your issues with the Chalet you stayed in (Spa Chalet 1) have been duly noted and forwarded to management for their consideration, regarding seating and wardrobe. We do have a policy of offering a full refund if a guest is not satisfied with their accommodation choice within an hour after checking in.
Also, the team at reception are more than happy to supply extra towels to guests upon request and the towel hire at the pools is directed at those who frequent the pools but are not staying at Taupo DeBretts.
Unfortunately, with these holidays being one of our busiest on record the likelihood of a relaxing time at the hot pools was something we could not guarantee.
As a matter of interest, our pools are drained, cleaned and refilled every night and the water is constantly being filtered with UV filters to remove any harmful material.
We hope you do consider staying with us again as we do offer a 10% discount to return customers and we do have other accommodation options as well.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I visited Taupo DeBretts Spa few days ago but have not used the main pools only the private one.
We were little bit disappointed that the private spas were used by everyone. Last 20 minutes I just couldn't enjoy it as the kids and their parents were screaming and banging the wall - terrible and so unfair! People pay good money to have a rest. Why would you take your loud kids to those small cabins that were clearly designed for adults to relax and to enjoy the benefits of this lovely mineral water? There is so much outside for children to keep them entertained.
Private spas should be for relaxing not for kids. I love kids but sometimes you need a moment for yourself. You need to make this division that everybody can enjoy their stay. I would be back again sometimes but only for a private spa. I also thought that it would be nice to put some plants and a colorful light in the private pools to make it more relaxing as it is very basic - just a suggestion.

This is purely FAMILY SPA POOLS and not a relaxing spa. If I come here with children I would love it as it is a perfect place for kids.

Overall nice place but I suggest that the management make some changes as there are another two amazing spa pools in Taupo/Rotorua area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in Taupo for a week and needed one more night. As we had previously purchased a 5 day pass for the hot springs we decided to stay at the resort. The hot pools were fantastic and with a slide, private family pools and clean change facilities were a winner. We stayed in a superior cabin with 4 teens. the cabin was clean with comfortable beds and under floor heating and 3 hours free Wifi. Overall a nice cabin but a bit pricey, but as we only needed one night that was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Address: 76 Napier Taupo Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.