We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay to visit Lake Taupo area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort to your Saves list
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Napier Taupo Highway | PO Box 513, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A good stay to visit Lake Taupo area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the DeBretts site in our camper van for Christmas 2012 and had a great time. The sites, for camper vans, are spacious, nicely arranged and a number of them are separated by trimmed hedges, all nice and private.

Kitchen facilities are good and everything needed is provided, including 3 BBQs upon which I cooked an excellent BBQ'd Full English breakfast for Christmas Day! The toilet and shower facilities are really due for in upgrade (please turn down the noisy radio speaker in the gents bathroom area!) and whilst, at first glance they appear insufficient for the number of guests on the camp site, there are an additional number of other "Unisex" toilets and showers which are modern and clean.

The site is quite a distance from both Lake Taupo and the town. It is up a longish hill (500+m?) from the lake shore and is not an ideal walk. It is as far again to the outskirts of the town, so really it is better to drive to either place and then park up.

The lake side offers a very pleasant stroll with wonderful views across the lake. The town itself is attractive and offers a wide range of shops that cater for all your needs.

On the DeBretts site are also the excellent hot springs themselves with a number of pools with differing temperatures and some really delightful private pools. Children are well catered for with an excellent array of water slides.

Finally, I must compliment DeBretts on their massage and treatment facilities located in the pool area. We enjoyed excellent massages (our Christmas presents) and were very pleased with the treatments.

Overall, a very pleasant location with good facilities within close access to all that Lake Taupo has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of us and the Taupo area! We're so happy you had such a fantastic time.

We're 800m from the lakefront and think this is perfect as we're just far enough from the highway to be quiet and have beautiful views over Lake Taupo and the mountains.

2013 holds a lot for Taupo DeBretts with renovating the facilities block one of the main priorities. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to see the progress of the upgrades! Stay tuned via our website and facebook page :)

Warm regards,
Eliana
Guest Relations
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    126
    34
    8
    12
See reviews for
149
91
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Family of 5 booked into a 2 bedroom spa chalet for 3 nights. Unit very clean and well appointed. Also offered three day Hot Springs Pass for family for only $35.00 - great! Kids spent each day at hot springs relaxing and sliding down dragon slide. On thursday night they had Brendan Dugan singing poolside for the patrons.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Brendan Dugan was great wasn't he! He comes to our Soakfest in the pools every summer.

Thank you for your lovely comments about the accommodation, I'll be sure to pass them onto our housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Eliana
Guest Relations
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We totally love this place can't wait to come back again, a wonderful place for all the kids great value for money. In a word perfect. Looking forward to comming back real soon. With some luck without the kids, see you soon de bretts great service and prices. And we all love your hoy spring.



  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again! We're so happy to hear that you love our relaxed way of life here at Taupo DeBretts.

We can't wait to welcome you all back again soon!

Warm regards,
Eliana
Guest Relations
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at camping ground and facilities were excellent. staff were extremely friendly and the hot pools were a great end to the day. just a bit of traffic noise but you get used to it. Only a short drive to town area and nice little beach down the road.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your reviewing us! We pride ourselves in our excellent customer service and we're stoked at your comments, I'll pass them onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Eliana
Guest Relations
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

After a long drive from Wellington, it was great to arrive at Taupo DeBretts Spa. We quickly checked in and unpacked ready to pop down to the spa and it was amazing. Friendly staff and not too busy. The private hot pools were awesome too. Great place to relax after a long journey. Would visit again if back in NZ.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We very lucky so have such a great team here at DeBretts and the pools are just perfect to unwind after long trips!

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in New Zealand!

Warm regards,
Eliana
Guest Relations
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic family vacation at Debretts just after Christmas doing it traditional camping style with the kids. Usually we prefer to stay in accommodation however wanted the kids to experience camping.

Great facilities for cooking, showering etc, perfect for a family and very handy with the mineral pools on site.

Was a very busy time of year due to school holidays. Will definitely look to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear you had such a great time and gave camping a go!

We have some accommodation units right next to campsites so next time you come, why not book both? :) You can have the comfort of a real bed with a kitchenette for your morning cuppa and pop the kids (if they are over 13) in a tent just across from you.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon! Remember, all return guests receive 10% off their accommodation.

Warm regards,
Eliana
Guest Relations
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We decided to go to taupo for a break away from city life, choosing Debrett's based on their website. The grounds are great in terms of amenities - we didn't have to wait for showers/BBQs or anything. It was very clean. I had booked a power lead which I was told would be $25 for the time we were there, to get to reception who made it clear that I was "getting a bargain" as they're usually $25 per day to hire, which I would say is very over priced. The camping ground itself was really quiet at night, but unfortunately the traffic from the main state highway kept us awake, and once we'd got used to that the bar across the way managed to keep us well awake on the Friday night. A great ground, but the noise lets it down. We came back quite tired.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Address: Napier Taupo Highway | PO Box 513, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation – self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation – from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,big bouncing cushion,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, T4B, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.