We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, quite a disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Taupo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Taupo to your Saves list
Quest Taupo
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   9 Tui Street, Taupo 2730, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overall, quite a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at the Quest Taupo recently in a 2-bedroom apartment. It was disappointing in a number ways. Firstly, the apartment we had was quite a different layout to the photos on the website (which show quite a spacious apartment). The lounge/kitchen/dining room was fairly small and I was glad there was only 3 of us altogether as there were only 3 lounge chairs. I would estimate it was 4 metres by 4 metres maximum. Speaking of lounge chairs, the couch is a fold-out bed. Nothing wrong with that on the face of it, but these couches are notoriously uncomfortable to sit on. Secondly, one of the reasons I chose this accommodation was that a heated pool seemed like a very good option with 2 teenage girls in tow - however, the "pool" is also very small - more like an overlarge spa pool than anything else - and it was "Closed for Maintenance" for more than half of our 4-night stay. Thirdly, the heat pump in the unit didn't work. Despite assurances from the manager and some "eye-rolling" because I had fiddled with the controls trying to get it to work, we never did get it going and turned it off in the end after finding ourselves sitting in a stream of cold air at least half of the time. Management helpfully provided a blow heater, but we found that running the bathroom heater on full actually worked the best in keeping us warm. Fourthly, in the en suite bathroom attached to the main bedroom there was a spa bath, but no shower. I don't think I have ever stayed in an apartment with no shower in the ensuite! I shared with the 2 teenagers in their bathroom downstairs, but I think that the lack of an en suite shower needs to be stipulated on the website. Fifthly, the floor in the kitchen are was filthy. On the face of it, it looked OK - tiles with a beige-grey finish. I kept wondering, though, why my white socks were getting so dirty as I walked around the apartment. A little bit of detergent and a scrubbing brush soon revealed that the grey was actually ingrained dirt and the tiles were, in fact, pale beige. I hope that this was noticed as there is now one tile in that kitchen with a beige circle in the middle of it - hopefully the rest of the tiles will now be scrubbed to match! Perhaps my stay was influenced by being kept awake on the first night by the TV in the next door unit until 3:15 am - not the greatest sound-proofing that's for sure. I paid NZ$250/night on Wotif and this was very expensive for what we got for our money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

traveling with friends in 3 bedroom unit which was upstairs and had a garage, a downstairs became available which we planned to have and management offered to pack and move us to that one "we will do it all, no problem"! could use facilities in property next door which was under same management (spa! no charge!)
One of our friend is very particular, but even she was happy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed in the Quest apartments in Taupo for 7 nights and would highly recommend them to families in particular. We booked a two bedroom apartment and were surprised by the large amount of space in the unit. The unit we had was two storied with bedrooms upstairs and a large kitchen, dining and sitting room downstairs. Our apartment had car parking on the ground floor as well.

The apartments were well apportioned with a full kitchen including oven, microwave, fridge and freezer. There was also a washer dryer so it made for the perfect family vacation.

The apartments are conveniently located in Tui Street which is only about a 10 minute stroll down the Lake Front to the centre to town.

At $1,500 for seven nights, given the size of the apartment, I thought it represented excellent value for money.

The large King Bed in the master bedroom was huge and comfortable. Great bed!

I also like a hotel that provides decent towels (ie not a towel that has the dimensons of a tea towel!). The Quest's towels were decent spa towel size. Well Done!

I would have given the Quest five stars but for a couple of minor issues. Firstly, $15 per day for wireless is a bit too rich, so we ended up not using it. The sooner wireless is built into the daily rate, the better! Secondly, the pool was too small - especially because the Quest seemed to attract families. And thirdly (and probably most importantly), the apartments do need some sprucing up. There was clearly visible (quite a bit) mould around the walls in the bathroom (above the tiles in the shower) and in the skylight caviety. It is time these apartments seen a paintbrush really. The decor was a bit old and tired.

But overall, these issues would not prevent me booking there again next week if we were going back to Taupo.

Room Tip: Ask for Apartment 10 up. You might even get a small lake view (through a gap in the buildings in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chergrae, General Manager at Quest Taupo, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Quest Taupo and we are delighted that you enjoyed the apartments for your holiday. We are pleased to report that we have taken your comments very seriously and instigated several measures to rectify these issues. Free Wifi internet is now available to all guests. We are also continuing with our maintenance program for the apartments and to date this year have re-painted the exterior. This month we commence internal re-decoration of several apartments including re- painting and re-wallpapering and two of the apartments have been re-tiled and 1 re-carpeted. We would very much look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Taupo sometime in the future. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

Booked the Quest in Taupo as we had stayed in the Rotorua one which was lovely and new and Taupo was supposed to be the same and it certainly looked it in the photos. Booked a one bedroom unit this time for a treat although we only needed a standard room. We were given a room in the Courtney Motel next door which was old and out of date. The fresh coat of paint did not make up for the fact it was just a skanky motel unit and not the lovely modern apartments we had booked. Another couple we met at the function we were down there for had also been stuck in the Courtney Motel. They slso were Not happy at all. it is false advertising by the Quest

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chergrae, Manager at Quest Taupo, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
the part of the property that this guest stayed in was part of Quest but was sold on the 1 June and rebranded Courtney Motel.Delinking of all these rooms of many websites commenced mid June When this guest booked for there stay in July the room they booked was still listed on the Quest website but if you go to the Quest website now they have now been delinked

Graeme Pearce
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed in the economy accommodation, and found it was very good with a king size bed and well furnished. The bed had an electric blanket and the oil heater was sufficient to heat the room.
The only down side was that the toilet and shower had no door and were on the cold side when you had to take a shower. The pillows could have done with an upgrade.
The lady at reception was very bright and friendly.
I would stay here again but would upgrade to a better part of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Excellent stay here. For a small hotel/motel the reception was both knowledgeable and professional and gave impression our group needs had been considered and adapted to. Stayed in 2 bed exec villa (upgraded) which was on par with most 4 star hotel rooms I have stayed in. Extra treat was a jacuzzi in the upstairs bathroom. This type of room was ideal for two couples staying together as both were allowed own space/bathroom. Nice touches included being given a small bottle of fresh milk for the tea/coffee on arrival, a nice change from those horrible small pots of UHT milk. Detailed and up to date information in room bochure was also helpful. Would definately stay here again (and would actually pay for the room we were upgraded to as so nice)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. This was located in the old part of the Quest complex. The apartment looked like it was refurbished at some stage and have new bathroom and kitchen, however the bedroom and lounge area are aged. The 2 nights I stayed at Quest were the most uncomfortable of my entire trip, the bed was awfully hard and I could feel the springs on the mattress. I paid $145 p/night and feel like I did not get value for money. If I ever return to Taupo I will avoid staying in the old one bedroom apartments. The 2/3 bedroom apts in the new part of Quest look much better. Location wise Quest is in an excellent spot. A couple of minutes from the centre of town via car or 10 mins walking.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller19701, Owner at Quest Taupo, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Note: The rooms reviewed here are no longer available at Quest Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Taupo

Address: 9 Tui Street, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Taupo offers superior fully self-contained 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartment accommodation which all have king beds spa/baths full kitchens in-room laundry sky tv broadband access air/con and fully heated. We are situated 50 mtrs from the lake and only 1 km from the town centre. Outdoor heated plunge pool private spa and guest bbq make this the perfect place to stay for your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quest Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Taupo Hotel Taupo
Quest Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.