We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best ......our "go to place" in Taupo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waimahana Luxury Lakeside Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Waimahana Luxury Lakeside Apartments to your Saves list
Waimahana Luxury Lakeside Apartments
2 Lowell Place off Lake Terrace | Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best ......our "go to place" in Taupo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have been visiting Waimahana now for many, many years. Mostly our visits are associated with a sporting event, e.g. Lake Taupo Cycle, the half Marathon, a mountain biking event or the big one......Ironman. These events always involve collections of like minded people and Waimahana accommodates everyone beautifully. We have never ever been disappointed with our stay. The facilities are terrific, the organisation of our stay is always superb and the personal approach from Malcolm is something we always look forward to, nothing is too much trouble. Its always hard to leave and we would never consider staying anywhere else. HnH

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family and I had booked on line to stay in another apartment, which upon check-in was not as good as represented on their website. Out of desperation, we inquired and stumbled upon Waimahana Apartments. Malcolm's voice at the other end was assuring and genuinely kind. We chose to stay there. In fact, we extended our stay for another 3 nights. The 3-room apartment on the top floor was luxurious and has everything a family needs for a very comfortable stay in Taupo. It has a commanding view of the lake and the town. I would highly recommend the apartment to any visitor to Lake Taupo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were 2 couples on a drive holiday. We stayed in NUMBER 8 - absolute lake-front. The apartment is extremely well laid out, ensuring early risers don't disturb those sleeping in. Location right on the lake is amazing, secure underground parking a big bonus, and everything we needed for a luxurious stay. This apartment had everything we could ask for and it was hard to get our men to move on for the rest of our trip. Would most definitely recommend these apartments and Malcolm and Roxy were very accessible via email and answered our queries promptly

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We walked into this apartment and wanted to stay forever!!!
We were lucky to have Apartment 8 which has unsurpassed views. It is a three bedroom apartment which gave our party of four so much room. It is equipped with everything you could possibly need. If there are any "early birds" in the group then you are able to get up, shut the living area off from the bedrooms, make your coffee and enjoy the morning sun without disturbing the rest of the group.
There is a walking path at the front of the apartment and a hot water beach at the doorstep. Be careful not to burn your toes!!
Undercover secure parking.
Don't stay anywhere else in Taupo!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

What is not to LOVE about this place.? We just would not contemplate staying anywhere else in Taupo. We were fortunate enough to have a Penthouse Apartment, NUMBER 11. This is the apartment for us as it is the only top floor apartment that gets the first of the sun into every room and then all day, essential for us as we are winter travellers.

We did our research and it is no more expensive than others in the building yet comes with every mod con. There are two Sky box's with large digital T.V's which was perfect for the teenagers and a 3rd TV which was a treat for the mother n law's cooking shows. Brand new carpet, state of the art stainless barbee, gorgeous silver cutlery, cotton linen and feathers...I could go on!

We loved being able to walk into town and used the lakeside path every day. The lovely big pool and spa was thermally heated and the teens used the sauna and gym every morning. Malcolm the manager is so easy to deal with. This has truly spoiled us for ever staying elsewhere and we can't wait to return.

This is a 15 out of 10 rating A++++

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny as is the top floor we had suite 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maloxi, Manager at Waimahana Luxury Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Wow!!! Thank you so much for your glowing review. It makes our hearts sing when guests leave happy.We really appreciate the time spent on the review process and very much look forward to your return to Waimahana Apartments.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Spacious apartments with all the amenities. Very quiet and comfortable. Undercover parking great for cars full of golf clubs. Room 4 is the best for a group. Best accommodation for a group or family. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwater, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spend more than a week in a 3 bedroom apartment, and we love everything about it. The view was fantastic, huge room space, very modern and it was very clean and tidy. Parking is secure underground.

I definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone who is thinking of visiting Taupo.

Waimahana is an unforgettable place.

Thank you Malcolm and Roxi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waimahana Luxury Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waimahana Luxury Lakeside Apartments

Address: 2 Lowell Place off Lake Terrace | Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You could travel the world and it would be hard to match a holiday location such as that offered at Waimahana, enjoying spectacular lake views, thermally heated swimming pool and spa that take you right to the lake edge and sandy beach. Lake Taupo accommodation at it’s finest. Options include studio, two and three bedroom apartments. These exclusive apartments offer fantastic indoor/outdoor living with their own balconies, overlooking the pool and located on the absolute lakefront of Taupo. Spacious open plan living with modern kitchen complete with quality appliances, stereo, Sky TV, full laundry facilities, quality furnishings throughout, coupled with a private sauna and gymnasium within the complex make for a wonderful holiday environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waimahana Luxury Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waimahana Luxury Lakeside Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.