We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent studio room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Reef Resort to your Saves list
The Reef Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent studio room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location is very handy to centre of town and the Taupo Golf club. The studio room that I had did not have a view of the lake but was very spacious and well appointed. The temporary managers were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    65
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
174
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Location great but overall cleanliness of our unit not up to standard - i.e. sliding door tracks full of dead bugs and dust, fan in bathroom needed cleaning, carpet in desperate need of professional cleaning as stained, unit had obvious water damage (front door had swelled at the bottom and sliding door frame in bedroom was the same), chair in unit broken. We appreciate that there are new owners at this motel and this is intended as constructive criticism - when notified of the broken chair in the unit, this was rectified immediately :). Kitchen clean and all bed linen and bathroom linen immaculate.

The rate of $145 per night we felt was top dollar for this unit.

Room Tip: This unit could be very noisy during the summer months due to the close proximity of the neighbourin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefresorttaupo, Owner at The Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry you did not have the experience you expected for you stay at The Reef Resort, and we apologise for this.

We, the owners of The Reef Resort, have been here for nearly 10 years, but had relieving managers here during your stay. Action has been taken on your comments regarding the carpets, door tracks etc. This is a housekeeping problem that should not have got past our quality control person.

As you can see from the other reviews, this is not our usual standard.

Kind Regards,
Keren & Bryan Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Reef Resort in one of the luxury apartments in mid September with two very good friends.
From the moment we checked in, the service was fantastic. We were shown around the apartment by your host, explaining how everything works etc.
The apartment is impeccably presented in every way.
We arrived early evening, on a very cold & wet night. The gas fire was going, underfloor heating on and lights on - very welcoming indeed.
The beds were so soft & comfortable - giving us all a wonderful nights sleep.
We had a very minor squeak in one of the bedroom doors, so one quick phone call & this was rectified immediately.
This apartment is certainly a cut above the rest, a truly wonderful place to stay.
Beautiful linen, furnishings etc.
Just two minor little things that would be an added extra to this luxury apartment is large bath sheets/towels & a small stereo/cd music player.
Thanks heaps Bryan & Keren, we will be back.
Susie, Paul, Ann & Phil

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Ok we were only stopping thru for the night so said we didn't need a view. OMG I didn't realise that it mean't there were no curtains (only light material) & the no view was looking at slats of timber outside the window which also didn't help the road noise which was loud & continous. The sun screamed thru the window at 5.30am as well as in the skylights. The spa bath was started and had black hairs coming out of it before we even had got in so guessing the pump possibly hadn't been cleaned in awhile. The room was clean & the bed comfortable however the pillows (only 2 in the room) were so flat they might as well had not been there. The stairwell was noisey and overall was really disappointed with the place.

Room Tip: Dont get the studio rooms without a view you won't sleep well or if at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefresorttaupo, Owner at The Reef Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, as it is with this feedback that we are able to make continual improvements at The Reef Resort. As the owners of The Reef Resort Motel we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

We have two of these units and it is made very clear on all booking-sites there are no views. These are our cheapest units for that reason. Guests are more than welcome to accept another room if they are unhappy with this accommodation.

Our studio units all have 4 pillows, two on the bed and two in the drawers at the end of the bed. If you had alerted us at reception we would have been more than happy to show where the additional pillows were to suit your requirements.

We apologise for the hairs in the bath and agree this is not good enough. We have taken action to remedy this to ensure it does not happen again.

We would have loved to have heard your feedback while you were staying with us so that we could have put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in this blissful place for two nights with our family and there are many reasons why I loved it. We had a family room with fabulous views over roof tops towards the lake while my mum had a smaller room just down the corridor. I wanted to sleep with the curtains open so that I could wake up to the view. Both rooms were scrupulously clean and had absolutely everything that we needed and more. The spa bath was huge and felt like a real treat. Wonderful. The owner was helpful and friendly and patiently put up with our silly questions about finding specific television channels. Our two daughters enjoyed the larger pool and we all had a happy time sitting in the outdoor spa. Towels for outdoor use were generously provided and magazines in the public areas were a nice touch. We ordered pizzas one evening and these were delivered to the door. Another evening we ate at the super friendly Mole and Chicken. All in all a luxurious and enjoyable few days. I would most certainly return and look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We made The Reef Resort our base while in the area for a Skiing trip. Was great coming back after a day up the mountain to relax in the hot pool and look out over the lake and mountains! The views are seriously to die for! Room was clean and spacious and had everything we needed to cook our own meals, etc. Spa Bath was lovely too! Will definitely stay here again next time we are in the area. Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Couldn't fault our studio room. Spacious, spotlessly clean, well-equipped. Fantastic uninterruped view across Lake Taupo, even from the spa bath. Friendly, helpful manager. Very quiet, could walk along lake front from in front of the resort. Would stay again and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort

Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#1 Family Hotel in Taupo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#9 Business Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.