We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frankly the nicest room I experienced in New Zealand, great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Lake Taupo to your Saves list
Hilton Lake Taupo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Washington DC
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Frankly the nicest room I experienced in New Zealand, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed in the "heritage wing" (requested it and our wish was granted). The original hotel wing dates to the 19th century (very old for New Zealand) and has been completed renovated and made modern. Our room (room 002) had a wrap around balcony overlooking Lake Taupo with french doors, louvered privacy shutters, incredibly modern appointments and lighting. Our bathroom was the largest I have ever experienced, all stone, with a freestanding soaking tub, a shower for you, your partner, and several of your closest friends if they care to join you. Truly a great great hotel room. Bistro Lago, the restaurant, had a superlative wine list, selections at all price points, and an incredibly welcoming staff. The maitre'd at dinner (I apologize for not remembering his name) was truly helpful and hospitable, suggesting wine pairings, telling us about the off the beaten path thermal springs. Great fitness center, brand new, heated pool and spa. Great collection of black and white photography of historical Taupo and old photos of the Hilton when it was a stagecoach stop on the Taupo/Napier road.

The best of the modern combined with history, hospitality, facilities. Oh, and just down the hill is a local thermal spa, which comes at a discount if you are a Hilton guest. Not touristy, but inexpensive, great "waters", great spot.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    313
    95
    37
    9
See reviews for
205
626
36
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We had an excellent stay at the Hilton. Our apartment was beautiful, clean, ALL staff were very friendly and the food was great. We spent two nights there and loved every minute. We found the staff very cheerful and always offering assistance.

We would recommend this hotel to everybody. We have decided that this will be our anniversary destination.

Thanks heaps to all staff at Taupo from us both!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We took advantage of the January weekend sale as a last minute treat and were very spoilt at the Hilton. We got an upgrade to one bedroom suite overlooking the lake which was HUGE. Make sure you get a Lake view room - it's worth it, and you get the sun on your deck until late.

The staff were fantastic - especially Lisa (Assistant Manager) who couldn't have been more helpful.

Bistro Largo was superb and all of the staff friendly yet professional. Worth staying just for the dining experience.

But then there was the pool. We were lucky to be there on a beautiful day and lying by the pool you could have been at any fancy resort in the world. It was thermally heated too which was devine. Had to force myself to get out!

An excellent choice for a weekend away for a special treat or to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Pleasant and understanding staff, smart, clean and quiet rooms with the bonus of attention to detail. Our stay went way beyond our expectation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

We have just spent four nights at the Hilton, Lake Taupo. This has to have been one of our most relaxing and top class holidays in a long time. We are pretty fussy but we cannot fault this Hotel at all.

The Hilton has created a luxurious and relaxing "oasis" in Taupo..and although Taupo has a lot of other hotels it was crying out for a Five Star Hotel..with a resort feel....however we will have to look no further as we have found exactly what we were looking for. We certainly will be back sooner rather than later and cannot recommend it more highly than to say it really stands out as an absolutely fantastic example of five star luxury, New Zealand style. The staff were fantastic. They showed personal attention to detail without being over the top. They addressed us by name and were more than happy to help. From management to front desk to the house maids...everyone seemed to love their jobs and this shows that the Hilton Family is alive and well ( the staff seem to be treated equally and with respect.. this is very refreshing indeed). They all seem passionate and proud of "their hotel" and this was lovely to see. Blaine , the Assistant manager is very approachable and enthusiastic, he happily showed us the facilities and we appreciated the time he spent with us. The two Nadia's ( yes there are two lovely young ladies at front of house both called Nadia) treated us so well...Anna at concierge is just lovely also. The cleaners were friendly and their standard of cleanliness very good..the rooms immaculate, servicing great and the manner in which they did their job is top class. The turn down service at night was a lovely treat. They deliver Waiwera water (x2), chocolates and leave classical music playing on the "Hilton" radio. They also offered extra towels etc if we needed them. Thanks to the wonderful staff, keep up the good work. You are very deserving of the accolades that you are receiving through trip advisor. Thanks to trip advisor we too found a Hotel that's one in Million!

We had a one bedroom apartment....and boy was it fantastic. It was approx 100m2 with super king bed and top quality white linen. We had an en suite bathroom with bath, shower, twin sinks, heated towel rails, fluffy towels and robes and lots of storage. One other nice touch was the quality of the shampoo, soap etc.They use the brand Crabtree and Evelyn, which in my mind is a very high class product. The only downer was the water pressure was a little poor in the shower..but play around with the settings on the shower head and it does improve.

Our apartment had a huge full kitchen with all the mod cons...even a washing machine and dryer! The granite bench top was 3 metres by 1 metre approx...stunning style throughout with excellent quality Bosch appliances and clean white crockery and every utensil you would ever need. We also had a full dining area with table to sit 6 or more, a balcony overlooking the Lake and Mountains..with another six seater table and chairs. The balcony was very spacious and private and bathed in afternoon sun.
The lounge area once again very spacious with couches and chairs, comfy cushions, large coffee table and a stunning designer lamp. All the decor was to our liking and very very in vogue without being sterile! The benefit of our apartment size (plus two huge LCD TVs!) enabled us to feel like we had a home away from home with all the trimmings. People do complain a little about being away from the lake and township but we felt that the facilities and rooms made up for this..and guys..it's only a five minute drive to town, lake etc. The road noise is fine if you shut your doors and windows, however I believe the new bypass road is nearly finished and that will take most of the heavy traffic away from this area so that's just another bonus in the pipeline for the Hilton I guess. We didn't find the noise at all annoying or off putting. We really did have an awesome stay....four days felt a lot longer and we felt rested and rejuvenated from staying here. it's fair to say we are Hilton converts now!

Other features of the Hilton that we used a lot:

The pool...this good sized pool was not too hot or too cold...plus there was a spa pool adjacent to the main pool for the cooler nights. We made good use of the gym, sauna and steam room. Fresh towels available in the gym and pool area were very handy. Taupo put on great weather for our break so we made good use of the loungers poolside and even got a tan. The restaurant, Bistro Lago was great. We dined there two nights in a row. Loved the Rocket, Pear and Parmesan salad , and the chocolate fondant dessert! The staff at bistro Lago were exceptional. They knew their stuff and were well presented attentive and seemingly loved their jobs! "T" was our favourite waitress. We also ordered a pizza from the restaurant through the room service menu which was tasty, well priced and delivered quickly to our room ( no waiting games here!). I also used the business centre which is equipped with computer, printer, stationary and at an okay price. Dearer than in town but the Internet price is pretty standard hotel wise I guess.

In summary we really really enjoyed our stay here, we will most certainly be back many a time we hope. It is rare to find such a jewel of a Hotel and I believe the Hilton is a real asset not only to Taupo but to NZ as a whole. The standard at the Hilton through all departments was outstanding and we came away feeling as if we'd spent a week at a resort in Fiji ( without all the screaming kids that go with the Fiji experience!!). The Hotel, although fairly busy was quiet and tranquil...you could easily park up and relax without leaving the premises if you wanted.

Activities we enjoyed and recommend are: Tramping/walking up Mount Tauhara...pretty grassroots track but well worth doing..and you can rest your achy muscles in the spa afterwards.

Also played golf at Kinloch at the Jack Nicklaus designed course. It is well worth the drive out to have a look and give the course a go. My husband said it is one of the better ones he has played in NZ.

Bodyfuel cafe ( opposite the information centre ) is fabulous..the food selection and coffee great! Kaffee Eis ( on the same road as Bodyfuel ) make great gelato too. We also enjoyed a pasta meal at Portofino.

All in all we came away with our expectations well satisfied. We didn't think we would fall in love with the Hilton to the extent that we did..we are lucky to have found this place and will be back. Many thanks to the team for making our stay so memorable. We had a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

When can you stay at the Hilton for under $200 AUD? We booked last minute and worked out a great deal with a lake facing room. It rained constantly but the hotel in brand new and clean. We sat in the very hot pool while it drizzled on us for ages. The food and service in the hotel is excellent.. don't even bother going out.. and the view - when it could be see was beautiful. Great spot and service all around.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

When we arrived at the hotel we were a little concerned that it was a few miles out of town, but that very quickly became irrelevant as the staff welcomed us to the hotel and we were taken to a very large apartment overlooking the lake. The room was massive with all possible amenities inc cooker, washer, drier etc and very smart and elegant. We eat in the restaurant and the food and service were exemplary, we eat out the next night but returned the final night to enjoy the hotel. Well worth a visit.
We toured Rotorua and the surrounding area very comfortably from this hotel, it was a good base.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#5 Family Hotel in Taupo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Lake Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.