We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Lake Taupo to your Saves list
Hilton Lake Taupo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Southwest, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hard to Fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed two nights recently in the new section of this hotel and enjoyed staying here. It was clean and spacious. We had a rental car and there is plenty of parking. We enjoyed nipping next door to the hot pools as well. Bathroom was lovely and we had a large balcony. The service was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear oceanmum,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your favourable feedback on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us including the large balcony and friendly service. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton lake Taupo again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    269
    79
    29
    8
See reviews for
174
544
31
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great scenery, nice atmosphere, modern and clean rooms, very polite and helpful staff, good value and an upgrade. Nice restaurant. All round a very enjoyable night at the hotel and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear mattypaul,

Many thanks for your trip advisor post. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms to be modern and clean and the team to be polite and helpful.
We hope to be able to welcome you back so you can experience more of our wonderful region.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Hilton was able to accommodate for our unusual group of three adults and four children under 11 years old. The apartment was spacious and we had amazing view of lake Taupo and mount Ruapehu. Absolutely loved our stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear 415sandiet,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that the apartment met your needs and that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a one bedroom room with a beautiful view of the lake and mountains. The room was huge with a large lounge area and full kitchen. The facilities are beautiful and all staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Thanks especially it Michael who looked after us at the Bistro Lago. Lovely food and ambience. The hotel is a little out of town but we had a hire car and no trouble finding our way around. A special thank you to housekeeping who bought us extra water for our daughter who was unwell ( we did not ask for this but was much appreciated).

Room Tip: Book the lake view rooms. During winter the view of snow capped mountains behind the lake is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Patrice R,

It is fantastic to hear that you and your family enjoyed their recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to comment about it on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you found facilities to be beautiful and staff to be extremely helpful and pleasant. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton after a bad nights sleep at De Bretts next door (thats another review).
We found the staff to be friendly, and efficient, and the hotel itself to be well maintained inside and out.
It has a lovely spa out back which is great on cold winter nights... also less tourists during the winter so it was hardly used.
We stayed in a king deluxe room overlooking lake Taupo. The room was warm and quiet. Admittedly it was on the ground floor so you cant see a huge amount of lake Taupo. I assume to get an upstairs room the cost goes up per level.
One slight gripe was the room service quality. I find in NZ in general room service is overpriced, and undelivers on food quality. In this case The Hilton was no exception.
A chicken breast dish was ordered which was pretty undercooked. Room service advised this was because the way the meat was cooked, boiling rather than grilling, or baking etc. I'd have to disagree as the meat was still pink in the center, and when squeezed pink juices were visible. We were not charged for the meal.

Other than the general price/quality of room service, and mishap on the chicken breast, we enjoyed our stay as a whole. 4/5


Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Travelbugs66,

I really appreciate you taking the time to post feedback about your recent stay with, and it is fantastic to see that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you also for your additional comments regarding the room service meal, I will be passing your feedback onto our chef for his reference. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A great stay - clean, warm and comfortable with expansive lake views. Restaurant is an great place to dine for both dinner and breakfast. We did not want to leave the premises on a wet winter's night so it was good to be able to do everything in the one facility. Excellent service from everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Phillip J,

Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us and it is fantastic to see that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Fabulous hotel. extremely friendly and helpful staff. Great food. Lovely room with Lake views which was stunning. Definitely recommend. Excellent conference facilities with good natural light in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Toni K,

I am delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be fabulous, the team to be friendly and helpful, and that the conference facilities were fitting to your needs. Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#5 Family Hotel in Taupo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Lake Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.