We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Lake Taupo to your Saves list
Hilton Lake Taupo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Booked several months in advance, got the deluxe room on end with a large balcony looking right at the lake. Beautifully furnished and maintained. We ordered room service and ate our dinner on the balcony at dusk. Very memorable!

Room Tip: Quiet, romantic and very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear NevadaRealtor,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor I appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. We have enjoyed some outstanding sunsets thus far into summer and it is nice to read that you experienced one of these from our Heritage building.

Thank you against for posting and hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    313
    95
    37
    9
See reviews for
205
625
36
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Lovely and modern hotel. Great pool area and gym. We were on the bottom level across from the pool and my only complaint was the noise as people walked past the room and the noise coming from the pool area by kids playing "Marco Polo" (not that I have a problem with this, just dont want to hear it when I'm putting my own kid to sleep). As it doesnt get dark until later you do hear the noise into the night. From memory the pool area closes at 10pm. other than that one complaint the reception were very helpful at arranging tours and the rooms very clean and comfortable. Lovely outdoor area off the rooms where you can sit out.

Room Tip: Away from the pool if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear avagraceisace,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by children playing in the pool. I am not familiar with the Marco Polo game, it sounds interesting and I am sorry that it appears to be a noisy game.

Please touch base personally on your next visit and I will ensure you are allocated a room further away from the pool and leisure facilities.

My best regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Taupo Hilton has so many great aspects. The restaurant offers not only great food but the most gorgeous views of sunset over the lake. The pool, spa and gym complex is divine. The rooms are predictable - fairly standard for a big hotel. It is the charm of the setting that is so wonderful here as well as the staff who are very helpful.

Room Tip: I love the pool so much I like a ground floor room that has a verandah and a short walk to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear rubygirlNewZealand,

Many thanks for sharing on TripAdvisor it pleases me greatly to read that your stay with us was your "best summer holiday ever". We do strive to offer the best of the best in region with a touch of Taupo hospitality and I am very glad to hear that your stay was most enjoyable.

Please touch base on your next visit as I would love to say hello.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hilton Taupo was outstanding. After driving all day this was a perfect place to enjoy a night in. The staff was very friendly, room service was better than we had expected, the bed was extremely comfortable, and for the first time ever I have to rave about a bathroom in a review. The shower was huge, the bathtub was beautiful and the heated floors were just the icing on the cake. I was a little hesitant of the location as it is not as close to the lake as I thought it was going to be. Our room had a lake view, but with that came a parking lot view. We still enjoyed a sunset dinner on our patio and have no complaints.

Room Tip: Our room was a renovated room in the original part of the hotel. I found it perfect and charming. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear supabeanz,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your fantastic and most enjoyable stay at the hotel. I am most pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel personally.

Please do touch base when you are next staying.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Couldn't fault anything, an absolutely perfect stay from arrival untill departure.

The staff at the hotel were exceptionally friendly and personable - none of that corporate city hotel computerised spiel, they were actually people with personality!

Location outstanding with a perfect sunset view over the lake from our Apartment!

This was my second stay and very highly recommended we even saw a slight sprinkle of snow on Mt Ruapehu one morning!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear kiwilovetravel,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience on TripAdvisor. It is always very pleasing to read that our guests have experienced a thoroughly enjoyable stay and that our goal of offering the best of the best has been met.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the high level of service offered by the team and do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel for a third stay with us shortly.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would stay in this hotel again. Rooms were a decent size and our 1bedroom apartment had a balcony overlooking the pool. Gym facilities were really good. The pool is heated and they have a spa bath too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear B1900 ,

Many thanks for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is pleasing to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at Hilton Lake Taupo.

Just to clarify for other readers of TripAdvisor, it would appear that you may have been accommodated in a Junior Suite overlooking our fabulous leisure and pool facilities with the historical Onekeneke Valley down behind.

I do hope that we will see you back at the hotel at some stage in the future. Safe travels!

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with my wife in a massive one bedroom self-contained apartment (room 234) with large balcony facing west overlooking the lake. This is a new hotel in a quiet area on the edge of town about 2kms from the CBD. It has 4 floors and a basement car park, outdoor swimming pool next to a separate modern amd well-equiped gym and the adjoining reception building contains the restaurant.

We loved our stay here and would recommend this hotel over any of the competition. We had the continental breakfast which was sufficient for us and the full buffet was just the basic fare anyway. Staff we very warm and friendly throughout the hotel.

Parking was well catered for with free outside parking on land just below reception, $15/day secure self-parking in the basement or $25/day valet parking - you couldn't ask for better than that.

My only criticism was the very very unstable unreliable WiFi which continually dropped out every few minutes, sometimes seconds, throughout my stay here - very frustrating to say the least. As a Gold HH member I got this service for free for the 3 nights/4 days here but had I paid the $116 value I would have been absolutely infuriated!

I strongly recommend staying here for a few days and using this location as a hub for day trips to Rotorua and the wine region of Hawkes Bay - recommend Craggy Range Winery for lunch & great wines.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear ChrisM,

Many thanks for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I appreciate you choosing to experience Hilton Lake Taupo and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Unfortunately I have tried unsuccessfully to contact you via your review, it would appear you are not accepting direct messages.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the in room Internet. This is certainly not what we want guests to experience. It would assist me greatly to investigate if you could advise what part of the hotel you were residing in or room number. A number of our room types have their own wifi transmitter so usually service is very good. We further upgraded to fibre optic high speed Internet last year and the speed and quality of this should be at a high level.

Thank you for brining this to my attention, I will ensure our IT person checks this site-wide.

I do hope that we may see you again shortly.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#5 Family Hotel in Taupo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Lake Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.