We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Lake Taupo to your Saves list
Hilton Lake Taupo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hilton Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent three days at the hotel this week, the room was very comfortable, although we ,and two other guests thought the hedge at the lake side view could have hada small trim so we didnt have to stand to get the whole lake view.
The service was excellent, but the piece de resistance, was Bistro Lago, the food absolutely amazing, the wonderful taste of local products sent my taste buds into a spin.
They obviously use the best products. How can scrambled eggs and bacon taste so good.
And Trevor and his team do a wonderful job, whether it was lunch ,dinner or night caps at night.

Room Tip: Lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Robyn E,

Many thanks for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

I appreciate your feedback regarding your fantastic experience at Bistro Lago restaurant and will ensure this is passed on to Trevor and his team.

With regards to the hedges, we are this week pruning these following the last few weeks of heavy growth.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again shortly.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    269
    79
    29
    8
See reviews for
175
544
31
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Unfortunately, this property has been a bit of a let down. While most likely still be the best place in town (not hard with all those crappy little no-name motels), it's not what they make it out to be on the Hilton website. First of all, the really lovely renovated old heritage building is beautiful but what they don't really tell you is that the main annex building is an extremely ugly greyish block of concrete and most rooms will be in that part. While you can see the lake in the distance from the upper floors on the lakeside, the actual location of the hotel is several miles away and happens to be right next to a busy road rather than a tranquil spot by the lake. Given all the other issues with the hotel and the need to always drive into town (walk would be about half an hour on an extremely unpleasant path alongside said busy road) we were wondering if it wouldn't be the smarter choice to stay at one of the many lower quality (but I bet also much lower priced) motels right at the edge of town by the lakefront. The worst part though is how they came up with a really stupid layout of that main block and we were wondering the entire stay what the architect had smoked while coming up with it: First of all, the building is devided into 4 separate wings which all have one single elevator each. You can easily imagine what happens as soon as a party moves in or out of that one wing while all the other guests are waiting for ages for this one dedicated elevator to arrive.

Second, within the wings, the rooms are ordered in a really strange way so that we had to pass three heavy fire doors leading from corridor to sub-corridor until we finally arrived at our room. The fire exits are meant to be through the rooms onto the outside terrace meaning that if you're at the elevator and the adjacent rooms are deadlocked from the inside you'll be roasting pretty nicely without anywhere to go. Not sure how that got through fire regulations but it all seemed as if they built all this and then realized how stupid the layout was.

Speaking of the outside terrace: In most rooms, you do't have a private balcony but rather an exit onto that terrace which you share with three other rooms. There are separate tables and chairs on it but privacy is absolutely zero which really spoiled our entire stay as we love to have a quiet wine and conversation on the balcony after a long day out. I've attached a photo of this weird set up which we've never seen before anywhere else- again, we couldn't stop the feeling that this was meant to be divided in the last minute they realized that this space needs to be left open to provide a fire exit.

Some additional comments: On the good side, great comfortable beds (though as often at Hilton, two double beds with a king size mattress on top of it rather than a proper "King bed"), friendly (though not necessarily efficient) service and a really great lobby area in the beautifully renovated old wing. More negatives: Extremely stingy with the bathroom amenities, we always had to call up and ask for more as housekeeping would not restock automatically. The pool was quite disappointing as well, far too small for a property of this size so you'd always find young children jumping into it from the sides and the whirlpool at any time had at least two other pairs of strangers in there- no thanks. The gym was not much better either, a property like this could do with something much better. And another idiotic little setup is the parking: They probably expect people to happily pay the ridiculous parking fee for the undercover garage while even in town, parking is free everywhere. You are also given the option to park outside the hotel for free and of course, most guests will do that. As a result, at most times (especially in the evening when outside guests will come to dine at the restaurant), the assigned outside spots are all taken. As a result, they've attached a pebbled little parking stretch at the front of the property (which is what the "lake view" rooms look out on) and even that is not big enough so that every night, you will see cars spilling out onto the surrounding grass area (!). Just not a good look and simply silly in our eyes.

Room Tip: Be aware that "Lake view" still means the lake being in the far distance though the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear sydneyberlin,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to read that we fell short of your expectations and the high level of service, accommodation and facilities that we strive to deliver.

It would appear from your feedback that you were accommodated in the third section of our Mountain Wing, which as noted offers shared balconies due to these being a designated fire exit. The Mountain Wing is constructed in five different sections which increases the safety of guests in the event of a fire and each pod is a separate fire cell. This layout is only applicable in the third section of the new building. As you will appreciate we take guest safety extremely seriously.

In response to your comment regarding a delay on elevators, this has not been an issue due to the limited number of rooms that each elevator services in the separate sections of the Mountain WIng.

Hilton Lake Taupo is located a short distance from the town centre in between Mt Tauhara and Lake Taupo in an elevated position offering higher level views of the Great Lake and distant Tongariro National Park.

Again, I am terribly sorry that we fell short of your expectations and trust my response above has reassured you that the design of the new building is with guests safety in mind.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel, and found it delightful. The rooms and ammenities were excellent and the restaurant and food first class.
Staff were very helpful, cheerful and polite.
However this was spoilt by the poor House keeping department.
Despite putting our "Please refresh our room" sign outside the door by 8.30am each morning, we were lucky to get dry towels and our bed made by mid-late afternoon. In fact one evening on arriving back to our room at 5pm to shower and get ready to go out, we found it still had not been serviced!
House keeping just had a recorded message on their phone, so we complained to the duty manager. I admit staff were sent promptly to rectify this, but it necessitated us standing out on the veranda for 25 minutes waiting.
We also noticed that the light coloured tiles inside the entrance to our block of rooms, and also on the level our room was on, remained dirty with lumps of dried mud and footprints for 3 days before it was mopped.
I really do hate to be critical, but this was such a shame because everything else about the hotel was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Sue R,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the team helpful, cheerful and polite.

I am sorry to read that you were inconvenienced by the time your room was serviced during your stay. Our housekeeping team work a full day and try their very best to clean rooms in a prompt fashion and are usually complete by 4:00pm. It would appear that during the Christmas period we did exceed our usual timing due to some delays on our linnen supply for which I am sincerely sorry and will be addressing.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Hilton Lake Taupo, I do hope that we will see you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Hilton at Taupo is a lovely property. Very modern and clean, albeit a little out of town (10 minute drive) which gives it a good view from the hillside. It also has a great pool and gym. There are a couple of negatives however. The room we were initially given (well above the basic room) had a balcony that was shared with a nosy neighbour who could stand in front of our only window and look into our room. Whilst the manager sorted this out and moved us to a more private room, this was the least private room I've ever seen in a 5 star hotel. Also the comments re staff being bewildered was exactly consistent with our experience - I think there's a lot of new or temporary staff so basic things like dinner reservations seemed unnecessarily complex. All in all good, but not great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear VWSydney,

I appreciate you taking the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding your recent experience with us and are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations 100%.

I am unsure why the team seemed "bewildered" as a majority of our hotel team have been with us for a long period of time. I will however investigate your feedback further to ensure all the team are up to speed on delivering the very high level of service we strive to maintain.

As noted the hotel is not located in the town centre however is a short 5-minute drive to the CBD or a quick 10-minute walk to the lakefront walking track. Having said this location is premium, in an elevated position, offering panoramic lake and national park views in the distance.

Thanks again for sharing and I do hope that we will see you back in Taupo again in the future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, very picturesque, with professionalism that exceeded expectations. The only disappointments were the high costs for wifi and a very substandard breakfast which was far below Hilton standards. That aside, if free wifi is not important to you then I thoroughly recommend this hotel. A much better standard than Manuels by the lake.

Room Tip: The ' deluxe rooms with lake view' do not really provide lake view - you need to go out of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear AmbieLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I note your feedback regarding internet available at the hotel and would like to mention that we do infact offer complimentary wifi in our lobby and business centre.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy breakfast in Celebrity Chef Simon Gaults Bistro Lago restaurant, I will pass this on to the management of Bistro Lago for review.

I do appreciate your "tip" regarding the hedges infront of our mountain which offer privacy to the patio's on the ground floor. I am pleased to advise that we are currently in the process of trimming these following the fantastic growth we have had in the past few weeks.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We totally enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Lake Taupo. We were upgraded to a large 2 room suite, which was very comfortable and spacious. Although the temperature was a bit cool, we still enjoyed the heated pool and spa. The gym and sauna were also an added bonus. We rented 2 bikes (which were a bit over-priced -- $60 for less than 3 hours) but it was a beautiful ride along the lake, and into town.
We found the breakfast to be adequate, (maybe not as good as other Hilton's we had stayed at), but we're completely satisfied with our stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Frankm2011,


Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hilton Lake Taupo. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to make full use of the hotel leisure facilities.

I do appreciate your feedback regarding the bicycles we have available for hire at the hotel. These are provided and maintained by a third party supplier and available for rent by the hour via the hotel.

Thank you again for sharing on TripAdvisor and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again sometime in the no too distant future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Great accommodation. Clean, modern, fabulous pool that was enjoyed by the whole family. Perfectly fine gym. We had dinner at the restaurant which was delicious. My only criticism would be the service, the staff seemed a little frazzled & bewildered at times but to be fair it was Xmas & very busy!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear LisaRed40,

Seasons greetings and thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Taupo and were able to experience the hotels indoor and outdoor facilities.

I thank you for your feedback regarding service and would appreciate it if you could message me via TripAdvisor with further details. While it has been busy during the festive season there should have been no reason that you did not experience our usual very high standard of service offering.

We strive to offer the best of the best in the region and I do hope that we will see you again in the near future.

I note your feedback regarding Bistro Lago restaurant and encourage you to comment further on the TripAdvisor page for this establishment.

Sincerely,
Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#5 Family Hotel in Taupo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Lake Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.