We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely Hotel, but .....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Lake Taupo to your Saves list
Hilton Lake Taupo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really lovely Hotel, but .....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel, and found it delightful. The rooms and ammenities were excellent and the restaurant and food first class.
Staff were very helpful, cheerful and polite.
However this was spoilt by the poor House keeping department.
Despite putting our "Please refresh our room" sign outside the door by 8.30am each morning, we were lucky to get dry towels and our bed made by mid-late afternoon. In fact one evening on arriving back to our room at 5pm to shower and get ready to go out, we found it still had not been serviced!
House keeping just had a recorded message on their phone, so we complained to the duty manager. I admit staff were sent promptly to rectify this, but it necessitated us standing out on the veranda for 25 minutes waiting.
We also noticed that the light coloured tiles inside the entrance to our block of rooms, and also on the level our room was on, remained dirty with lumps of dried mud and footprints for 3 days before it was mopped.
I really do hate to be critical, but this was such a shame because everything else about the hotel was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Sue R,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the team helpful, cheerful and polite.

I am sorry to read that you were inconvenienced by the time your room was serviced during your stay. Our housekeeping team work a full day and try their very best to clean rooms in a prompt fashion and are usually complete by 4:00pm. It would appear that during the Christmas period we did exceed our usual timing due to some delays on our linnen supply for which I am sincerely sorry and will be addressing.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Hilton Lake Taupo, I do hope that we will see you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    253
    72
    27
    8
See reviews for
163
508
30
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Hilton at Taupo is a lovely property. Very modern and clean, albeit a little out of town (10 minute drive) which gives it a good view from the hillside. It also has a great pool and gym. There are a couple of negatives however. The room we were initially given (well above the basic room) had a balcony that was shared with a nosy neighbour who could stand in front of our only window and look into our room. Whilst the manager sorted this out and moved us to a more private room, this was the least private room I've ever seen in a 5 star hotel. Also the comments re staff being bewildered was exactly consistent with our experience - I think there's a lot of new or temporary staff so basic things like dinner reservations seemed unnecessarily complex. All in all good, but not great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear VWSydney,

I appreciate you taking the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding your recent experience with us and are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations 100%.

I am unsure why the team seemed "bewildered" as a majority of our hotel team have been with us for a long period of time. I will however investigate your feedback further to ensure all the team are up to speed on delivering the very high level of service we strive to maintain.

As noted the hotel is not located in the town centre however is a short 5-minute drive to the CBD or a quick 10-minute walk to the lakefront walking track. Having said this location is premium, in an elevated position, offering panoramic lake and national park views in the distance.

Thanks again for sharing and I do hope that we will see you back in Taupo again in the future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, very picturesque, with professionalism that exceeded expectations. The only disappointments were the high costs for wifi and a very substandard breakfast which was far below Hilton standards. That aside, if free wifi is not important to you then I thoroughly recommend this hotel. A much better standard than Manuels by the lake.

Room Tip: The ' deluxe rooms with lake view' do not really provide lake view - you need to go out of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear AmbieLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I note your feedback regarding internet available at the hotel and would like to mention that we do infact offer complimentary wifi in our lobby and business centre.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy breakfast in Celebrity Chef Simon Gaults Bistro Lago restaurant, I will pass this on to the management of Bistro Lago for review.

I do appreciate your "tip" regarding the hedges infront of our mountain which offer privacy to the patio's on the ground floor. I am pleased to advise that we are currently in the process of trimming these following the fantastic growth we have had in the past few weeks.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We totally enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Lake Taupo. We were upgraded to a large 2 room suite, which was very comfortable and spacious. Although the temperature was a bit cool, we still enjoyed the heated pool and spa. The gym and sauna were also an added bonus. We rented 2 bikes (which were a bit over-priced -- $60 for less than 3 hours) but it was a beautiful ride along the lake, and into town.
We found the breakfast to be adequate, (maybe not as good as other Hilton's we had stayed at), but we're completely satisfied with our stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Frankm2011,


Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hilton Lake Taupo. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to make full use of the hotel leisure facilities.

I do appreciate your feedback regarding the bicycles we have available for hire at the hotel. These are provided and maintained by a third party supplier and available for rent by the hour via the hotel.

Thank you again for sharing on TripAdvisor and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again sometime in the no too distant future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Great accommodation. Clean, modern, fabulous pool that was enjoyed by the whole family. Perfectly fine gym. We had dinner at the restaurant which was delicious. My only criticism would be the service, the staff seemed a little frazzled & bewildered at times but to be fair it was Xmas & very busy!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear LisaRed40,

Seasons greetings and thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Taupo and were able to experience the hotels indoor and outdoor facilities.

I thank you for your feedback regarding service and would appreciate it if you could message me via TripAdvisor with further details. While it has been busy during the festive season there should have been no reason that you did not experience our usual very high standard of service offering.

We strive to offer the best of the best in the region and I do hope that we will see you again in the near future.

I note your feedback regarding Bistro Lago restaurant and encourage you to comment further on the TripAdvisor page for this establishment.

Sincerely,
Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Spent the weekend here with my wife and 7 year old son,using my HHonors points!
What a result!!We were upgraded to a massive one bedroom apartment with amazing views of Lake Taupo and every possible luxury and amenity.Everything was brand new and spotless and the decor was awesome.Spent most of our time at the heated pool or enjoying the views from our massive balcony.Did not feel like leaving the apartment at all,as we had everything we wanted
on hand.Ventured out to the restaurant for an awesome dinner on our first night and chose to dine in our apartment on our second night.Throw in complimentary breakfast,wifi and late check out and our weekend away was complete!
Would not stay anywhere else ever again when visiting Taupo!

Room Tip: Ask for lake facing apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Docmark00,

Seasons greetings and thank you for taking a few moments to post on TripAdvisor. It is pleasing to read that your stay with us was thoroughly enjoyable and in particular you enjoyed the luxury of a spacious One Bedroom Apartment offering all that you need to enjoy, self cater and relax.

It is also great to read that you enjoyed your dining experience in Celebrity Chef Simon Gault's Bistro Lago Restaurant.

Merry Christmas, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel once again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

we stayed here for three nights,The staff were friendly and helpfull.the junior suite was great,the facilities fantastic. the restaurant food was incredible as were the staff and the view.all hotels should be like this one. cheers.ken and Virginia.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear kennethandvirginia,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Lake Taupo, I appreciate you taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

It is always very pleasing to hear that we have ensured a memorable guest experience and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards for the Christmas and holiday season.

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Lake Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.