We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful staff, excellent room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Lake Taupo to your Saves list
Hilton Lake Taupo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wonderful staff, excellent room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent a very enjoyable night in this well run hotel. The staff were excellent - welcoming, efficient and professional. The large room in the older part of the hotel was beautifully renovated, exceptional bathroom for the price with a pleasant view over well tended gardens. The swimming pool and hot pool are pleasant ant there is a very good gym. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear PapaAndMarpie,

Thank you for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor. It is always very pleasing to hear that we have exceeded our guest expectations and I very much value your feedback regarding our team and accommodation.

I do hope that we will see you at the hotel again sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    269
    79
    29
    8
See reviews for
175
544
31
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

As Hilton offers upgrades on reservations we opted for an upgrade to a one bedroom apartment for a three night stay. The apartment block is located in a new building adjacent to the older hotel, which we have also stayed in. The apartment has a very modern decor and views out towards the mountains and lake. Even though it was cold (July) we sat on the deck for a drink and watched the sun set. You can make your own breakfast (or if you want a meal). Bed was very comfortable, large bathroom with rain shower and bath. Hot pools are behind the apartment block and excellent restaurant on site. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Two negatives - not easy to walk down to the lakefront - the footpath is not completed. And the undeveloped land at the front of the hotel detracts from the site. Council and owners should work on resolving this.

Room Tip: In the hotel choose a room facing away from the road - the noise is quite noticeable. Take the optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Remmers12,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in July. I appreciate your comments and are pleased to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one.

I am pleased to advise that we are half way through the development of additional parking on the section in front of the hotel, once complete this will be surrounded by a garden to improve the overall look. With regards to a footpath from the hotel down Napier Road, this road has only recently become deregistered as State Highway One, this is something that has been address with Council.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Apartment that we had was stunning with great Lake Views and well worth what we were paying.
The staff without exception were both efficient and courteous.
However there were 2 downsides to our 3 day stay.
Firstly the external walk to the on site restaurant.When we stayed the weather was both cold and wet and on the third night we cancelled out restaurant booking rather than bother with the discomfort.
Secondly the $14.50 charge for 1 hour of Wi Fi connection especially in since motels that we have recently stayed in Wi Fi was free.I feel that the charge is excessive beyond belief

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Willie0,

Thank you for posting feedback regarding your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor, I thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read that you found our accommodation and team friendly efficient and courteous.

With regards to WiFi we do offer various plan options and are also pleased to provide complimentary WiFi in both the hotel lobby and business centre connectivity station areas, I do apologise if this was not bought to your attention.

I note that you reside in Wellington and do hope that we will see you again shortly.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As usual a large room that was extremely well decorated, but the room had not been properly prepared when we moved in. The bins were still full of rubbish from the previous occupants, but this was soon corrected by housekeeping after a phone call to reception. Our room had no lake view but we could have upgraded to this for an extra $45 per night. Parking out front was in an insecure area but again this could have been changed to a secure area for a further $15. The room was well appointed as you would expect from such a well established hotel chain. There was a lot of hanging space in the room which has not always been the case in previous hotels we have stayed at.

Breakfast was continental in style and self service. There was a wide range of the usual cereal, breads, fruit juices etc as well as a hot buffet of bacon eggs prepared in various ways and many other items. The breakfast area was also the dining room and a good view over the lake was obtainable from it. This view was very picturesque as the mountains were covered in snow from a late spring heavy fall. Obviously this will not always be the case. The evening meal was very tasty and very well presented. We were told there would be a 20 minute wait for our main course as we had chosen not to have a starter BUT this wait proved to be over 40 minutes which we felt to be unacceptable but the food when it arrived was superb.

One bonus if you chose to use it was the TV signal was very good with little or no interference that we have experienced at other hotels.

We had pre paid for breakfast but on checking out found that this was still costed into our bill again something that should NOT happen in such an establishment. However as a plus point there was no excess for settling the bill with a credit card.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Makesholiday,

I appreciate you taking the time to post on TripAdvisor and thank you for your kind feedback. I am sorry that you found rubbish in your room upon arrival and can assure you that is by no means a reflection of our usual very high cleanliness standards, I do apologise for this.

It is pleasing to read that in general you enjoyed your experience with us and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a one-night stay here - excellent Diamond upgrade to a lake view apartment (even better the following morning when the mist cleared!) - very impressed with the standard of the room and the facilities on offer. Staff all extremely helpful. Only minor gripes would be the muddy field for on-site parking and that only continental breakfast offered to Diamonds - I know that's all we're strictly entitled to, but most other Hiltons in Oceania/Far East seem to offer some hot food too. As I say this was but a minor gripe though on a very good stay. If not driving then note it's a bit of a hike into town from the property - quick drive/taxi though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear alanjr_uk,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is always very pleasing to hear that we have assisted with a pleasant experience in Great Lake Taupo and that our team provided the high level of service we strive to offer.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We managed to escape the children for a rare weekend away, and decided to stay at the Hilton in Taupo. Despite a slightly "backpacker-ish" feel when I first arrived (and no one available at reception to greet me), when we actually checked in slightly later in the day, all went smoothly.

The room was lovely, and the pool and gym facilites excellent.

Didn't dine in, but had pre-dinner drinks in the bar - again, great service etc.

I did wonder whether there are different "grades" of Hilton, as this one seemed slightly more "relaxed" I guess, and less of a luxury hotel. Just an observation. All in all though, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Rackil,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hilton Lake Taupo. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away from the children with us in Taupo.

As we are located in a leisure/resort destination we do have a fairly friendly and relaxed team however at the same time strive to offer the best service and accommodations in the region.

I hope that we will see you again soon for another memorable weekend in Taupo.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having stayed there twice in two months and both times no complaints nor faults. Service excellent and the rooms up to scratch with the Hilton brand. Have no problems in recommending for business or family travel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear scottyAuckland,

I appreciate you taking the time to share on TripAdvisor, it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stays with us.

Due to the usernames on TripAdvisor I am not able to check if you are already a Hilton Hhonors member however due to your potential regular trips to Taupo may I encourage you to join so that we may recognise you for this and take note of any special requests or preferences you may have when staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again shortly.

Kind regards,
Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#5 Family Hotel in Taupo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Lake Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.