We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huka Falls Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Huka Falls Resort to your Saves list
Huka Falls Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   56 Huka Falls Road | PO Box 155, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Huka Falls Resort
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Spacious, clean, quiet, and inviting - this is an excellent spot for a short overnight stay while travelling or a longer sojourn in the area.

Made to feel welcome even though I was arriving after reception had closed - a friendly phone call - clear instructions, and a heater left on for me - very welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    50
    16
    13
    7
See reviews for
47
67
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great hosts, good value rooms and fab service. Well equipped villa and worth a visit! Good base for a family trip with everything you need within five or ten
minutes drive! Huka falls, craters of the moon and volcanic activity Centre is well worth a visit. Plenty of opportunities for food on site and in nearby taupo and lots of shops if you fancy a bit of retail therapy!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you want comfort and birdsong with the odd rabbit and quail try this beautiful rural home from home.
The air is so fresh and and clear with our Cabin overlooking Taupo we were very happy and could well have stayed a week or more.
We will be sure to stay here again only 3kms from town and probably the best Takeaway in NZ. Eurasian it is called and they even gave us four pieces of fudge for dessert !

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had booked last minute on booking.com. Got a very good rate for a Studio and were pleasantly surprised to be up-graded to a suite on arrival. Nice chalet with veranda. Colonial style with lots of lovely rimu panelling/doors etc. Warm and spacious with very comfortable bed. A cold night but the heating was very efficient and warmed the rooms very quickly. Quiet although there wasn't anyone in the adjoining chalet. Carport parking right outside door. Good shower pressure. Helpful and friendly reception staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Three of us stayed here, we each had our own one bedroom apartment. We could have rented one complete unit and saved some money as the one bedroom unit had an additional bedroom attached that you could access through a door.. Our unit was very spacious and very clean. It was actually like an apartment. The bed was comfortable , the bathroom clean and a nice size. The grounds are park like. There is a small swimming pool but it was not warm enough when we were there.

You can wonder around on the beautiful grounds. There is a cute little cafe with a nice deck and a gorgeous view. Sadly we never had the opportunity to use it because it was closed on the days we were there. The resort is just outside of town (Taupo) and is very serene. We really liked and would definitely stay again.

Pros: friendly and helpful front desk, very clean, spacious and comfortable ( bring your own food)

Cons: the additional attached bedroom (I never looked at one) does not have good sound barrier and we could hear the folks quite easily. This can be a problem.

Room Tip: It is located just minutes out of town. There is a nice kitchen so bring your food and beverages and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

There for wedding and was plenty of space for us. onsite restaurant good for the kids while we were at the wedding reception. what we paid is what we expect for family of 5. heating adequate. beds good and the 5th bed was supposed to be a rollaway but the put in a single bed for us so that was very good. staff friendly.

kids cant use pool during the cold months but we knew that.

I knew others had the 1 bedroom units which I wouldnt recommend. Seem very cramped and single door separating the units.

Room Tip: take the 2bdm villas if u have more than two people as close to the reception area as possible if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Our title should say everything........ We fell in love with Huka Falls Resort 5 years ago on our visit and we saved our last three days for this visit in NZ as our finale. The Resort didn't disappoint.

Whilst we booked a 1 bedroom apartment we were given a two bedroom chalet and had the most wonderful time. The accommodation is roomy, has all that you require, beds are comfortable, staff helpful and villas are clean.

The resort is 5 mins drive out of Taupo at the top of a hill where there is the most spectacular view of the lake and mountain ranges. The resort itself consists of a series of small chalet's/villas spread over a large area of well maintained land and gardens amidst a vineyard. It is quiet and peaceful. We had a great time sipping wine and eating NZ cheese whilst watching the rabbits in the grounds. The villas are self contained and we self catered for two nights and visited the onsite restaurant for our last night (separate review for Pinot).....

Importantly, Huka Falls Resort is well positioned for your visit. Close to the falls a must see and the thermal park. There is as much as you would like to do - or as little. We simply had the best time feeding the ducks at the harbour (try the coffee stand there too - awesome coffee) - the hungry ducks cleaned us out of a loaf of bread and for $1.70 some of the cheapest fun we have enjoyed in NZ.

So this was our second visit. Would we return........ you bet...... and for longer it was so restful.

The only criticism is that the lounge sagged and we couldn't sit on it so chose the tub chairs and the dining chairs needed recovering. I am sure that the resort will address these factors as they do seem to value providing a quality location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Huka Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huka Falls Resort

Address: 56 Huka Falls Road | PO Box 155, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huka Falls Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huka Falls Resort offers a peaceful, private and relaxed environment situated just minutes from New Zealand's largest lake, the world renowned Huka Falls, and the thriving township of Taupo. Nestled amongst 7 hectares of landscaped gardens and a vineyard sit our spacious stand alone villas. With three styles of accommodation consisting of 19 stand alone two bedroom villas, 11 one bedroom suites & 11 studios (which are linked by an interconnecting door). This is a unique venue for everyone with 2 tennis courts, an outdoor swimming pool (summer months), petanque and wine tasting onsite in the restaurant. The Huka Falls Restaurant offers stunning views over Mt Tauhara & the Pinot Noir Vineyard. Summer- Open daily from 11.30am to 9pm. Closed Sunday and Monday evenings, Winter - Open for Brunch/Lunch Tuesday to Sunday 11am - 3pm. Dinner Thursday, Friday & Saturday 5:30pm - late. Closed Monday. (Easter to Labour weekend). The perfect setting for your wedding, with a historic church, stunning landscaped gardens & a variety of reception venues. We offer 6 conference rooms catering from 2-120 guests, a full range of technical, presentation equipment and conference support. Summer time: Reception is open daily from 7.00am to 10.00pm. Winter time: Reception is open from 7.00am to 8.00pm Sunday to Thursday and 7.00am to 9.00pm on Friday and Saturday. If you plan to arrive at the Resort outside of these hours, please contact our friendly reception team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Huka Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huka Falls Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huka Falls Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.