We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huka Falls Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Huka Falls Resort to your Saves list
Huka Falls Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   56 Huka Falls Road | PO Box 155, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Neat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

This place is good. Close to town and far enough away from the dirty backpackers. Clean and well kept with a view makes my girlfriend happy. Drinking wine and eating is what we be doin all day er day son

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    63
    32
    19
    8
See reviews for
55
85
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

was a wonderful, relaxing stay- lovely grounds - beautifully clean rooms,good sized villa. Sumptuous food, great for little ones as well - we had our baby with us. Lovely rural aspect. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Be as connected or reclusive as you like - great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohope, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful outlook from our room over the vineyard. Awesome big villa. Very quiet spot and very clean. Nice comfy bed. Close to town with friendly staff. Lacked a rubbish bin ( only had a rubbish bag) & didnt have any plastic containers for the microwave & also seemed to have cutlery missing but all VERY minor things easily overlooked.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a great find, just a few minutes drive from central Taupo. Villas are very spacious with fully equipped kitchens and a generous sized lounge to relax in. Undercover attached parking is a nice touch on frosty Taupo mornings. The restaurant at the end of the driveway serves decent food in nice surroundings - highly recommended for families or groups.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in a 2-bed villa at this resort. Great for us (2 adults 2 children). Out of the centre of Taupo but only 5 mins drive away and we loved the fact that it was so peaceful with no traffic noise etc. All the villas are set around gardens and are very spaced out so lots of privacy. Villa was fairly basic but immaculately clean and had everything we needed for our 3-night stay. Bed linen and towels seemed brand new and of good quality. We didn't eat at the resort so can't comment on the food but the restaurant looked good. Slightly disappointed not to have a bath (always enjoy a long soak while on hols!) as sure the hotel description mentioned a bath but the shower was fine. In conclusion, would recommend this resort, no complaints at all. Wonderful and peaceful so was perfect for us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked a villa at the Huka Falls Resort via Wotif, so we were very pleasantly surprised to be appointed a two bedroom unit for a very affordable price. The villa was not unlike a small holiday house in terms of size, so we had room to burn. All the rooms were a great size, and on a lovely spring Taupo day, it was great to be able to spread out via the french doors to the lawn outside. A very quiet spot, beautiful grounds and around a 25 minute walk to central Taupo. Not ideal if you want to be located right in town, but we preferred the seclusion it provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and would be quiet happy to stay here again. The good things first - The location is very handy. Not in the center of Taupo city but not far either - takes just 5 min to drive to the lake front and just 2 min to Huka Falls itself. It's in a quiet and serene location, perfect for a weekend R&R.The villa is very spacious, warm and welcoming. There's complete privacy and you are unlikely to be disturbed by the coming and goings of your next door neighbours. The rooms are quite big and are well furnished. We were even provided with a portacot for our little one :-) The kitchen was well equipped too. Lastly, the staff was super helpful and were able to cater to all our needs, including allowing us to have a delayed check out.
The downsides - just a little bit attention to detail would have been good. The kettle in the kitchen was leaking, there wasn't enough plates or cutlery for us. The pull out bed in the lounge was very shaky and not very comfy to sleep on.

All in all, one of the nicest places I've stayed in and we'll be back again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Huka Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huka Falls Resort

Address: 56 Huka Falls Road | PO Box 155, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huka Falls Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huka Falls Resort offers a peaceful, private and relaxed environment situated just minutes from New Zealand's largest lake, the world renowned Huka Falls, and the thriving township of Taupo. Nestled amongst 7 hectares of landscaped gardens and a vineyard sit our spacious stand alone villas. With three styles of accommodation consisting of 19 stand alone two bedroom villas, 11 one bedroom suites & 11 studios (which are linked by an interconnecting door). This is a unique venue for everyone with 2 tennis courts, an outdoor swimming pool (summer months), petanque and wine tasting onsite in the restaurant. The Huka Falls Restaurant offers stunning views over Mt Tauhara & the Pinot Noir Vineyard. Summer- Open daily from 11.30Am to 9pm. Closed Sunday and Monday evenings, Winter - Open for Brunch/Lunch Tuesday to Sunday 11am - 3pm. Dinner Thursday, Friday & Saturday 5:30pm - late. Closed Monday. (Easter to Labour weekend). The perfect setting for your wedding, with a historic church, stunning landscaped gardens & a variety of reception venues. We offer 6 conference rooms catering from 2-120 guests, a full range of technical, presentation equipment and conference support. Summer time: Reception is open daily from 7.00Am to 10.00Pm. Winter time: Reception is open from 7:30Am to 20:30 Pm Sunday to Thursday and 7.00Am to 22:00 Pm on Friday and Saturday. If you plan to arrive at the Resort outside of these hours, please contact our friendly reception team. 2015 NZ Wedding Industry Awards Winner - Outstanding Wedding Reception Venue Finalist - Outstanding Ceremony Venue 2014 NZ Wedding Industry Awards Finalist - Outstanding Ceremony Venue Finalist - Outstanding Reception Venue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Huka Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huka Falls Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huka Falls Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.